Dell Optiplex 3010 - Mavericks 10.9.3 Install

Discussion in 'Mavericks Desktop Guides' started by setnev, May 22, 2014.

  1. setnev

    setnev

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    May 22, 2014 at 8:51 PM #1
    setnev

    setnev

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Hello everyone.

    I have searched and searched and found no instructions on how to install Mavericks 10.9.3 on a Dell Optiplex 3010.

    Specs of the computer:

    Intel Core i5-3470 Processor at 3.19GHz
    4GB DDR3 1600MHz RAM
    500GB Sata HD

    The computer was my work desktop and originally ran Windows 7 Pro but the memory died. My boss bought me a new MacBook Pro Retina and I decided to hack my old desktop. I started searching guides on how to install Mac OS X on a compatible machine and ironically, the hardware is almost identical to a Mac Mini.

    Prep for Installation:

    So I followed the guide here on the site on how to use UniBeast to install Mavericks 10.9 on any Intel-based PC. Guide is here.

    I ran into some issues when I initially tried to boot from the USB. I was getting the error:
    "DRMStatus: iTunes/Apple Store Content Access Problem. Content playback may be disabled on this computer. You can Continue to use the machine, but you should contact an Apple support representative. ErrorCode: 8877652"
    And the machine would hang when at that error at that point. I googled for a little bit and then started playing with boot tags. I finally found a combination that worked.

    Upon launching setup from the USB drive, I had to type:
    Code (Text):
    -x -v PCIRootUID=1 GraphicsEnabler=No IGPEnabler=Yes[/COLOR]
    It is also important to note that it appears that proper capitalization is key to making it boot successfully.

    After a little bit of patience and staring at lines of code go across the screen, I was finally greeted with the installer program. I formatted my hard drive just like the install article suggested, and proceeded to install Mavericks 10.9.3.

    Post Installation / Pre-First Boot:

    Upon reboot, I booted off of the flash drive again, highlighted the "Mavericks" drive and the typed this:
    Code (Text):
    -x PCIRootUID=1 GraphicsEnabler=No IGPEnabler=Yes
    This time, I saw the Apple logo with the spinning wheel and a loading bar on the bottom. The computer booted to the setup process which I did not sign in (Ethernet didn't work natively) nor transfer existing data. Once finished with the setup, I was greeted with the familiar Mac OS X desktop.

    Operating System Configuration:

    From there, I ran Multibeast. When running Multibeast, do not choose any of the pre-configured options from the first opening page. None of them provide stability nor allow you to start the Mac OS X without the aid of the USB drive. It took me many trial and errors and complete reinstalls of the OS to get it right but I have figured it out so I don't need to type the flags on every boot.

    I have attached my configuration file to this post, but i will also tell you my configurations.
    View attachment Optiplex 3010.mb

    Drivers > Misc > ElliottForceLegacyRTC
    Drivers > Misc > EvOreboot ---- Wouldn't shutdown or restart properly without it
    Drivers > Misc > FakeSMC v6.0.1123
    Drivers > Misc > NullCPUPowerManagement ---- Kernel panic without it
    Drivers > Network > Realtek > RealtekRTL81xx v0.0.90 ---- Needed for Ethernet functionality
    Drivers > System > AppleACPIPlatform Rollback > 10.8.1 Rollback ---- Will not sleep without it
    Drivers > System > AppleRTC Patch for CMOS Reset
    Bootloaders > Chimera v2.2.1
    Customize > Boot Options > Basic Boot Options ---- Required to prevent typing flags at startup
    Customize > Boot Options > Hibernate Mode - Desktop
    Customize > Boot Options > PCI Root ID Fix ---- Constantly gave the 8877652 error without it
    Customize > Boot Options > 1080p Display Mode ---- Needed to install the Intel HD2500 driver (more on that in bit)
    Customize > System Definitions > Mac Mini > Mac mini 6,1 ---- More on this in a bit
    Customize > SSDT Options > Sandy Bridge Core i5 ---- Allows overclocking of the i5 Processor

    After that installs, reboot and it should boot directly into Mavericks without the need for startup flags.

    Installing Drivers:

    Once the computer rebooted, I noticed that there was no options to change the screen resolution and I had no sound.

    Video:

    Note: You must have a monitor capable of HDMI. If not, do not install the HD2500 driver.

    Here is how to install the Video drivers for the Intel HD2500 Integrated Graphics if you do have a capable monitor and cable.

    On the Desktop, select Go > Go to Folder.... and type /Extra

    When the window opens, use TextEdit to edit the org.chameleon.Boot.plist file

    Under the <dict> section, create a new line and paste this into the file:

    Code (Text):
    [COLOR=#3B3128][FONT=Arial]<key>device-properties</key>[/FONT][/COLOR]
    [COLOR=#3B3128][FONT=Arial]<string>7f0000000100000001000000730000000200000002010c00d041030a000000000101060000027fff04002c0000004100410050004c002c00690067002d0070006c006100740066006f0072006d002d00690064000000080000000b006601140000006800640061002d0067006600780000000d0000006f6e626f6172642d31</string>[/FONT][/COLOR]
    Then find this line:

    Code (Text):
    <key>GraphicsEnabler</key>
    <string>Yes</string>
    And change Yes to No. It is case sensitive.

    From here, shutdown your computer, unplug the VGA monitor and hook it a compatible HDMI monitor up via the built in HDMI port on the back of the computer. Start the computer and you should be greeted with the desktop in full 1920x1080 resolution.

    Sound:
    The computer's sound card is an integrated Conexant 20641/20651 HD Audio card. I have not found the proper kext files to use to make it work, yet.

    Bootloader:
    Now my computer would not boot without the aid of the USB key. If yours will boot from the Hard Drive without the USB first, then skip this.

    My computer kept getting the Drive 0: Error on boot and wouldn't boot from the SATA hard drive. So I followed the comprehensive instructions here.

    After following those instructions, the Hackintosh boots perfectly without the USB drive.

    In Summary:

    In summary, I have a nearly fully functional Hackintosh computer. With the exception of sound, everything works flawlessly.
     
  2. enzosdue

    enzosdue

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    18
    Mobo:
    ASUS Sabertooth Z77 TUF
    CPU:
    Intel i7 3770K
    Graphics:
    MSI GF GTX 970 4G OC
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    May 25, 2014 at 8:12 PM #2
    enzosdue

    enzosdue

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    18
    Mobo:
    ASUS Sabertooth Z77 TUF
    CPU:
    Intel i7 3770K
    Graphics:
    MSI GF GTX 970 4G OC
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
  3. mikeglez

    mikeglez

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Mobo:
    Delll Optiplex 2010
    CPU:
    Core i5
    Graphics:
    Geforce 8400gs
    Nov 1, 2014 at 6:25 AM #3
    mikeglez

    mikeglez

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2014
    Messages:
    1
    Mobo:
    Delll Optiplex 2010
    CPU:
    Core i5
    Graphics:
    Geforce 8400gs
    Were you able to use iMessages? Also how is your hackintosh doing so far?
     
  4. moeava

    moeava

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87X-OC
    CPU:
    i7-4770k
    Graphics:
    GT640
    Nov 23, 2014 at 7:32 AM #4
    moeava

    moeava

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Mobo:
    GA-Z87X-OC
    CPU:
    i7-4770k
    Graphics:
    GT640
    Just want to add that this works with Yosemite. I did a clean install this afternoon and so far everything seems to be working just fine. Sound also works with enzosdue's suggestion for using Voodoo HDA.

    The only difference is I'm using an Asus NVIDIA GeForce GT 610 for my graphics running a dual monitor setup. I wanna say I got the card because I was having problems getting things running when I originally installed Mavericks a few months ago. Or maybe I just wanted dual monitors, I can't remember at this point.

    I just ordered 2 x 4GB Corsair Vengence to max this thing out on RAM. I'm also going to try putting an i5-3570 processor in it. Haven't been able to find anything online confirming what is the fastest/best processor a 3010 can be upgraded to. It's in the same family and has similar specs just gives it a little bump to 3.4GHz (3.80Ghz max turbo), so I'm hoping for the best on that.

    Anyways, thanks setnev
     
  5. velcis

    velcis

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Jan 10, 2016 at 5:50 AM #5
    velcis

    velcis

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    This works for video but no QE/CI, acceleration nor tranparency, tried Photoshop or maybe Safari and got some gliphs bugged. :/ any news
     
  6. AppleJunkie

    AppleJunkie

    Joined:
    May 6, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Mobo:
    ASUS X99-DELUXE
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-5820K @ 3.30 GHz
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon HD 5700 Series
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jun 2, 2016 at 4:37 AM #6
    AppleJunkie

    AppleJunkie

    Joined:
    May 6, 2016
    Messages:
    1
    Mobo:
    ASUS X99-DELUXE
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-5820K @ 3.30 GHz
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon HD 5700 Series
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I have a Dell OptiPlex 3010 (Service Tag: 590PNV1). I'm attempting to install El Capitan with Clover (latest update). The above listed boot options do not work for me. I can get to the Apple logo with the progress bar underneath. It will go all the way to the end of the progress bar, but does not appear to go any farther. Does anyone have any suggestions?

    When using the above boot options, I get:
    Using Safe Mode
    Read error 0x7
    Error loading kernel cache (0xe)
    Boot failed, sleeping for 10 seconds before exiting...

    And it just hangs there...

    RIG:
    Intel i5-3470 @ 3.20 GHz
    500 GB HD
    Intel HD2500 integrated graphics
    4 GB 1600 MHz DDR3 RAM
     
  7. pkkrusty

    pkkrusty

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Dec 28, 2016 at 2:39 PM #7
    pkkrusty

    pkkrusty

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    I'm working on a El Capitan install on a stock 3010 as well. Just diving into the boot process now. AppleJunkie, did you ever get anywhere on this?

    A
     
  8. thejhart

    thejhart

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Feb 15, 2017 at 6:35 AM #8
    thejhart

    thejhart

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    did you figure it out?
     
  9. thejhart

    thejhart

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    Feb 15, 2017 at 6:35 AM #9
    thejhart

    thejhart

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2017
    Messages:
    3
    did you get anywhere?
     
  10. pkkrusty

    pkkrusty

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Feb 16, 2017 at 6:43 PM #10
    pkkrusty

    pkkrusty

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    No, gave up after trying everything I could think of. I tried installing 10.6, 10.11 and 10.12. Not sure what I was missing, but I assume it was something simple.
     

Share This Page