Contribute
Register

Disk Utility does not show my SSD in the list during initial Yosemite installation

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jan 20, 2011
Messages
17
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z68MA-D2H-B3
CPU
Intel Core i7-2600K CPU @ 3.40GHz (8 CPUs), ~3.7GHz
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760
Mac
  1. MacBook
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello all,

My 2nd build. Been awhile.
Hoping to get some help. Followed the Yosemite Guide as much as I could.
Got all the way to Install screen. But can't seem to get Disk Utility
to show/register my Corsair Force LS Sata 3 SSD [120gb] in the list so I can install Yosemite.

Tried to search forum, but no luck.
Did I miss something in the BIOS setup?

Any help appreciated! My specs below:
 

Going Bald

Moderator
Joined
Aug 14, 2010
Messages
23,225
Motherboard
GA-X58A-UD7-F7
CPU
W3670
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hello all,

My 2nd build. Been awhile.
Hoping to get some help. Followed the Yosemite Guide as much as I could.
Got all the way to Install screen. But can't seem to get Disk Utility
to show/register my Corsair Force LS Sata 3 SSD [120gb] in the list so I can install Yosemite.

Tried to search forum, but no luck.
Did I miss something in the BIOS setup?

Any help appreciated! My specs below:
Connect your SSD to a running system. If it has not been initialized/formatted the system will let you know and ask if you want to fix that. Tell it yes. Then install it in your PC-Mac and install. Bet it works this time.
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2011
Messages
17
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z68MA-D2H-B3
CPU
Intel Core i7-2600K CPU @ 3.40GHz (8 CPUs), ~3.7GHz
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760
Mac
  1. MacBook
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Connect your SSD to a running system. If it has not been initialized/formatted the system will let you know and ask if you want to fix that. Tell it yes. Then install it in your PC-Mac and install. Bet it works this time.

Hello Going!

A friend told me to format it to exFat32/exfat. Prior I had installed Win7 on it. I had full reformat exFat after the install. I have an old Macbook running Leopard, I will try reformatting it via External drive to Mac Journaled to see if it helps.

Friend also told me there may be special SSDs that have chips [controllers?] that are Mac friendly/recognizable. Is this true? Is there a link for this info? Many Thanks!
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2011
Messages
17
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z68MA-D2H-B3
CPU
Intel Core i7-2600K CPU @ 3.40GHz (8 CPUs), ~3.7GHz
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760
Mac
  1. MacBook
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
So it still does not recognize in Disk Utility during install :(.

Formatted the Corsair drive to GUID Mac OS Journaled 1 Partition.

Still need help! Anybody?
 

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
25,199
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p700
CPU
2 X Xeon E5-2620 V3
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
So it still does not recognize in Disk Utility during install :(.

Formatted the Corsair drive to GUID Mac OS Journaled 1 Partition.

Still need help! Anybody?

If your board has both SATA2 and SATA3 ports try changing it to the other.
i.e. if you have it connected to SATA3, connect it to SATA2.

Sometimes they have different controllers - Marvell and Intel.
Usually if that is the case, it's the Intel ones that work better.

YMMV
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2011
Messages
17
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z68MA-D2H-B3
CPU
Intel Core i7-2600K CPU @ 3.40GHz (8 CPUs), ~3.7GHz
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760
Mac
  1. MacBook
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
is there a link that shows a list of compatible SSDs for the Mac?
i read somewher that OWC SSDs are very compatible.
is this true?

it appears My Corsair uses Sandforce or Phison controllers.
will these work?
Are Samsung SSDs just as good?

Thanks!
 

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
25,199
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p700
CPU
2 X Xeon E5-2620 V3
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
sata 2 port workaround doesnt work. i even unplugged my Dvd drive too. still same issue with Disk utility...

Can you "see" your SSD connected in your BIOS setup ?
And you've set your SATA mode to AHCI ?
 
Joined
Jan 20, 2011
Messages
17
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z68MA-D2H-B3
CPU
Intel Core i7-2600K CPU @ 3.40GHz (8 CPUs), ~3.7GHz
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 760
Mac
  1. MacBook
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Can you "see" your SSD connected in your BIOS setup ?
And you've set your SATA mode to AHCI ?
.

Hi Pilgrim!

I somehow figured it out why it wasnt showing the primary SSD. I changed the HD Priority in BIOS manually, by changing the order priority. Also F12 during the reboot.

I ended up buying a new SSD [an Samsung EVO 250gb] Thinking it was a hardware thing with the Corsair.

I was able to install Yosemite! Yay! BUT!!! on the EVO.

Unable to POST INSTALL the Multibeast install with the proper kexts.
I think I will start a new thread on this topic.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top