Direct Update to OS X El Capitan Using Clover

Discussion in 'El Capitan Desktop Guides' started by tonymacx86, Sep 30, 2015.

  1. tonymacx86

    tonymacx86 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    8,320
    Mobo:
    GA-Z270X-UD5
    CPU:
    Core i3-7100
    Graphics:
    HD 630
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 30, 2015 at 7:00 PM #1
    tonymacx86

    tonymacx86 Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    8,320
    Mobo:
    GA-Z270X-UD5
    CPU:
    Core i3-7100
    Graphics:
    HD 630
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Apple, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    [​IMG]
    Direct Update to OS X El Capitan using Clover

    Established Clover users on OS X Yosemite who wish to update directly to OS X El Capitan can do so just like a regular Mac would. This fully native method requires no USB creation or preparation.

    Before you begin, we strongly recommend performing a full backup of your existing system using Carbon Copy Cloner. By doing this, you can always go back to your working OS X Yosemite installation.

    1. Download the latest version of Clover from sourceforge and update your existing Clover install.

    2. Open Clover configuration folder on the root of your system drive or EFI Partition. Copy FakeSMC.kext and any other extra necessary kexts from /EFI/CLOVER/kexts/10.10/ to /EFI/CLOVER/kexts/10.11/. If you need essential kexts, download them here.

    Screen Shot 2015-09-10 at 11.49.52 AM.png

    3. Open /EFI/CLOVER/config.plist with TextEdit and add the following BooterConfig and CsrActiveConfig keys to RtVariables section. This will partially disable SIP (System Integrity Protection) when booting OS X El Capitan.

    Code (Text):

        <key>RtVariables</key>
        <dict>
            <key>BooterConfig</key>
            <string>0x28</string>
            <key>CsrActiveConfig</key>
            <string>0x3</string>
        </dict>
     
    Screen Shot 2015-09-10 at 9.51.03 AM.png 4. Download Install OS X El Capitan Application from the Mac App Store. When complete, the app will open. Please note, the Application will disappear after use.

    5. Choose system drive for install (Example: Macintosh HD). When complete, the computer will automatically reboot.

    6. When Clover boot screen appears, choose Boot OS X Install option (Example: Boot OS X Install from Macintosh HD). Choosing your system drive will go back to your previous installation without updating.

    7. Complete the OS X installation process. When complete, the computer will automatically reboot.

    8. When Clover boot screen appears, choose Boot Mac OS X option (Example: Boot Mac OS X from Macintosh HD). The computer will then complete the update.

    :thumbup:

    Related:
    http://www.tonymacx86.com/el-capita...ublic-beta-installation-usb-using-clover.html
    http://www.tonymacx86.com/alternate-bootloaders/128018-tonymacx86-clover-theme.html
     
    AutumnLoving and ganghead like this.
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 27, 2016
  2. agnosie

    agnosie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2014
    Messages:
    13
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Sep 30, 2015 at 8:08 PM #2
    agnosie

    agnosie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2014
    Messages:
    13
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    I see no kexts nowhere on my EFI folder.o_O
     
  3. VioletDragon

    VioletDragon

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    Messages:
    10,236
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77-DS3H
    CPU:
    Core i7-3770
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 760
    Mac:
    MacBook, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 30, 2015 at 8:25 PM #3
    VioletDragon

    VioletDragon

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2013
    Messages:
    10,236
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77-DS3H
    CPU:
    Core i7-3770
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte GTX 760
    Mac:
    MacBook, Mac mini
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I've put my kexts in EFI/Clover/kexts/10.11 Ethernet and FakeSMC and FakeSMC Plugins works fine doing it that way. You could put them in EFI/Clover/kexts/other it won't hurt neither :thumbup:
     
  4. agnosie

    agnosie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2014
    Messages:
    13
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Sep 30, 2015 at 8:34 PM #4
    agnosie

    agnosie

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2014
    Messages:
    13
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    No kexts at all. not even the default ones. How can i get them?:confused::confused:
     
  5. toleda

    toleda Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    20,137
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VII Impact
    CPU:
    Core i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD7750 + HD4600
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    512K, LC, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 30, 2015 at 8:45 PM #5
    toleda

    toleda Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    20,137
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VII Impact
    CPU:
    Core i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD7750 + HD4600
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    512K, LC, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Correct, copy all kexts/10.10 to kexts/10.11.
    Since the 10.11 Installer replaces AppleHDA.kext;
    1. disable SIP (0x3)
    2. restart
    3. View Raw/audio_cloverALC-110.command/Save (Use .zip)/select file/double click file, answer questions
    4. enable SIP (0x0)
    5. restart

    More info:
    Realtek ALC AppleHDA/Post #1/3. cloverALC/Clover patched

    No audio:
    See Problem Reporting, Post #1, No Audio Devices - Realtek ALC AppleHDA.
    Post to same thread as the guide.
     
  6. toleda

    toleda Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    20,137
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VII Impact
    CPU:
    Core i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD7750 + HD4600
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    512K, LC, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 30, 2015 at 8:52 PM #6
    toleda

    toleda Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    20,137
    Mobo:
    Asus Maximus VII Impact
    CPU:
    Core i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    HD7750 + HD4600
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    512K, LC, Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Are you currently using Clover?
    If no, this thread is not for you.
    If yes, the non native kexts are likely in S/L/E.
     
  7. space08

    space08

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    48
    CPU:
    i7 6700hq
    Graphics:
    HD530
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Sep 30, 2015 at 9:07 PM #7
    space08

    space08

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2012
    Messages:
    48
    CPU:
    i7 6700hq
    Graphics:
    HD530
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    and UniBeast????
    clover method:crazy:
     
  8. armendegga

    armendegga

    Joined:
    May 22, 2014
    Messages:
    13
    Sep 30, 2015 at 9:23 PM #8
    armendegga

    armendegga

    Joined:
    May 22, 2014
    Messages:
    13
    So I completed the steps listed, and when I boot OS X Install, I only get to a grey screen with spinning ball.

    I have put the FakeSMC in the kexts folder on EFI partition, and added the arguments to config.plist.

    Can't figure out why it's doing it? Using clover 3270. Upgrading from Yosemite.
     
  9. chrismartino

    chrismartino

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2013
    Messages:
    36
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77-DS3H
    CPU:
    Core i7-3770K
    Graphics:
    nVidia GT 640
    Mac:
    MacBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 30, 2015 at 9:31 PM #9
    chrismartino

    chrismartino

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2013
    Messages:
    36
    Mobo:
    GA-Z77-DS3H
    CPU:
    Core i7-3770K
    Graphics:
    nVidia GT 640
    Mac:
    MacBook
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Ditto. I can't get past the spinning beach ball of death. The only difference for me is I'm coming from Mavericks. Same clover rev. Using the default config.plist from here, slightly modified to get rid of "rootless=0" and to not inject intel graphics.
     
    Dapplebook likes this.
  10. MrSmith3101

    MrSmith3101

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    52
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z87X D3H
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 4770K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte Geforce GTX680OC
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Sep 30, 2015 at 9:39 PM #10
    MrSmith3101

    MrSmith3101

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2011
    Messages:
    52
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z87X D3H
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 4770K
    Graphics:
    Gigabyte Geforce GTX680OC
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Same here using Clover 3270 as well

    Arguments added to the config as described

    Any hints why we get the spinning death?
     

Share This Page