Contribute
Register

Drives not showing for Sierra Install

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Aug 4, 2017
Messages
8
Motherboard
Asus Strix B250f
CPU
i7 7000k
Graphics
Palit GTX 960
Mac
  1. MacBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello Hackintoshers...

I've managed to get to the install screen for Sierra having faked my CPUID using the Clover configurator as I'm running a i7 7700k CPU. The only problem I am facing is that none of my drives show up for me to format them for MacOS in Disk Utility, only my USB which I am using to install shows up. I have a Crucial SSD and 2x Seagate 2TB HDDs connected using SATA cables to my mobo.

I have done some Googling and found that I need to change my drive settings to AHCI in . my BIOS, however there is no option for this in my BIOS. I found out that my Mobo only supports ACHI, I assume as it is a new(er) model (link). I'm stuck now :banghead:
Are there any kexts I can install or anything I can do in my BIOS to allow MacOS to see the drives?

Specs:
Mobo: ASUS Strix B250f Gaming
CPU: i7 7700k
SSD I want to install on: Crucial V Series 240GB (currently has Windows 10 on it)
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2012
Messages
6,798
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
HD 4000+GT 710
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello Hackintoshers...

I've managed to get to the install screen for Sierra having faked my CPUID using the Clover configurator as I'm running a i7 7700k CPU. The only problem I am facing is that none of my drives show up for me to format them for MacOS in Disk Utility, only my USB which I am using to install shows up. I have a Crucial SSD and 2x Seagate 2TB HDDs connected using SATA cables to my mobo.

I have done some Googling and found that I need to change my drive settings to AHCI in . my BIOS, however there is no option for this in my BIOS. I found out that my Mobo only supports ACHI, I assume as it is a new(er) model (link). I'm stuck now :banghead:
Are there any kexts I can install or anything I can do in my BIOS to allow MacOS to see the drives?

Specs:
Mobo: ASUS Strix B250f Gaming
CPU: i7 7700k
SSD I want to install on: Crucial V Series 240GB (currently has Windows 10 on it)
SSD I want to install on: Crucial V Series 240GB (currently has Windows 10 on it)

  • Upload your CLOVER folder from the "Sierra USB Installer" as a compressed file to find any clue to your problem in that.
  • Remove all other SATA drives connected to the Motherboard leaving only the Target Disk for Sierra Installation . Similarly remove all USB devices from USB ports except your Sierra Installation Disk and input devices(Keyboard & Mouse) until you have a Sierra System fully functional and booting on its own without the USB installer.
  • What is the Boot Mode of the Windows 10 on the SSD which you want to share with Sierra as a dual boot single disk system and what is the Boot mode of the Sierra USB Installer disk?
    • Personally I don't like two separate Operating Systems booting from a single disk. Main reason, if the disk dies, I will lose both of my OSes and creating 2 new systems is a greater loss of my time!
    • With price of Disks more affordable now, unless the computer case has space limitation, I like Separate disks for each system.
  • Partitioning and formatting the disk using Disk Utility in a mac or hack ( through a USB to SATA adapter if needed) would have been another way to circumvent current problem but with a Windows 10 already installed, you don't have that option unless you want to sacrifice that system.
 
Joined
Aug 4, 2017
Messages
8
Motherboard
Asus Strix B250f
CPU
i7 7000k
Graphics
Palit GTX 960
Mac
  1. MacBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
  • Upload your CLOVER folder from the "Sierra USB Installer" as a compressed file to find any clue to your problem in that.

I have attached my CLOVER folder from my EFI partition, and I will try removing the other SATA drives later on today.

What is the Boot Mode of the Windows 10 on the SSD which you want to share with Sierra as a dual boot single disk system and what is the Boot mode of the Sierra USB Installer disk?
  • Personally I don't like two separate Operating Systems booting from a single disk. Main reason, if the disk dies, I will lose both of my OSes and creating 2 new systems is a greater loss of my time!
  • With price of Disks more affordable now, unless the computer case has space limitation, I like Separate disks for each system.
I don't know what boot mode Windows 10 is on the SSD, and I only want to run MacOS, I'm done with Windows 10.
 

Attachments

  • CLOVER.zip
    2.8 MB · Views: 80
Joined
Jul 25, 2012
Messages
6,798
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
HD 4000+GT 710
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I have attached my CLOVER folder from my EFI partition, and I will try removing the other SATA drives later on today.


I don't know what boot mode Windows 10 is on the SSD, and I only want to run MacOS, I'm done with Windows 10.
  • Your CLOVER contents show the following:
  • kexts \Other contents look OK
  • drivers64UEFI contents look OK
  • config.plist incomplete in many sections>See attached images
  • Since you can sacrifice Windows system on that SSD, you could take that SSD and partition and format it in a Hack or Mac using its own SATA or using a USB to SATA connector https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00MYU0E0K/?tag=tonymacx86com-20 and then connect the formatted disk to this Computer. I expect it to be recognized for installation if you get your Sierra Installer USB's config.plist properly edited in .
 

Attachments

  • 1.cplist_CCV_ACPI.png
    1.cplist_CCV_ACPI.png
    328.6 KB · Views: 202
  • 2.cplist_CCV_Boot.png
    2.cplist_CCV_Boot.png
    279.3 KB · Views: 198
  • 3.cplist_CCV_Devices.png
    3.cplist_CCV_Devices.png
    255 KB · Views: 194
  • 4.cplist_CCV_Gui.png
    4.cplist_CCV_Gui.png
    271.6 KB · Views: 184
  • 5.cplist_CCV_Graphics.png
    5.cplist_CCV_Graphics.png
    236.8 KB · Views: 184
  • 6.cplist_CCV_Kernel and kext Patches.png
    6.cplist_CCV_Kernel and kext Patches.png
    215.2 KB · Views: 188
  • 7.cplist_CCV_Rt Variables.png
    7.cplist_CCV_Rt Variables.png
    265.2 KB · Views: 197
  • 8.cplist_CCV_SMBIOS.png
    8.cplist_CCV_SMBIOS.png
    252.9 KB · Views: 180
  • 9.cplist_CCV_System Parameters.png
    9.cplist_CCV_System Parameters.png
    252.9 KB · Views: 167
Joined
Aug 4, 2017
Messages
8
Motherboard
Asus Strix B250f
CPU
i7 7000k
Graphics
Palit GTX 960
Mac
  1. MacBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
  • Your CLOVER contents show the following:
  • kexts \Other contents look OK
  • drivers64UEFI contents look OK
  • config.plist incomplete in many sections>See attached images
  • Since you can sacrifice Windows system on that SSD, you could take that SSD and partition and format it in a Hack or Mac using its own SATA or using a USB to SATA connector https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00MYU0E0K/?tag=tonymacx86com-20 and then connect the formatted disk to this Computer. I expect it to be recognized for installation if you get your Sierra Installer USB's config.plist properly edited in .
Many thanks for going through my config.plist. All the areas where you have put 'blank' or words along those lines, what should I put into the spaces where there are blanks?
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2012
Messages
6,798
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UP5 TH
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
HD 4000+GT 710
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Many thanks for going through my config.plist. All the areas where you have put 'blank' or words along those lines, what should I put into the spaces where there are blanks?
It is hard to give line by line instruction for your hardware because of the complexity of the task and limitation of Forum space etc and my own poor typing skill. Please note that the config.plist should be 'instructed' to upload to the RAM various devices in certain sequence and the devices to behave in the System in certain ways to function normally and for that we 'edit' in code form those instructions using specialized editors with certain tags for annotation. If you use CloverConfigurator Vibrant (CCV), it has a more human- friendly 'Wysiwyg' mode. I like that simplicity of CCV.

I have in one computer different hardware compared to your system but I have taken your screen shots I have edited side by side with mine with as much editing as time and my own knowledge and memory of all your hardware permitted while I edited. Hope this will help you to configure your system. You can try and if problem occurs upload image for further tinkering to make things better.

I have uploaded all the screen shots where problem or deficiency were noted with comparison image from my system to help you.
 

Attachments

  • 1.ACPIs comparison.png
    1.ACPIs comparison.png
    663.3 KB · Views: 165
  • 2.Boot Comparison.png
    2.Boot Comparison.png
    459.5 KB · Views: 120
  • 3.Devices Comparison.png
    3.Devices Comparison.png
    493.9 KB · Views: 147
  • 4.Gui_Comaparison.png
    4.Gui_Comaparison.png
    520.8 KB · Views: 137
  • 5.Graphics comparison.png
    5.Graphics comparison.png
    444.7 KB · Views: 165
  • 7.Rt Variables_Comparison.png
    7.Rt Variables_Comparison.png
    577.7 KB · Views: 151
  • 9.System Parameters Comparsion.png
    9.System Parameters Comparsion.png
    711.2 KB · Views: 106
Joined
Aug 4, 2017
Messages
8
Motherboard
Asus Strix B250f
CPU
i7 7000k
Graphics
Palit GTX 960
Mac
  1. MacBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
It is hard to give line by line instruction for your hardware because of the complexity of the task and limitation of Forum space etc and my own poor typing skill. Please note that the config.plist should be 'instructed' to upload to the RAM various devices in certain sequence and the devices to behave in the System in certain ways to function normally and for that we 'edit' in code form those instructions using specialized editors with certain tags for annotation. If you use CloverConfigurator Vibrant (CCV), it has a more human- friendly 'Wysiwyg' mode. I like that simplicity of CCV.

I have in one computer different hardware compared to your system but I have taken your screen shots I have edited side by side with mine with as much editing as time and my own knowledge and memory of all your hardware permitted while I edited. Hope this will help you to configure your system. You can try and if problem occurs upload image for further tinkering to make things better.

I have uploaded all the screen shots where problem or deficiency were noted with comparison image from my system to help you.
I have made relevant changes to my config file, but the drives still aren't showing. I've read about using SATA-100-series-unsupported.kext to fix problems but I don't know if this kext would work with my MoBo. Any more ideas?
Many thanks
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top