Contribute
Register

Direct Update to macOS Sierra using Clover

Joined
Jun 4, 2012
Messages
17
Motherboard
Gigabyte H87n-WiFi
CPU
i7 4770
Graphics
GTX 760
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Wow. El Capitan to Sierra, this was probably the fastest Hac OSX update I ever did.
Gigabyte H87N-WiFi (ALC892) + AirPort compatible Mini PCIe Adapter + GeForce GTX 760
I have full graphics, sound and WiFi, and all with a minimum of mucking about.

I want to thank ALL of you so much for your valuable input!

Summing up the most critical points, for those (like myself 2 hours ago) who can't make heads or tails of most of the cryptic insider posts here... ;)

- Switched system definition from MacPro3,1 to iMac14,2 (my heart still bleeds) in Clover Configurator; additionally downloaded the latest MultiBeast and installed the iMac14,2 system definition in there, no clue if that made a difference.

- Launched Clover Configurator and updated it. When it relaunched, I ALSO updated my EFI installation: mounted the EFI drive from within CloverConf and selected "Install/Update Clover" from the sidebar on the left, followed the steps displayed.

- CloverConf settings used:
* Acpi: FixHDA √ (old way)
* Boot: nvda_drv=1 √ ... kext-dev-mode=1 √ ... XMPDetection=Yes
* Devices: USB inject √ ... Fix Ownership √ ... Audio Inject 1 ... ResetHDA √
* RtVariables: BooterConfig 0x28 ... CsrActiveConfig 0x3 ... (should fix SIP/System Integrity Protection issues)
* SMBIOS: used Wizard to generate iMac14,2 spec
* System Parameters: Inject Kexts YES
(Mount EFI drive, load config from EFI drive, make changes, save changes to config on EFI drive, reboot)

- With EFI drive mounted, I went into Mac HD/Library/Extensions/ and copied everything from there into EFI/EFI/CLOVER/kexts/Other/. I also downloaded a few standard kexts from this website and put them in there, "just for fun". The FakeSMC and NullCPUPowerManagement, some Ethernets etc. Don't know if any of those (other than FakeSMC) are important, but it seems to work.

- Launched macOS Sierra installer from /Applications/ and Rebooted system into Clover bootloader. Picked the install macOS option (not standard system drive; showed up after updating Clover EFI) and pressed SPACE. Checked the nvidia Web Driver, the unsigned kext thing and verbose mode. Also went into Clover bootloader options and allowed all sorts of Kext related things in there. Unfortunately, I can't really remember what those were. After that, I confirmed the boot and got to the installation routine without any spinning beach balls or other issues.

- Had older nVidia Web Driver installed on El Capitan. Downloaded nVidia Sierra (beta?) Web Driver 367.15.10.05f01 (google it) while still on El Cap, but only installed it once Sierra was completely installed. Sierra booted fine without the newer Sierra-specific driver, but I installed the newer one anyway. Workes a treat.

- I've no clue how I got audio to work under El Capitan. After installing Sierra, the AppleHDA.kext was probably a mix of toleda's thing and kextCommander and what do I know. On El Cap, I always had an un-deletable AppleHDA892.kext in my bin, a remainder of my countless failed attempts (before I magically succeeded) of getting audio to run, and I couldn't completely empty the bin.

So after installing Sierra, I followed toleda's "restore native AppleHDA guide" (google it), extracted the original AppleHDA.kext from the Sierra installer and replaced the f**ked up one in /System/Library/Extensions/. Then I used toleda's CloverALC version 120 (110 doesn't work with Sierra) and patched the original-again AppleHDA.kext with it, using AudioID 1.

I now have working sound and an empty bin. Yay.
EDIT1: ...and audio even comes back after sleep, hooray!

That was basically it... I hope I didn't forget anything.
And I hope this summary could help save at least one guy's evening.

Because I dealt with a fair bit of fear, here's something to hopefully loosen you up a bit:
What sits on the bottom of the ocean and shivers?
-- A nervous wreck.

Thanks again! This is the best board, like, evur and stuff! <3

EDIT2: one slightly bugging thing... mouse scrolling is really weird now. Using a Logi Anywhere MX, worked fine in El Cap and now the scrolling is somehow laggy. I turn the wheel, but the page only starts scrolling once the mouse wheel stops. Anywhere. Everything else works great and as before, just scrolling is crap. Already looked through Logitech and Mouse PrefPanes but nothing I changed there fixed it. Miffed.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 19, 2016
Messages
57
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z97N-WIFI
CPU
Intel Quad Core I7 4790K @ 4.0 GHz
Graphics
HD Graphics 4600
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
@rysk ...Quick question, which version of clover did you use? Did you use an older version? Thanks!
 
Joined
Sep 11, 2014
Messages
29
Motherboard
ASUS Sabertooth x79
CPU
i7-3820
Graphics
GTX 650 Ti
I've installed the latest clover. Coped FakeSMC.kext and RealtekRTL111.kext to Other, I've rebooted and tried no caches and injected caches, verbose. It just hangs at "exited with abnormal code 1". I'm not sure how to get to the installer screen. Thanks.
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2014
Messages
287
Motherboard
Asus Z97-A/USB3.1
CPU
i7-4790
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Can this procedure be used with an El Cap install that was done with Multibeast/Unibeast?
 
Joined
Sep 11, 2014
Messages
29
Motherboard
ASUS Sabertooth x79
CPU
i7-3820
Graphics
GTX 650 Ti
OK my problem was that I had been copying my .kext files to the wrong EFI directory, I mistakenly had another EFI directory. Once I mounted the real one, and put the kext's there, Sierra installed no problems. The only issues I see now are
- Slow boot times (even after a restart)
- No usb audio sound (even after a restart)
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2011
Messages
141
Motherboard
Asus X299 Prime Deluxe
CPU
i9-7980XE
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Did you upgrade clover to the latest version.

Sorry my Bad.. I thought the bootloader in MB is the latest version... After reading carefully on the instruction, I'm in macOS Sierra now. Had to use nv_disable=1 or it will hang at the Apple logo screen.
 
Joined
Sep 29, 2015
Messages
71
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z97X-UD7 TH
CPU
i7-4790
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
MacPro3,1 does not meet the minimum spec to install Sierra.
If you want to install Sierra then you must change the system definition as previously stated.
Suggested system definition is iMac14,2.
Worked Perfectly. Thanks. MacOS upgrade complete with no issues.
 
Top