Contribute
Register

Dell xps 8500 installation problem

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
May 18, 2013
Messages
5
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hi everybody,

I have difficult to install ML 10.8.3 on my XPS8500. Can anybody help?

Key hardwares are:
Motherboard: Dell 0NW73C
CPU: i7-3770
GPU: MSI geforce gtx 660

I keep seeing this

panic(cpu 4 caller oxffffff8000554f95): "Process 1 exec of /sbin/launchd failed, errno 1"
(sometime was cpu 4, sometime was cpu 6, sometime was cpu 0)
I have try all the boot options like npci=0x3000, PCIRootUID=0,GraphicsEnabler=No, -x, -v.

I can not get in to the installation screen. Any idear?

Thanks
 
Joined
May 18, 2013
Messages
5
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Here is the pic of the panic
panic pic.JPG
 
Joined
May 18, 2013
Messages
5
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I using a MacBook Pro to create the USB drive. Do I have to find a mac desktop to create the USB drive?
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
183,935
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I using a MacBook Pro to create the USB drive. Do I have to find a mac desktop to create the USB drive?

I'm referring to the smbios.plist on the USB. Did you select laptop support in Unibeast or something? Did you use Unibeast?
 
Joined
May 18, 2013
Messages
5
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Did you mean use champlist to create smbios.plist?
I have tried usb suppor, laptop, and both. Same result.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
183,935
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Did you mean use champlist to create smbios.plist?
I have tried usb suppor, laptop, and both. Same result.

I would try re-downloading your ML (10.8.4) from Mac App Store, maybe the one you have is damaged.
Then use Unibeast to re-create USB without laptop support (will result in MacPro3,1 smbios).
 
Joined
May 18, 2013
Messages
5
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I already did. But I have heard that if your download from a macbook pro, then you can only install in another macbook pro. If you download from a macbook, you can only install in another macbook. I don't know. Can I install a brand new system in my hard drive and then put into pc?
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 2, 2012
Messages
183,935
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I already did. But I have heard that if your download from a macbook pro, then you can only install in another macbook pro. If you download from a macbook, you can only install in another macbook. I don't know.

Definitely not true.

Can I install a brand new system in my hard drive and then put into pc?
Probably best to search for other posts regarding a similar model as what you have and pursue correct boot flags.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top