Contribute
Register

Which option would be easier?

• W10 on SSD, EC on HDD (1st partition) and 2nd partition for sharing between systems

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters
Status
Not open for further replies.
Motherboard
ASUS H97M-E
CPU
Intel i5 4460
Graphics
MSI GTX 750 2GB
Mobile Phone
  1. Windows Phone
Hello.
I'm not a complete newbie, but what I want to do, I'm not sure I can do by myself.
Here's the thing.
I have an SSD with El Capitan on it.
I want to buy an HDD and do the following.

1st option:
Wipe SSD and install Windows10 on it.
Make 2 partitions on HDD.
1st partition for El Capitan, the installation and everything.
2nd partition to be used for files, documents, movies etc THAT IS TO BE SHARED BETWEEN El Capitan and W10.

The 2nd option:
SSD is 120GB, so I don't think I can do both installations on it.
I would prefer to have both W10 and El Capitan on SSD and just use HDD as a shared partition between them.

I guess, here's what I need to do for 1st option:

1. Get HDD and take out SSD.
2. Partition it in HFS (1st partition) & ExFat (2nd partition) during El Capitan installation. (Or maybe NTFS for 2nd partition?)
3. Install El Capitan.
4. Disconnect HDD and connect SSD.
5. Install Windows on SSD.
6. Reconnect both, boot with USB and install Clover. (?)
Would that work?

For the 2nd option (Both installations on SSD, HDD shared between them):

1. Partition SSD in HFS for 1st partition and ??? for 2nd partition.
2. Install El Capitan on 1st partition, and install W10 on 2nd.
3. Boot USB again, and install Clover.
4. Connect HDD and reformat it to ExFat inside Mac OS. (?)

The fun part:

I want UEFI installations on both. But, when I install Mac, I think I need to use UEFI > Secure Boot > OS Type > Other OS.
For W10 UEFI mode, I need to select UEFI > Secure Boot > OS Type > Windows OS.