Contribute
Register

Dell 7559 - Bios 1.2.7 Update !

Joined
Apr 12, 2011
Messages
263
Motherboard
Probook 4540s
CPU
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-3632QM CPU @ 2.20GHz, 2201 Mhz
Graphics
AMD Raden HD 7650m
Mobile Phone
iOS,
Well I did the BIOS update to 1.2.7 amid intel critical exploit fix http://www.dell.com/support/home/us/en/19/drivers/driversdetails?driverId=9MMT4
and tried to login to mac to re-patch DSDT but whang!! The hack no longer works ! It is stuck at the first two lines of the boot something about hibernate and OsxAptioFixDrv. Even the working installation USB ain't working nor the recovery image! Tried turning off various BIOS options but still no luck.

I can't attach the files as I cannot boot from HD or USB. Though, I can access the Mac partition and EFI from Win10.

Any ideas?
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
190,977
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Well I did the BIOS update to 1.2.7 amid intel critical exploit fix http://www.dell.com/support/home/us/en/19/drivers/driversdetails?driverId=9MMT4
and tried to login to mac to re-patch DSDT but whang!! The hack no longer works ! It is stuck at the first two lines of the boot something about hibernate and OsxAptioFixDrv. Even the working installation USB ain't working nor the recovery image! Tried turning off various BIOS options but still no luck.

I can't attach the files as I cannot boot from HD or USB. Though, I can access the Mac partition and EFI from Win10.

Any ideas?
No "Problem Reporting" files attached.
Read FAQ, "Problem Reporting" again. Carefully. Attach all requested files/output.
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/faq-read-first-laptop-frequent-questions.164990/
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2015
Messages
63
Motherboard
Delll inspiron 7559-5012 UHD (clover uefi)
CPU
Core i7-6700hq
Graphics
intel HD 530, nvidia gtx 960m 3840 x 2160
Mobile Phone
Android
Well I did the BIOS update to 1.2.7 amid intel critical exploit fix http://www.dell.com/support/home/us/en/19/drivers/driversdetails?driverId=9MMT4
and tried to login to mac to re-patch DSDT but whang!! The hack no longer works ! It is stuck at the first two lines of the boot something about hibernate and OsxAptioFixDrv. Even the working installation USB ain't working nor the recovery image! Tried turning off various BIOS options but still no luck.

I can't attach the files as I cannot boot from HD or USB. Though, I can access the Mac partition and EFI from Win10.

Any ideas?
No problem after update bios to 1.2.7 system boot normally as I am using hotpatch for ACPI.
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
190,977
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
As. I mentioned, I cant even boot from usb let alone attaching files.
Must at least include verbose boot photo and EFI/Clover (from USB or SSD).
Your responsibility to determine how to get the files.
With USB, it is easy... you just plug the USB into a working computer (after pressing F2 and F4 on the target computer, and getting verbose booot photo).
With SSD/HDD Clover/EFI, you can plug the HDD/SSD into a working computer with a USB->SATA adapter.
Also, EFI is FAT32 so is accessible from Linux or Windows.

Most likely you have static patched ACPI files (eg patched files in ACPI/patched) and failed to re-extract/re-patch after the update.
 
Joined
Apr 23, 2013
Messages
138
Motherboard
Dell Insprion i7559-Clover
CPU
i7 6700HQ
Graphics
HD 530, GTX 960m, 3840x2160
Mobile Phone
iOS
Must at least include verbose boot photo and EFI/Clover (from USB or SSD).
Your responsibility to determine how to get the files.
With USB, it is easy... you just plug the USB into a working computer (after pressing F2 and F4 on the target computer, and getting verbose booot photo).
With SSD/HDD Clover/EFI, you can plug the HDD/SSD into a working computer with a USB->SATA adapter.
Also, EFI is FAT32 so is accessible from Linux or Windows.

Most likely you have static patched ACPI files (eg patched files in ACPI/patched) and failed to re-extract/re-patch after the update.
I have the same issue on the same laptop, I have attached my Clover folder and a picture of my verbose boot.
 

Attachments

Joined
Apr 23, 2013
Messages
138
Motherboard
Dell Insprion i7559-Clover
CPU
i7 6700HQ
Graphics
HD 530, GTX 960m, 3840x2160
Mobile Phone
iOS
No problem after update bios to 1.2.7 system boot normally as I am using hotpatch for ACPI.
Any chance you could upload your clover folder?
 
Last edited:

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
190,977
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
I have the same issue on the same laptop, I have attached my Clover folder and a picture of my verbose boot.
See guide:
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/guide-booting-the-os-x-installer-on-laptops-with-clover.148093/

Notes:
- CsmVideoDxe-64.efi not recommended
- OsxAptioFixDrv-64.efi recommended over OsxAptioFix2Drv-64.efi
- way too many kexts in Clover/kexts/Other (Clover/kexts is only for essential kexts)
- kexts in Clover/kexts/Other are not up-to-date
- weird duplicates with __ prefix
- remove patched ACPI (because SystemMemory addresses do not match, patched incorrectly anyway):
Code:
u430:patched Admin$ diff ../origin/ ../patched/ |grep SystemMemory
<     OperationRegion (GNVS, SystemMemory, 0x77ACD000, 0x05F6)
>     OperationRegion (GNVS, SystemMemory, 0x77C0D000, 0x05F6)
<     OperationRegion (DGNA, SystemMemory, 0x77ABB018, 0x103D)
>     OperationRegion (DGNA, SystemMemory, 0x77BFB018, 0x103D)
<                 OperationRegion (CPSB, SystemMemory, 0x771F3F18, 0x10)
>                 OperationRegion (CPSB, SystemMemory, 0x7733DF18, 0x10)
<         OperationRegion (DRSA, SystemMemory, 0x77AD1F18, 0x0003)
>         OperationRegion (DRSA, SystemMemory, 0x77C11F18, 0x03)
- see ACPI patching guide: https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/guide-patching-laptop-dsdt-ssdts.152573/
(don't place SSDTs that require no patches in ACPI/patched, use DropOem=false, AutoMerge=true)
 
Joined
Aug 20, 2012
Messages
165
Motherboard
Dell 0H87XC / Intel HM170
CPU
i7 - 6700hq
Graphics
HD 530, GTX 960m (1080p display)
Mobile Phone
Android
Same problem here. My configuration worked on several BIOS versions untill now (1.2.7). After installing this one I can't boot to OsX even when I roll back to older BIOS.
After triing to boot for the first time I got just the famous 2 lines.
Then I set BIOS to factory defaults and set all the necessary adjustments as usuall.
Now I got this lines in verbose mode and then it reboots.
Any progress on this issue?
 

Attachments

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
190,977
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Same problem here. My configuration worked on several BIOS versions untill now (1.2.7). After installing this one I can't boot to OsX even when I roll back to older BIOS.
After triing to boot for the first time I got just the famous 2 lines.
Then I set BIOS to factory defaults and set all the necessary adjustments as usuall.
Now I got this lines in verbose mode and then it reboots.
Any progress on this issue?
"Problem Reporting" files are incomplete.
Read FAQ, "Problem Reporting" again. Carefully. Attach all requested files/output.
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/faq-read-first-laptop-frequent-questions.164990/
 
Top