Contribute
Register

Dell Precision M6800 Workstation Hackintosh Guide

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
191,123
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
Core i7-2600K
Graphics
Intel HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Manage to "solve" brightness problem, I've installed ACPIBacklight.kext static forces the brightness to 100% and use "Brightness Slider" to control the brightness.
That is not the correct method.
Refer to the link already provided.
I'm currently with only one big problem, headphones are extremely noisy impossible to hear anything, audio from speakers are perfect.
No "Problem Reporting" files attached.
Read FAQ, "Problem Reporting" again. Carefully. Attach all requested files/output.
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/faq-read-first-laptop-frequent-questions.164990/
Use the gen_debug.sh tool mentioned in the FAQ, that way it is less likely you'll omit something.
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2013
Messages
19
CPU
i7-820QM/QM57
Graphics
K3000m
Mobile Phone
Android
This is such good info to find ...... My M6800 died (wore out from so much use) and I discovered Parts People could replace it and give a warranty as good as Dells ......... I *so* look to putting all this into practice when the new one (well refurbished) gets here ........ Thank you so much

It will actually be fun doing my new profile for a happy reason .....
 
Joined
Mar 12, 2016
Messages
4
Motherboard
Dell Precision M6800
CPU
I7-4800M
Graphics
Quadro K3100M
Mobile Phone
Android
Hey all. This method worked great, i've been using my M6800 without issue for months now!
Thanks OP and Rehabman.

I do have a problem now, and its been so long since i installed all this i forgot how to fix my problem!!!

The M6800 is going to sleep, like fully shutting down on me, when i have all Mac settings to stay awake.

I have a project i'm running remotely on it (de-duplicating 100k images on NAS Share) but the M6800 it shuts down on me.

Is this a bios issue or a kext problem? Any help is always appreciated!
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2013
Messages
19
CPU
i7-820QM/QM57
Graphics
K3000m
Mobile Phone
Android
What is the best method these days to install web drivers on a High Sierra Hackintosh? ...as I recall there were issues with SIP and the like ....

Edit I managed to get the webdrivers loaded by turning on SIP in the clover boot screen options (If you make changes to the config.plist the thing won't boot, as was mentioned .... I just had a hard time believing that) and then in the options screen after I rebooted I got......the familiar black screen. This seemed so promising but I've been down this particular rabbit hole before and there ain't no way out ......... sigh
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 7, 2019
Messages
3
Motherboard
Dell Precision M4800
CPU
i7 4910 MQ
Graphics
WX4150
Cool. Just got my M4800 fulling going with dual gfx - HD4600 + ATI on mojave.

repo: https://github.com/tluck/Dell-M4800-Clover

I was wondering how to see the fan speed on DELL with HWMonitor? anyone have an ACPI patch?
Cool! What ATI cards you are using? I'm now having M4800 with 3840*2160 display and the WX4150 graphic cards, can I use your EFI file?
 

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
12,993
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-Clover
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD530 + GTX 950m 1920 x 1080
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Joined
Sep 24, 2012
Messages
78
Motherboard
Dell M4800
CPU
I7-4810MQ
Graphics
HD 4600/AMD
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Cool! What ATI cards you are using? I'm now having M4800 with 3840*2160 display and the WX4150 graphic cards, can I use your EFI file?
EFI - I dont know if you can use as is. but you can look at the changes which are very few
but can be easily figured out since I put some comments or comparing to original.

the AMD card is a M5100 device id 0x6821. it uses Buri framebuffer by default. you may be able to use much of the clover configuration.
 
Joined
Jan 7, 2019
Messages
3
Motherboard
Dell Precision M4800
CPU
i7 4910 MQ
Graphics
WX4150
EFI - I dont know if you can use as is. but you can look at the changes which are very few
but can be easily figured out since I put some comments or comparing to original.

the AMD card is a M5100 device id 0x6821. it uses Buri framebuffer by default. you may be able to use much of the clover configuration.
Thanks a lot! I will give it a try.
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2013
Messages
19
CPU
i7-820QM/QM57
Graphics
K3000m
Mobile Phone
Android
has anyone ever figured out the switchable graphics reset issue?
 
Top