Contribute
Register

Direct Update to macOS Sierra using Clover

Joined
Dec 30, 2015
Messages
87
Motherboard
Asus z97 Sabertooth Mark II
CPU
i7-4790k
Graphics
ASUS ROG STRIX 480x 8GB
I have a unique situation where my XFX R9 280X only works if I delete the file called AppleTyMCE.kext in S/L/E. So for past updates, I would use my Clover USB to get into OS X, then delete the file. After that, I can use my normal bootloader.

If Sierra doesn't use a USB drive, can I still use my El Capitan USB to get into the system to delete the file after I upgrade?
There may be another way to do it. Im running xfx 280x as well. If you boot with internal graphics first, you should be able to delete the kext. You can also try to dynamically upload a different vbios. Im using asus 280x vbios.
There's a good description here on how to do it in case deleting the kext no longer works. Damn xfx cards not liking hackintoshes
http://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/adding-amd-280x-graphics-card.183264/page-2
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2012
Messages
216
Motherboard
Lenovo G570
CPU
2.4 GHz Intel Core i5
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Successfully Update on my Lenovo G570 laptop ...everything is working. :clap::clap::clap::clap::headbang::headbang::headbang:
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2014
Messages
3
Motherboard
Z97-D3H
CPU
i5 4460
Graphics
GeForce GT650
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
So I seemed to have gotten through the installation OK but when I go to boot into Sierra from the Clover boot screen, I get to where it seems like the login box should pop up (I see a background with red and blue mountains blurred) and then it just hangs.

This seems to happen no matter what boot options I choose.

Kexts in Other folder:
AtherosE2200Ethernet.kext
FakeSMC.kext
RealtekRTL8111.kext

Any ideas?
I am getting the same situation when booting El Capitan with the latest Clover releases.
Typing the password there (at the supposedly blank screen) and hitting enter logs me in, but the system works slowly and displays graphic glitches.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2012
Messages
23
Motherboard
Z77-ds3h
CPU
i5-3770k
Graphics
gtx660
Mac
  1. iMac
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Hello everyone ,

Direct upgrade good, and I had to recover audio TOLEDA.
but I fail to shut down properly.
wol not in bios, no activation disk to access the network, no remains of ancient facilities.
I do not want to use NullCPUPowerManagement, because I have a z77 and is supposed to go native,
in clover configurator does not affect or halt fixshutdown-enabler is the same if placed or removed.
when you are given the order to shut off everything and seems to be shut down and restart.
someone with this problem?
thanks to all.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 15, 2014
Messages
5
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I'm having issues while booting. I checked -without caches and using the latest Clover. This is the error I get:

osxaptiofixdrv error requested memory

I tried both aptio drivers, but no chance. Any suggestions?
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2015
Messages
22
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z97-D3H
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
GTX 960
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi everyone,

This is my first Hackintosh and I successfully installed El Cap last year using your process :clap:

I would like to update to Sierra from my el cap install which is stable and was starting with trepidation to follow the instructions - so far i have updated clover to latest version but when i mount the EFI (with EFI mounter v3) and look in the 10.11 folder all i have is realtekALC.kext - I cannot find FakeSMC.kext anywhere? this seems to be an important part of the process so can anyone let me know if i need this if it isn't present ( i found out the EFi identifiers and checked all others in case but were empty)

cheers!
 
Joined
Feb 25, 2015
Messages
5
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I am getting the same situation when booting El Capitan with the latest Clover releases.
Typing the password there (at the supposedly blank screen) and hitting enter logs me in, but the system works slowly and displays graphic glitches.

I wound up fixing the install by replacing the config.plist with the one I used in El Capitan. This fixed the graphics and speed errors I was having. I did have to install the Nvidia alternate graphics.
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2014
Messages
37
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370M-DS3H
CPU
i5
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
  4. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. eMac
  2. iMac
  3. LC
  4. Plus
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I upgraded through the AppStore with out any problems. Worked just like any other upgrade. Updated NVIDIA web drivers, reinstalled sound and USB 3. Everything works fine except CUDA which is up to NVIDIA to fix. The upgrade even went faster on my Hackintosh than it did on my MacMini.
 
Joined
Sep 24, 2015
Messages
25
Motherboard
Asus TUF Z390M-PRO GAMING
CPU
i5-9400F
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
Hey guys, please help me.

I would install the ne Mac Os Sierra on my Hackintosh. I configured it 1 years ago with UniBeast and MultiBeast.

So...first thing that I've done is update Clover. So, I downloaded it and ran the pkg, so i successfully installed it.

After reboot, I choose the Mac partition (with new clover design, wow) and...everything is messed up. Everything works strange. The finder doesn't appear, not all the application doesn't work fine...a disaster.

So, I reinstall Clover from MultiBeast (an older version of clover, the only one that I can choose from MultiBeast) and now everything work well.

So...how can I update to Mac OS Sierra if I can't install a newer version of clover?

Please, help me...thank you.
 
Top