Contribute
Register

Direct Update to macOS Sierra using Clover

Joined
Nov 29, 2012
Messages
116
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490M Gaming X
CPU
i7-10700
Graphics
Radeon Pro WX 4100 4 GB
Weird - I'm not getting Menu Bar glitches but the App Store seems to have graphics issues and periodically the screen saver temporarily hangs and then springs to life. Ideas?
 

Attachments

  • 2016-09-25_12-51-12.png
    2016-09-25_12-51-12.png
    1.7 MB · Views: 135
Joined
Sep 9, 2015
Messages
12
Motherboard
GA-X58A-UD5 rev 2.0 || GA-Z68X-UD4-B3 rev 1.0
CPU
i5 || i7
Graphics
ATI Radeon HD 6870 || NVIDIA GeForce GTX 260
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Well, I finally got Sierra running on both of my machines:

1st Machine: GA-X58A-UD5 rev 2.0 (Video: GV-R687OC-1GD || Radeon HD 6870)
– Installation went almost flawless and all works fine, except just two minor issues: USB 3.0 doesnt work and non-wakeup after sleep.

and
2nd Machine: GA-Z68X-UD4-B3 rev 1.0 (Video: ASUS C897P || NVIDIA GeForce GTX 260) – after three days of tossing around and endless tries and failures, I finally passed the installation process. But! My GTX 260 still doesnt work. Sierra now runs on generic graphic drivers. Brand new NVIDIA Web drivers seem not to support my GPU, so I run into turned off black monitor when I use them.

Any ideas?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 19, 2016
Messages
26
Motherboard
MSI B85M Gaming
CPU
Intel Core i5 3.20 GHz 4460 Haswell
Graphics
NVIDIA GeForce GT 730 2GB GDDR5 with integrated Intel HD Graphics 4600
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I did not know this but apparently this function is completely removed in Sierra.
See, for example,
https://www.techisky.com/tips/disk-utility-missing-features-macos-sierra.html
https://support.apple.com/en-us/HT201560

I started to wonder if that was the cause of Onyx made my system unstable after El Capitan.
I used to use it a lot but I stop doing so now.

Apparently I had to disable SIP in command line before I can repair the permission:
csrutil disable
http://apple.stackexchange.com/ques...to-repair-permissions-with-onyx-on-el-capitan
Okay I disabled SIP from Recovery mode. It is now disabled. But still the same with the kext wizard. Also, in Sierra, no crack or patch works, it says the "crackfilename" was closed unexpectedly.
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2016
Messages
57
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z97N-WIFI
CPU
Intel Quad Core I7 4790K @ 4.0 GHz
Graphics
HD Graphics 4600
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Success!!!
After 3 tries (third time is a charm), I made it. The reason it failed the first two times was because I used the latest Clover. What worked for me was Clover_v2.3k_r3726.
Followed post #1 to the letter and used the above Clover and voila!
Everything seems to be working very nicely, it's indexing pretty hard right now so that's good. In a few minutes I will run Toleda's script to enable sound again.
You can get Clover here : https://sourceforge.net/projects/cloverefiboot/files/Installer/
 
Joined
Feb 2, 2011
Messages
16
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5
CPU
Intel Core i7 930
Graphics
AMD Radeon HD 6780
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Here's an interesting one, and maybe I'm missing something.

Installed the update and everything worked as planned. Reboot after all the installation stuff to the login screen. Click on my main user account and it accepts my password, but then just sits and spins. Occasionally giving me the rainbow wheel of doom, but other than that just spins. I can move the mouse and stuff so it's not frozen.

So I hard reboot from the drive and get back to the login screen. This time I select a secondary user account and when I enter the password, it spins for a second and then prompts me to enter my Apple ID and do the initial configuration bit. Then I get to the desktop...

After some consideration, I realized that my main user accounts Home folder is located on a separate disk and is configured as such in the Users pref pane. My secondary account has it's Home folder located on the same disk as the install. I'm not sure why it makes a difference, but I can get passed the login screen with my main account.

Any one have any ideas?

EDIT: After login with my secondary account, I was able to change my primary account's Home folder location to the local folder on my main drive. I logged out of secondary, and was able to login with primary without issue. However, none of my Applications, Music, Movies, etc... are there because they all reside in my original home folder. Is this perhaps a permissions issue? I can't relocated all of my original Home folder contents because there isn't enough room on my main drive.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 11, 2010
Messages
100
Motherboard
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS IX CODE
CPU
Intel i7 7700K
Graphics
Nvidia 1080 TI
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Graphics vs. iMessage/FaceTime.
So I followed this guided on my old X58 and it for the most part worked perfectly.
The first two things, and (only 2 things) broken were graphics and sound. After I updated the nivida web drivers oddly the graphics worked after the 2nd reboot, but every reboot after that I had broken graphics. After some reading I learned I had to add a couple of lines of code to the config.plist file.
I found the SystemParameters sections at the very end of my plist files and I added the lines in red which resolved the graphics issue.
Example -
<key>SystemParameters</key>
<dict>
<key>InjectKexts</key>
<string>YES</string>
<key>InjectSystemID</key>
<true/>
<key>NvidiaWeb</key>
<true/>
</dict>

Sound was easily resolved by running the new version of the command file.
Now here is were things get strange. iMessage and FaceTime quit working. I know iMessage was working because as soon as my computer came up from upgrading I got a text, and I was able got respond on my computer.
I found that adding those two line in the System Parameters is what caused the two services to quit working, removing them resolved the problem. So now when I reboot, I have to stop clover from booting. go into graphics and select Webdriver then boot.
I don't restart this desktop much so I'm ok with that for now.
I guess I will wait for an updated version of Clover Configurator, as I noticed editing the plist manually, and using the configurator don't mix well...lol
 
Joined
Sep 25, 2016
Messages
2
Well, my perfectly running Capitan on H87 n wifi now doesn't even want to boot into el capitan after trying to do the update to sierra, tired of this, give up. system restarts every time after initial apple logo, and yes i followed everything on the guide
 
Joined
Mar 4, 2010
Messages
113
Motherboard
GA-Z490 Vision G
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
Intel UHD Graphics 630
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi,
No sound too after update. Could you please explain in details how you did for the config.plist trick ?
When you run the Realtek AppleHDA Audio installer (audio_cloverALC-120), it updates the config.list in /EFI/CLOVER (KextsToPatch) and installs realtekALC.kext in /EFI/CLOVER/KEXTS/OTHER. If you are set up for UEFI booting, Clover will load the config.list from /EFI/CLOVER to /EFI/CLOVER/OEM/Z97X-UD5H/UEFI instead. That's why you need to copy the updated config.list as well as the realtek...kext to the appropriate place in ..../UEFI/....
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2012
Messages
2,597
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 AORUS Pro WFI
CPU
3.6 GHz 8-Core Intel Core i7
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Well, my perfectly running Capitan on H87 n wifi now doesn't even want to boot into el capitan after trying to do the update to sierra, tired of this, give up. system restarts every time after initial apple logo, and yes i followed everything on the guide

For all we know you're trying to install onto a potato - sorry for the sarcasm but unless you give us a clue as to what your specs are, you're just wasting your time posting as it won't induce anyone to offer you the help you need. All it takes is a couple of seconds to put your specs into your profile and believe or not, someone will come to your aid. Welcome to the forum and good luck.
 
Top