Contribute
Register

Direct Update to OS X El Capitan Using Clover

Joined
Jun 20, 2015
Messages
2
Motherboard
PC Mate Z97 LGA 1150
CPU
Intel i7 4790K
Graphics
GTX 980 Ti
Followed step by step. Clover was installing and I walked away since it had a 28 min installation. Walked back after a while and saw a OS X installation failed message. Rebooted and now my boot drive doesnt show up at all in Clover boot. Any help or suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

Installation USB doesnt want to work anymore now. Loads half way then restarts computer.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 22, 2015
Messages
1
Motherboard
Intel
CPU
intel i7
Graphics
Nvidia
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
  2. Color Classic
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Are you sure ???? Is it that simple ??
 

Stork

Admin
Staff member
Joined
Sep 21, 2010
Messages
13,663
Motherboard
Asus ProArt Z490 Creator
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Joined
Oct 30, 2011
Messages
906
Motherboard
GA-Z170X-UD5 TH
CPU
i7 6700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
If your Yosemite install is not based on Clover (i.e. it's based on Chimera etc.), then no, this thread is not for you.
 
Joined
Oct 30, 2011
Messages
906
Motherboard
GA-Z170X-UD5 TH
CPU
i7 6700K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
You have a working install of Yosemite that uses Clover as the bootloader? OK, so I misunderstood. Then yes, post #1 is your pathway.
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2012
Messages
1
Motherboard
Win10
CPU
4
Graphics
Nvidia
Original Post:
I have followed the guide. As far as I am aware, I've done everything correctly. Yes Yosemite works perfectly.

When I launch the installer from clover for Mac OS as instructed, I get this.

Thanks for any help.

Edit:

I solved my issue, somehow the newest clover didn't install correctly. I installed it again and the install worked.

I look at it this way. If you have Yosemite working and you have issues updating to El Capitan, you didn't follow the guide correctly, as I didn't.

:)
 

Attachments

  • IMG_2511.JPG
    IMG_2511.JPG
    3 MB · Views: 168
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 15, 2013
Messages
27
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-X99-SOCFORCE-F22-Clover
CPU
i7-5930k
Graphics
R9 280X
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
I must be the village idiot.

I added what was indicated to config.plist file ( since you can not open clover configurator ) . I tried with the option 0x0 , 0x3 and 0.67 , all options could not get past the screen apple .

I put it in the folder 10.11 kexts all ... ( fakesmc , nullcpu , ethernet and USB 3.0).

I added the flag to see the verbose mode , and I find the following error ...

Attached config.plist for more info.

Any suggest? What I'm doing bad?

Thank you in advance.
How did you fix this? I cant find the solution! HELP!
 
Joined
Aug 29, 2015
Messages
23
Motherboard
Asus Maximus VII Hero
CPU
i7 4790K
Graphics
Intel HD 4600
Mac
  1. iMac
Hey pascalhome,
I had the same problem. All you have to do is put the LATEST version of FakeSMC into you 10.11 folder and then, once the install is done, it WILL boot. But beware, there is another step. This step is that you have to replace OsxAptioFixDrv with OsxAptioFix2Drv if you want it to boot a second time.

I hope it helps.
 
Joined
Feb 16, 2012
Messages
32
Motherboard
HP XW6600 Workstation
CPU
2x Intel Xeon E5410
Graphics
Nvidia Geforce GTX 950
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Does this work if I'm using MBR and not GPT or would I need to apply some kind of patch to the installer?
 
Joined
Nov 27, 2013
Messages
1
Motherboard
MSIi B85 G41 PC Mate
CPU
i7-4770
Graphics
GTX 660
I didi successfully updgrade to Sierra from El capitan using this guide.
I had a kp at first boot after installation. I had to remove all the voodoops2 controller and device.
vers happy with Sierra for now. System is snappier than el capitan.
config :
intel core i7 4770
msi b85 g41 pc mate
gtx 660
 
Top