Contribute
Register

Solved > DP to DP is always black! [I ended up replacing my GC]

Joined
Jun 6, 2019
Messages
43
Motherboard
Aorus z370 gaming 2.0
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
@pastrychef dvi works, hdmi - purple tint (on monitor, and on tv), dp, can't test. I don't have another computer with a dp out. Just thunderbolt, and thunderbolt -> hdmi -> dp won't work (according to cable manufacturers it's only dp -> hdmi, not the other way).
OK gentlemen, before I reset BIOS, will resetting the BIOS and plugging in my DP-DP definitively tell me whether or not the problem is with my monitor's port?
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
11,233
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
@pastrychef dvi works, hdmi - purple tint (on monitor, and on tv), dp, can't test. I don't have another computer with a dp out. Just thunderbolt, and thunderbolt -> hdmi -> dp won't work (according to cable manufacturers it's only dp -> hdmi, not the other way).
OK gentlemen, before I reset BIOS, will resetting the BIOS and plugging in my DP-DP definitively tell me whether or not the problem is with my monitor's port?
Purple tint can be fixed with the following method:

I don't know if resetting BIOS will have any impact.
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2018
Messages
307
Motherboard
ASRock B360-HDV
CPU
i5-8400
Graphics
RX 470
Mobile Phone
iOS
will resetting the BIOS and plugging in my DP-DP definitively tell me whether or not the problem is with my monitor's port?
you did not answer my questions in the post #5, can you access your BIOS setup via DP port? try this:

Connect DP to monitor
Cold boot your PC
Hit "Del" fast

can you enter the BIOS Setup?
 
Joined
Jun 6, 2019
Messages
43
Motherboard
Aorus z370 gaming 2.0
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
you did not answer my questions in the post #5, can you access your BIOS setup via DP port? try this:

Connect DP to monitor
Cold boot your PC
Hit "Del" fast

can you enter the BIOS Setup?
My bad. While I see the AORUS logo with the prompt to enter BIOS on my DVI, via DP the screen remains black, so I don't know when to press it, nor does anything change when I press it at start.

I am hoping that by resetting BIOS and plugging the DP I will see the logo+prompt, and will be able to conclude that the fault is in my config/settings OR will not see the aorus logo+prompt and will conclude that it's the receiving DP on the monitor. (@pastrychef thats what I was hoping to definitively figuring out.)
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
11,233
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
My bad. While I see the AORUS logo with the prompt to enter BIOS on my DVI, via DP the screen remains black, so I don't know when to press it, nor does anything change when I press it at start.

I am hoping that by resetting BIOS and plugging the DP I will see the logo+prompt, and will be able to conclude that the fault is in my config/settings OR will not see the aorus logo+prompt and will conclude that it's the receiving DP on the monitor. (@pastrychef thats what I was hoping to definitively figuring out.)
If you can't see the motherboard post screen, it has nothing to do with your hackintosh configuration.

Try disabling CSM in BIOS.
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2018
Messages
307
Motherboard
ASRock B360-HDV
CPU
i5-8400
Graphics
RX 470
Mobile Phone
iOS
so I don't know when to press it, nor does anything change when I press it at start.
you just keep hitting Del right after you press the power button. if you can't enter BIOS setup via DP cable, it is 100% hardware issue, check these 3 things: DP port on your GPU, DP cable , DP port on your monitor, one of them is broken.
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2018
Messages
307
Motherboard
ASRock B360-HDV
CPU
i5-8400
Graphics
RX 470
Mobile Phone
iOS
you just keep hitting Del right after you press the power button. if you can't enter BIOS setup via DP cable, it is 100% hardware issue, check these 3 things: DP port on your GPU, DP cable , DP port on your monitor, one of them is broken.

if this is true that you can't access bios setup via DP only. then please mark this as solved, and fix your hardware :)
 
Joined
Jun 6, 2019
Messages
43
Motherboard
Aorus z370 gaming 2.0
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
RX 580
@justinhe I have reset the BIOS, reseated the graphics card, reset the monitor, and tried 2 different cables. When the DP is plugged in on its own, I cannot see BIOS (pressing delete does seem to get me into them, but I can't see them).
Things would suggest a faulty DP port on my monitor, except,
- when cable unplugged from PC, the 4k screen warns me to check for an unconnected cable. And when plugged, reads "no video input". What do you think this could mean for the problem? Is it pc port / cables / monitor port / user lol

@pastrychef CSM disabled. Result: no improvement. Instead, I cannot get into BIOS. Black screen until login prompt. Hitting "Del" does nothing.
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2018
Messages
307
Motherboard
ASRock B360-HDV
CPU
i5-8400
Graphics
RX 470
Mobile Phone
iOS
Start with replacing the DP cable. then GPU.

Try this, plugin the cable to monitor, don’t plugin the other side to GPU. is there hint on your display?
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2018
Messages
307
Motherboard
ASRock B360-HDV
CPU
i5-8400
Graphics
RX 470
Mobile Phone
iOS
@justinhe I have reset the BIOS, reseated the graphics card, reset the monitor, and tried 2 different cables. When the DP is plugged in on its own, I cannot see BIOS (pressing delete does seem to get me into them, but I can't see them).
Things would suggest a faulty DP port on my monitor, except,
- when cable unplugged from PC, the 4k screen warns me to check for an unconnected cable. And when plugged, reads "no video input". What do you think this could mean for the problem? Is it pc port / cables / monitor port / user lol

@pastrychef CSM disabled. Result: no improvement. Instead, I cannot get into BIOS. Black screen until login prompt. Hitting "Del" does nothing.
The case you replied pastrychef, it means your GPU does not have UEFI GOP, it is because you or someone flashed a modified vbios to your GPU.
 
Top