Contribute
Register

Direct Update to OS X El Capitan Using Clover

Joined
Jul 19, 2013
Messages
48
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UD5H
CPU
Intel i7 3770k
Graphics
GeForce 670 FTW 2 GB
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Android
For anyone that was getting the black screen with the mouse cursor after the update - I found something very interesting, accidentally.. I was trying all the different ways of what to do if it was actually on the login screen but the video card drivers were causing it to black out...

Ultimately, I clicked where I thought the button might be for my user account, entered my password and it came back and logged in! :confused: :D

But then it prompted me to install the latest nVidia drivers for the GTX 670... and now I'm back in a reboot loop again.. :banghead::banghead:
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2015
Messages
45
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z97X-UD7 TH LGA 1150
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
ASUS GTX980-4GD5
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I followed the guide but when i try to boot in the Install OSX option, the computer crashes!

Here is what i get when trying to run the installer from clover :(

Please help!

image1.JPG
 
Joined
Sep 21, 2015
Messages
45
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z97X-UD7 TH LGA 1150
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
ASUS GTX980-4GD5
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I fixed this by removing the oxsAptioFixdrv2 and just using the plain one, but now it doesn't install El Capitan, after it runs for some time when selecting Install OSX it goes back to the boot screen, this is the latest screenshot i had before it boots back.

image1.jpg

Any ideas anyone? :crazy::crazy::crazy:

UPDATE: setting nv_disable=1 seemed to work, i am now on the installation screen, crossing my fingers!
 

xrr

Joined
Jun 27, 2014
Messages
5
Motherboard
GA-X79-UP4
CPU
i7 4930K
Graphics
ASUS GT-640
Mac
MacBook Air
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
6. When Clover boot screen appears, choose Boot OS X Install option (Example: Boot OS X Install from Macintosh HD). Choosing your system drive will go back to your previous installation without updating.
Hi All,
I'm stuck on step 6, for some reasons the "install osx" option is missing after restart...
I'm running a full UEFI clover setup. Did the 1-5 steps, I'm not sure if it's wort to mention, but I've always had an issue with "restart" no properly working on my ga-x79-UP4... I need a proper shutdown for things to restart smoothly or it will reboot a couple of times before reaching clover.

Where is the capitan image installed when you do step5 ?
 
Joined
Sep 3, 2015
Messages
8
Motherboard
ASUS Sabertooth x79 LGA2011
CPU
i7 4930k
Graphics
NVIDIA EVGA GT740
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hi, I have tried to follow this guide as best I can, and I thought I did everything correct, but when I get select the Install OS in the Clover Boot Menu, I get a panic. I have attached an image of this below. Does anyone know how I can correct this?

Thanks

IMG_5410.jpgIMG_5419.jpgIMG_5416.jpgIMG_5420.jpg
 
Joined
Jun 21, 2015
Messages
11
Motherboard
Asus P9X79
CPU
i7 3970x 3.5GHz
Graphics
EVGA GTX 980ti
Mac
Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
I update Yosemite to 10.11.2 follow this guide , but all my usb can't use, even mouse and keyboard usb port.

P9X79/ GTX 980ti/ i7 3970x

and i also followed
USB Fixes post , and it can't works.

could you kindly give me some advice?


 
Joined
Sep 9, 2014
Messages
81
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z87-OC Force
CPU
i7 4790K
Graphics
Gigabyte R9 280x OC
Mac
MacBook Pro
I did the update, now I have "Recovered Files" in the trash when i turn on the computer.
If i shutdown it the next time i push the on button i have to wait a lot and clover crashes. I tried with updates and reinstalling, but nothing to do, i have to reboot with the button and then it works.

What can be the problem?

Z87 OC Force (Gigabyte) is the MOBO, 4790K the CPU and R9 280x (Gigabyte) the VGA
 
Joined
Feb 16, 2012
Messages
35
Motherboard
HP XW6600 Workstation
CPU
2x Intel Xeon E5410
Graphics
Nvidia Geforce GTX 950
Mobile Phone
Android
The installer app isn't allowing me to select the system partition because it's MBR. Is there a patch or something?
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2014
Messages
43
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z97X-UD7 TH
CPU
Intel Core i7-4790K
Graphics
EVGA GeForce GT 740
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Android
I'm almost there but not quite. I'd been running Yosemite on the system shown in my profile to the left. I haven't been in a hurry to upgrade, but today an app I needed told me I had to be on El Cap. I wasn't using NVIDIA Web drivers with my GT 740 because they weren't needed.

I followed the guide and found I needed to add some steps:

1) I had to add FakePCIID_XHCIMux.kext and FakePCIID.kext to the EFI/CLOVER/kexts/10.11 folder or only my front two USB ports worked. I was able to use my keyboard and BT dongle in the front ports to finish configuration, and after installing those kexts was able to move them back to the back ports. Also my external Time Machine drive showed up again after installing those kexts.

2) After installation I got to the part where the gui was supposed to start, but instead I got a spinning circle on a black screen, a second of the mouse in the upper corner, then the spinning circle again. I booted into safe mode and the system was at the proper resolution, but every time I scrolled or clicked it redrew instead of moving smoothly. I couldn't find any other answers to my problem and decided to try the NVIDIA Web drivers for 10.11.3. After reboot I was able to reach the login screen with a normal login, but the NVIDIA driver thinks my ASUS PB278Q monitor is a TV and restricts it to 1080p. Under Yosemite it was correctly detected as 2560x1440, but in El Cap it's 1080p stretched to fit the screen (overscan was on by default).

I've tried multiple things to fix the graphics problem, but I'm back to using NVIDIA web drivers and 1080p resolution. If I boot to safe mode I get 2560x1440, but not in normal mode. Some of the things I tried that didn't help:

1) Switching to OS X Default Graphics Driver - when I reboot I get back to where I was. From the text size it seems to be trying to show the login screen at 2560x1440, but it keeps showing me the text of mounting the Time Machine partition (in a verbose boot), then going black with the mouse, then back to the Time Machine partition lines. If I boot normally it will either fail completely with the circle/slash symbol or get to the GUI part and go back and forth between the spinning circle and the black screen with the mouse. I left it there for 2 hours and it was still cycling. The only way I was able to get out was to boot to safe mode and reinstall the NVIDIA Web drivers, bringing me right back to 1080p.

2) Changing SMBIOS from 3,1 to 14,2. No effect.

3) Upgrading to 10.11.4, which also entailed finding the beta NVIDIA drivers in this post: http://www.tonymacx86.com/os-x-updates/187001-os-x-10-11-4-update-5.html#post1223399. I also had to change from OsxAptioFixDrv-64.efi to OsxAptioFix2Drv-64.efi. No change from what I reported above. NVIDIA works at the wrong resolution, no NVIDIA results in an endless loop.

With all the researching, sometimes on my phone when the computer wasn't booting, I've been working on this for the better part of 14 hours now. I'm quitting for the day.

Any advice on the NVIDIA problem? I searched tonymacx86 and Google without finding anything that helped me.
 
Top