Contribute
Register

Solved > Dell Latitude 5290 2-in-1 Success QE/CI but Black Screen

Joined
Aug 20, 2018
Messages
27
Motherboard
Dell Latitude 5290 2-in1
CPU
i5 8350u
Graphics
UHD 630
DELL LATITUDE 5290 2-IN-1
CPU : i5 8350U (VPRO)
GRAPHIC : INTEL UHD GRAPHICS 620
MEMORY : SAMSUNG LPDDR3 4GB (2EA)
SSD : TOSHIBA KXG60ZMV256G 256GB
DISPLAY : 12.3 INCH 1920 X 1280(WUXGA+) 4:3 10 POINTS MULTI TOUCH
PORT & SLOT : USB 3.1 * 1, TYPE C * 2 (USB 3.1, DISPLAY PORT, POWER DELIVERY), AUDIO JACK * 1, SMART CARD READER * 1 USIM SLOP * 1, LOCK SLOT *1
BATTERY : 42WHR
WINDOWS 10 PRO

-------------------------------------------

Properties - PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x2,0x0)
device-id = 3EA50000
AAPL,ig-platform-id = 3E9B0007

I entered this and recognized the built-in graphics, but the internal monitor of the laptop shows a blackout screen with backlight after the v log and only the external monitor is recognized.
(Fortunately, all ports of type C have DP OUT enabled.)

My Built-in monitor is 12.3 inch 1920*1280(WUXGA+ 4:3) eDP.


I have tried EDID injection of the built-in monitor but not work.

If I clear device-id, AAPL,ig-platform-id value then can boot with built-in monitor but 9mb vram.

It is expected that this problem will occur because ig-platform-id = 3E9B0007 is a desktop ID, but currently there is no booting to QE / CI active other than this value.

Attached ProblemReportFile, EDIDFile
Built-in_Monitor_9mb.png
EXT_Monitor_2048mb01.png
EXT_Monitor_2048mb02.png
 

Attachments

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
10,333
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-Clover
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD530 + GTX 950m 1920 x 1080
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
Android
DELL LATITUDE 5290 2-IN-1
CPU : i5 8350U (VPRO)
GRAPHIC : INTEL UHD GRAPHICS 620
MEMORY : SAMSUNG LPDDR3 4GB (2EA)
SSD : TOSHIBA KXG60ZMV256G 256GB
DISPLAY : 12.3 INCH 1920 X 1280(WUXGA+) 4:3 10 POINTS MULTI TOUCH
PORT & SLOT : USB 3.1 * 1, TYPE C * 2 (USB 3.1, DISPLAY PORT, POWER DELIVERY), AUDIO JACK * 1, SMART CARD READER * 1 USIM SLOP * 1, LOCK SLOT *1
BATTERY : 42WHR
WINDOWS 10 PRO

-------------------------------------------

Properties - PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x2,0x0)
device-id = 3EA50000
AAPL,ig-platform-id = 3E9B0007

I entered this and recognized the built-in graphics, but the internal monitor of the laptop shows a blackout screen with backlight after the v log and only the external monitor is recognized.
(Fortunately, all ports of type C have DP OUT enabled.)

My Built-in monitor is 12.3 inch 1920*1280(WUXGA+ 4:3) eDP.


I have tried EDID injection of the built-in monitor but not work.

If I clear device-id, AAPL,ig-platform-id value then can boot with built-in monitor but 9mb vram.

It is expected that this problem will occur because ig-platform-id = 3E9B0007 is a desktop ID, but currently there is no booting to QE / CI active other than this value.

Attached ProblemReportFile, EDIDFile
MacBookPro14,1 would be a better choice, also use ig-platform for a laptop, see up to date config,plist's from the laptop guide:
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2018
Messages
27
Motherboard
Dell Latitude 5290 2-in1
CPU
i5 8350u
Graphics
UHD 630
MacBookPro14,1 would be a better choice, also use ig-platform for a laptop, see up to date config,plist's from the laptop guide:
Thanks
I have already tried all the circulation of kabylake, coffeelake laptop's platform id, but failed.
I will try again with 14,1 smbios.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2018
Messages
27
Motherboard
Dell Latitude 5290 2-in1
CPU
i5 8350u
Graphics
UHD 630
MacBookPro14,1 would be a better choice, also use ig-platform for a laptop, see up to date config,plist's from the laptop guide:
Sadly tried with 14,1 & laptop platform ids but it didn't work
 

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
10,333
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-Clover
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD530 + GTX 950m 1920 x 1080
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
Android
Sadly tried with 14,1 & laptop platform ids but it didn't work
maybe give this a try:
Hackintool:
 
Joined
May 18, 2011
Messages
18
Motherboard
GA-Z370-HD3P
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
HD 5870
Mac
Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
try inject Clover detected EDID with an empty EDID in Devices/Properties/PciRoot(0)/Pci(0x02,0) and just config.plist/Devices/Graphics/EDID/Inject=true.
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2018
Messages
27
Motherboard
Dell Latitude 5290 2-in1
CPU
i5 8350u
Graphics
UHD 630
maybe give this a try:
Hackintool:
Thanks, I was patching with hackintool

try inject Clover detected EDID with an empty EDID in Devices/Properties/PciRoot(0)/Pci(0x02,0) and just config.plist/Devices/Graphics/EDID/Inject=true.
Thank you, I'll try it soon




There is some progress.
I have now switched to the platform id of the laptop and found the rules for QE / CI activation. (3EA50004)
In the HackinTool's connector information, the built-in monitor is deactivated and booted simultaneously with QE / CI active only when the two DP flags are 03C7
Now, I think I can solve the problem with only the index 0 framebuffer, but IOREG is allocated index 1 and 2 of the DP connector with Framebuffer 0 and 1.

398288
398289
398290
398291
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Aug 20, 2018
Messages
27
Motherboard
Dell Latitude 5290 2-in1
CPU
i5 8350u
Graphics
UHD 630
try inject Clover detected EDID with an empty EDID in Devices/Properties/PciRoot(0)/Pci(0x02,0) and just config.plist/Devices/Graphics/EDID/Inject=true.

Type empty data in Devices/Properties/Pci(2) AAPL00,override-no-edid
and /Devices/Graphics/EDID/Inject=true but nothing happened..:(
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 20, 2018
Messages
27
Motherboard
Dell Latitude 5290 2-in1
CPU
i5 8350u
Graphics
UHD 630
try inject Clover detected EDID with an empty EDID in Devices/Properties/PciRoot(0)/Pci(0x02,0) and just config.plist/Devices/Graphics/EDID/Inject=true.
Wait! Something happened..
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2018
Messages
27
Motherboard
Dell Latitude 5290 2-in1
CPU
i5 8350u
Graphics
UHD 630
I typed empty data in Devices/Properties/Pci(2) AAPL02,override-no-connect and /Devices/Graphics/EDID/Inject=true with my EDID, VenderID, ProductID
then ioreg and hackin tool have built-in monitor information.
(If I type empty edid with AAPL00, and AAPL01 then DP port is affected)

However, the built-in monitor is held in framebuffer # 2(still black screen), and two DP ports are held in framebuffer #0 and #1

398917
398918
 

Attachments

Top