Contribute
Register

Disable Trackpad on HP Probook 4530s

Joined
Jul 3, 2013
Messages
64
CPU
i5-7200U
Graphics
Intel 620
Mobile Phone
iOS
Is there any way to disable the internal touchpad? It is driving me crazy....I rather use a external mouse.....I have been trying several times to type this out and my damn hand would brush against the touchpad causing me to shift the cursor over messing up the typing......its a pain!!! So please let me know how to disable it!​
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2013
Messages
23
Motherboard
x86
CPU
hp probook 4530s i7
Graphics
Radeon
Mac
Classic Mac
Plus
Mobile Phone
Android
Double tapping the upper left corner should disable input from the trackpad. You'll see a tiny amber LED light up there when it is disabled.
 
Joined
Jul 3, 2013
Messages
64
CPU
i5-7200U
Graphics
Intel 620
Mobile Phone
iOS
Thank you....didn't know that worked on OS X....but it did :).....now if i can just get multi-touch/3 finger/etc...
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,088
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
In addition to double tap on LED to disable, you can use the keyboard Fn+delete.

Also, if you go to sysprefs-> accessibility-> mouse & trackpad, you can check "Ignore built-in trackpad when mouse or wireless trackpad is present", and then when you have an external USB mouse plugged in, the trackpad will automatically disable. When you unplug it, it will automatically enable.

Also, you should be sure to select "Ignore accidental trackpad input" in sysprefs-> trackpad, as it enables code in the trackpad driver that ignores a lot of input known to result from "palm brushing"...
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,088
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
...now if i can just get multi-touch/3 finger/etc...
There is no true multi-touch, but you can configure three-finger swipes by going to sysprefs-> keyboard-> keyboard shortcuts. Select the function you want to assign (click on the keyboard shortcut) and then do the 3-finger swipe and from then on, that swipe will activate the function.
 
Joined
Jul 3, 2013
Messages
64
CPU
i5-7200U
Graphics
Intel 620
Mobile Phone
iOS
I've got this thingie all figured out now...I installed OS X on my 500GB drive that was in my ProBook.....THEN I popped in my 1TB drive from my laptop that we shall call "POS"....installed, ran "Migration Assistant" and HP ProBook Installer.......SWEEEEET...i love this thing!!!.....Now I gotta get some upgrades....
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,088
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
I've got this thingie all figured out now...I installed OS X on my 500GB drive that was in my ProBook.....THEN I popped in my 1TB drive from my laptop that we shall call "POS"....installed, ran "Migration Assistant" and HP ProBook Installer.......SWEEEEET...i love this thing!!!.....Now I gotta get some upgrades....
I'm surprised you survived "Migration Assistant." I've only heard horror stories about that thing...
 
Top