Contribute
Register

Solved > Dell Optiplex 7020 - 4K monitors on Intel 4600 Integrated GPU

Joined
Nov 5, 2019
Messages
10
Motherboard
Dell Optiplex 7020 SFF-A18, 9020 MT
CPU
i7-4790
Graphics
HD 4600, Yeston RX 550
Mac
iMac
It works after I updated whatever green and lilu to the latest version.
I lost 4k after updating to macOS 10.14.6 today. Tried to fix it by "touching" config.plist, that did not work. Updating to the latest Lilu (v1.4.0), Whatevergreen (v1.3.5) fixed the problem.
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2018
Messages
20
Motherboard
Dell Optiplex 3060
CPU
i3-8100
Graphics
UHD630
@nicksoph As i understand you have a 4k 27inch display in your possession. Would you kindly check if you have 2560x1440 as HiDPI in the display settings?

@bluepr0 Seeing you also had this problem in post 105, did you ever get 2560x1440 running with HiDPI?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 1, 2019
Messages
9
Motherboard
Optiplex 7070
CPU
i9-9900T
Graphics
HD630
For those who upgrade to Catalina and encountered kernel panic after weeked up from sleep, here is a solution:

Add the following patch to "KernelToPatch"
Find: 63 6F 6D 2E 61 70 70 6C 65 00 5F 5F 6B 65 72 6E 65 6C 5F 5F 00
Repl: 6E 6F 74 2E 61 70 70 6C 65 00 5F 5F 6B 65 72 6E 65 6C 5F 5F 00
 
Joined
Apr 17, 2019
Messages
185
Motherboard
Q77 Board
CPU
I7 3770
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
For those who upgrade to Catalina and encountered kernel panic after weeked up from sleep, here is a solution:

Add the following patch to "KernelToPatch"
Im having this issue but i'm new to all this would you mind showing as screenshot of where i would input this or guide me to the right spot to see where these inputs would go thank you.
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2012
Messages
879
Motherboard
HP 8300 Elite
CPU
i5-3570
Graphics
GT 710
Mobile Phone
Android
Im having this issue but i'm new to all this would you mind showing as screenshot of where i would input this or guide me to the right spot to see where these inputs would go thank you.
Have a look at this threads first post - section 3 , Make this a new entry beneath the one thats mentioned in section 3 Give this one a title Like "SleepPatch" (dosent matter what its called) and then add the find and replace terms similarly to the one mentioned in section 3
 
Joined
Jan 30, 2020
Messages
1
Motherboard
Dell Optiplex 9020
CPU
i7-4790
Graphics
HD4600
I lost 4K after updating to 10.15.5 today. Updated Lilu 1.4.4 and Whatevergreen 1.3.9 not helping. Touch up the plist did nothing. On Clover 5107 now. Anyone got same issue?
Really bad idea to update :(
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2012
Messages
879
Motherboard
HP 8300 Elite
CPU
i5-3570
Graphics
GT 710
Mobile Phone
Android
Thanks @biri there seem to be slight differences in getting the Intel GPU only version working with different versions of OSX and Im wondering if this is one of them. Thanks for doing the hackintool thing, my understanding is less than sketchy and I've had less success with it. I'd like to understand the differences but in the meantime - just want to put the differences up here -
Original post here;
this new version with hackintool dervied patch working on Catalina
Code:
<key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x2,0x0)</key>
            <dict>
                <key>AAPL,ig-platform-id</key>
                <data>
                CQClPg==
                </data>
                <key>AAPL,slot-name</key>
                <string>Internal@0,2,0</string>
                <key>device_type</key>
                <string>VGA compatible controller</string>
                <key>enable-hdmi20</key>
                <data>
                AQAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con0-busid</key>
                <data>
                AgAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con0-enable</key>
                <data>
                AQAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con0-pipe</key>
                <data>
                EgAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con1-enable</key>
                <data>
                AQAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con1-pipe</key>
                <data>
                EgAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con2-enable</key>
                <data>
                AQAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con2-pipe</key>
                <data>
                EgAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-patch-enable</key>
                <data>
                AQAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-unifiedmem</key>
                <data>
                AAAAgA==
                </data>
                <key>model</key>
                <string>Intel Xeon E3-1200 v3/4th Gen Core Processor Integrated Graphics Controller</string>
            </dict>
and the original created and working in Mojave,
Code:
<key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x2,0x0)</key>
            <dict>
                <key>AAPL,ig-platform-id</key>
                <data>
                AwAiDQ==
                </data>
                <key>device-id</key>
                <data>
                EgQAAA==
                </data>
                <key>enable-hdmi20</key>
                <data>
                AQAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-patch-enable</key>
                <data>
                AQAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>hda-gfx</key>
                <string>onboard-1</string>
            </dict>
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 5, 2020
Messages
20
Motherboard
Optiplex 7020 SFF
CPU
i5 4590
Graphics
HD4600
Hello,

I have a Dell 7020, Catalina 10.15.5 installed successfully and I’m using OpenCore 0.5.9, vanilla install.

I made the bios changes (96 mb DVMT, CFG lock disabled)

Then, added the find/replace patch on the OP to Root/Kernel/Patch in config.plist and it works to enable 4k on my 27” HP 4k. However, when I add a second 23” 1080p HP monitor that I’m trying to use vertically, it comes up as “iMac” in displays and there is no option to rotate. Any ideas how to fix rotation on the second monitor?

This is the patch I added:
Code:
<array>
       <dict>
               <key>Base</key>
               <string></string>
               <key>Comment</key>
               <string>Enable 4k</string>
               <key>Count</key>
               <integer>0</integer>
               <key>Enabled</key>
               <true/>
               <key>Find</key>
               <data>
               AwAiDQADAwMAAAACAAAwAQ==
               </data>
               <key>Identifier</key>
               <string>com.apple.driver.AppleIntelFramebufferAzul</string>
               <key>Limit</key>
               <integer>0</integer>
               <key>Mask</key>
               <data>
               </data>
               <key>Replace</key>
               <data>
               AwAiDQADAwMAAAAEAAAAAw==
               </data>
               <key>ReplaceMask</key>
               <data>
               </data>
               <key>Skip</key>
               <integer>0</integer>
       </dict>
</array>
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jun 5, 2020
Messages
20
Motherboard
Optiplex 7020 SFF
CPU
i5 4590
Graphics
HD4600
Well, I physically swapped the plugs, and now my 4k shows up as "Built-in Retina display". For whatever reason the system thinks my second DP plug *is* my internal display. Regardless, it's working with the patch and I can now rotate the second display. Anyone else have this behaviour??
 
Top