Dual Boot Windows 10 and Sierra on Core i5 6500 and GIGABYTE GA-B150M-D3H

Discussion in 'User Builds' started by akb1, Jan 4, 2017.

  1. akb1

    akb1

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    27
    Mobo:
    GIGABYTE GA-B150M-D3H
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5 6500
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 530
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS, Windows Phone
    Jan 4, 2017 at 9:35 PM #1
    akb1

    akb1

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    27
    Mobo:
    GIGABYTE GA-B150M-D3H
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5 6500
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 530
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS, Windows Phone
    Sierra on Intel Core i5 6500 and GIGABYTE GA-B150M-D3H


    Components

    Intel Core i5 6500 Processor
    http://www.amazon.in/Intel-LGA1151-Socket-3-20GHz-Processor/dp/B010T6CWI2/
    https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0136JON7M/?tag=tonymacx86com-20
    https://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819117563

    Gigabyte GA150M-D3H Motherboard
    http://www.amazon.in/GIGABYTE-GA-B150M-D3H-Intel-Micro-Motherboard/dp/B016OQL3BS/
    https://www.amazon.com/dp/B014Z7IY92/?tag=tonymacx86com-20
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128862

    Kingston Hyper X Fury 8 GB Memory
    https://www.amazon.in/gp/product/B01D8U27YU/
    https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01D8U27YU/?tag=tonymacx86com-20
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820104530

    Samsung 750 120GB SSD (MZ-750120BW)
    https://www.amazon.in/gp/product/B01AAKZRPW/
    https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01AAKZRPW/?tag=tonymacx86com-20
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820147544

    TP-Link TL-Wn823N USB WiFi Adapter
    https://www.amazon.in/gp/product/B0088TKTY2/
    https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0088TKTY2/?tag=tonymacx86com-20
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16833704140

    ANTEC GX SERIES GX300 WINDOW ATX MID Tower Case
    http://www.amazon.in/dp/B00R105930/



    Comments

    I am illustrating the whole process hoping that there are noobs like me who may find any information contained in this post helpful.

    Installation Notes


    It is a dual boot system with Windows 10 on the same HDD.
    I had Western Digital HDD with windows installed on it and two other partitions on it for movies and videos etc. On my C drive was Windows installed. So, to start with the process, you have to loose your current Windows installation (if don’t have your HDD in GPT format). But, if you have your HDD in GPT format and Windows is already installed, then you may preserve your Windows too. Because you can just create some space for OS X and proceed to install OS X. So, here is, how I proceeded:-

    I booted with Paragon Hard Disk Manager bootable CD, to convert my MBR formatted HDD into GPT one. You can do this conversion by using any other software, too, but I used Paragon. This conversion did not result into data loss of any type on my other HDD partitions. So, first I erased/formatted my C partition then deleted this partition. Then, I created a new NTFS partition for Windows (named it as “Windows”) from the unallocated space (this unallocated space was created because of deletion of C partition) without giving a drive letter. Now, I again created another partition for OS X (Give it a name “xyz”) but in HFS format, not NTFS, from the remaining unallocated space, didn’t give it a drive letter too. You can create NTFS partition too for OS X, I think, but I am not sure. I LEFT 2 GB SPACE (in the beginning of the drive) AS UNALLOCATED FOR OS X RECOVERY AND UEFI PARTITIONS. Shut down the PC.


    So far we have:

    1. A HDD in GPT format

    2. Two portions for OS X (HFS) and Windows (NTFS) + 2 GB unallocated space.

    Now, after having done this, plug in the UniBeast USB and start the computer then get into BIOS and do the following changes into BIOS. These changes may be common with other motherboards too but what I did is listed below.

    In BIOS/UEFI

    1. Disable Fast Boot. You can enable it after installation is completed.

    2. Windows 8/10 Features = Other OS

    3. In Secure Boot, Attempt Secure Boot = Disable

    4.In Peripherals, Initial Display Output= IGFX, In super IO Configuration, Serial Port = Disable, In USB Configuration, XHCI Hands-off = Enabled, In SATA and RST Configuration, SATA Mode Selection = AHCI.

    5. In Chipset, VT-d = Disabled, Internal Graphics = Auto, DVMT Preallocated = 128M, DMVT Total Gfx Mem = MAX.

    Save and Exit.

    Now boot from your UniBeast USB and after some time you will be presented with language selection menu, select your language then go to Disk Utility. Select your “xyz” partition and erase it as Mac OS Extended, we will install OSX on it. Close it and proceed with installation. Select “xyz” as installation destination.

    After installation is complete, keep your UniBeast USB plugged in and reboot again in UniBeast USB. When you see a boot menu, select HFS drive to boot from not the external USB (our UniBeast USB). When you are don booting to desktop use MultiBeast (I already had it on my other partition so I dragged it to desktop) to install appropriate drivers. My selection of driver is given in the pic attached to this post.

    After installing drivers through MultiBeast, hopefully everything would work just fine.[/B]
    To avert Graphic glitches:

    Mount your EFI partition using Clover Configurator. Open “config.plist” located in Clover folder (in EFI partition). Made the changes shown in the screenshot at the end of this post. You can do that by coping these texts and pasting in Devices section of your Plist.

    Device =>IntelGFX

    Key=>AAPL,GfxYTile

    Value=>01000000

    Value Type=>data

    Save and exit and you are done.



    If you can not sign in into AppStore

    One major issue I encountered was, getting TP-Link TL-Wn823N USB WiFi adapter working. The issue raised due to my mistake, a silly mistake because of which I had spent 2 days in search of solution and still nothing seemed to work. The issue was not being able to sign in into App Store and iBooks and similar apps. Internet was working, I could access any website but whenever I tried to sign in into App Store I got an error saying “ Your device or computer could not be verified, please contact support” . The reason for this problem was that, I had not installed network drivers while installing drivers from MultiBeast. I thought I am going to use a WiFi adapter then why install Ethernet drivers from MultiBeast. I chose to skip those network drivers. I just connected my WiFi adapter and installed drivers provided on TP-Link website. So solution is that, when you first use MultiBeast to install all drivers, do install network (Ethernet drivers). Later you can attach your WiFi adapter and install it’s drivers. You wouldn’t have problem signing in App Store.

    You can either choose to first install Windows or OS X. Both ways worked for me. Though I suggest to install Windows first.One more thing is that when I installed Windows I chose the “Windows” partition during installation but did not formatted it again. Now go back to BIOS and select UEFI HDD as your first boot device.

    I am very grateful to this website for providing me all the necessary information and tools needed to accomplish all this.
    Forgive me for my ignorance.
     
    xxxcom and Harckan like this.
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2017
  2. Maximil

    Maximil

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Jan 30, 2017 at 11:32 PM #2
    Maximil

    Maximil

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Hi! thank for the info, very clear post.
    Do the sleep mode works?

    Thanks
     
    qqli likes this.
  3. niceiceman

    niceiceman

    Joined:
    May 21, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Mar 22, 2017 at 12:34 AM #3
    niceiceman

    niceiceman

    Joined:
    May 21, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    thank you so much , did you get your iMessage and ICloud working?
     
  4. szy0syz

    szy0syz

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Mobo:
    ASUS Z97-A USB3.1
    CPU:
    Intel i7-4790K
    Graphics:
    HD4600
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Mar 22, 2017 at 3:14 AM #4
    szy0syz

    szy0syz

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Mobo:
    ASUS Z97-A USB3.1
    CPU:
    Intel i7-4790K
    Graphics:
    HD4600
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    cool~~ thank for you post.

    i have ga-b150m-d3h with hd530 too. but i have a issue:
    [IGPU] Will fallback to host-side scheduling if graphics firmware fails to load
    [IGPU] Chose to use graphics firmware based on platform
    [IGPU] Failed to initialize graphics firmware. Falling back to host-side scheduling
    [IGPU] Scheduler interface revision = 1: Default EL Scheduler

    do you have this issue?
     
  5. corei3cpu

    corei3cpu

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2015
    Messages:
    593
    Mobo:
    Generic Intel
    CPU:
    Intel i3
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GT 610, Dual HDMI, 1366x768
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Mar 22, 2017 at 4:54 AM #5
    corei3cpu

    corei3cpu

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2015
    Messages:
    593
    Mobo:
    Generic Intel
    CPU:
    Intel i3
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GT 610, Dual HDMI, 1366x768
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
  6. akb1

    akb1

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    27
    Mobo:
    GIGABYTE GA-B150M-D3H
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5 6500
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 530
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS, Windows Phone
    Mar 22, 2017 at 7:00 AM #6
    akb1

    akb1

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    27
    Mobo:
    GIGABYTE GA-B150M-D3H
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5 6500
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 530
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS, Windows Phone
    You are welcome. Yes iCloud works fine. Can't say about iMessege, never used it.
     
  7. akb1

    akb1

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    27
    Mobo:
    GIGABYTE GA-B150M-D3H
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5 6500
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 530
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS, Windows Phone
    Mar 22, 2017 at 7:04 AM #7
    akb1

    akb1

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    27
    Mobo:
    GIGABYTE GA-B150M-D3H
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5 6500
    Graphics:
    Intel HD 530
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS, Windows Phone

    You are welcome. No, I don't have such issues. Do these "error" messages appear on boot screen?
     
  8. szy0syz

    szy0syz

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Mobo:
    ASUS Z97-A USB3.1
    CPU:
    Intel i7-4790K
    Graphics:
    HD4600
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Mar 22, 2017 at 7:28 AM #8
    szy0syz

    szy0syz

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Mobo:
    ASUS Z97-A USB3.1
    CPU:
    Intel i7-4790K
    Graphics:
    HD4600
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    @akb1 . :cry:
    this is my boot screen. o_O

    WechatIMG2.jpeg
     
  9. szy0syz

    szy0syz

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Mobo:
    ASUS Z97-A USB3.1
    CPU:
    Intel i7-4790K
    Graphics:
    HD4600
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Mar 22, 2017 at 7:37 AM #9
    szy0syz

    szy0syz

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2017
    Messages:
    8
    Mobo:
    ASUS Z97-A USB3.1
    CPU:
    Intel i7-4790K
    Graphics:
    HD4600
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    My BIOS/UEFI settings are the same as yours ,and i coping "AAPL,GfxYTile" in Devices section of Plist.

    Components:
    cpu: i3-6100
    mb: GA-B150M-D3H
    Graphic: HD530
    SSD: SAMSUNG SM961_nvme <-- Is it a problem ssd caused? :crazy:


    WechatIMG3.jpeg
     
  10. iamtheonlyone4ever

    iamtheonlyone4ever

    Joined:
    May 7, 2015
    Messages:
    142
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte X99 G1 Gaming Wifi
    CPU:
    Intel i7 5820k
    Graphics:
    Nvidia 970
    Mar 23, 2017 at 1:53 AM #10
    iamtheonlyone4ever

    iamtheonlyone4ever

    Joined:
    May 7, 2015
    Messages:
    142
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte X99 G1 Gaming Wifi
    CPU:
    Intel i7 5820k
    Graphics:
    Nvidia 970
    yes you do need a working ethernet lan port to be able to access the App Store, now you can access the App Store because you have a working device with driver "kext" support for your device "lan" but for future references there is a way to access the App Store without the need of a working lan port, via wifi, if you use rehabman null ethernet kext.

    so if a person don't have a working ethernet because there is no kext support for that device or if the person doesn't find the right kext for that device

    if that person have a working wifi then that person can use rehabman null ethernet kext to be able to access the app store using the wifi device

    sorry for my bad English, I tried to explain the best I could
     
    Last edited: Mar 23, 2017

Share This Page