Contribute
Register

Davinci Resolve and my Hackintosh

Joined
Aug 13, 2014
Messages
116
Motherboard
Asus Sabertooth x79
CPU
Intel i7 4930k
Graphics
GTX 780 3GB
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
[SOLVED] Davinci Resolve and my Hackintosh

Hi everyone!
When I decided to build a Hackintosh, one of the primary functions of the build was that it had to run Final Cut Pro and DaVinci Resolve. Everything initially looked very promising with my GTX 780. On the first launch of DaVinci, it rendered things about 10-15 times faster than my iMac :headbang: HOWEVER...after I did a reboot (this would be the first reboot after the drivers install reboot) DaVinci gave me the following error on start:Davinci Problem.jpg


So obviously I had the right drivers before the restart...but something disappeared?

My system: ASUS Sabertooth x79, intel i7 4930k, GTX 780

I'd appreciate anyones help or input. Thanks much.
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2014
Messages
116
Motherboard
Asus Sabertooth x79
CPU
Intel i7 4930k
Graphics
GTX 780 3GB
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
I'm gonna bump this because I bet its an easy fix. haha
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2014
Messages
116
Motherboard
Asus Sabertooth x79
CPU
Intel i7 4930k
Graphics
GTX 780 3GB
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Bump Bump. Anyone have any ideas? I also tried the Nvidia web drivers but they bricked my hack for some reason.
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2014
Messages
116
Motherboard
Asus Sabertooth x79
CPU
Intel i7 4930k
Graphics
GTX 780 3GB
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi, i'm not a big helper, because i'm not very tech. But I can say that i'm using Resolve on my gtx 660 ti without problems! It should work. Your problem actually looks wierd. Did you try reainstalling Cuda drivers? http://www.nvidia.com/object/macosx-cuda-6.5.18-driver.html
Well you may be more helpful than you think haha. No I did not! I do not know how, but thats an excellent idea sir.

EDIT: more specifically, how do you properly do that on a hackintosh? :lol:
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2014
Messages
116
Motherboard
Asus Sabertooth x79
CPU
Intel i7 4930k
Graphics
GTX 780 3GB
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Just download and install the drivers I mentioned in a link like on a regular Mac ! ;)
Soweet, I will try this after work and let you know. Thanks much! If you don't mind subscribing to this thread, I may have more questions for you since you have DaVinci all up and running.
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2014
Messages
116
Motherboard
Asus Sabertooth x79
CPU
Intel i7 4930k
Graphics
GTX 780 3GB
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Just download and install the drivers I mentioned in a link like on a regular Mac ! ;)
Thank you so much wailjdii! That seems to have done the trick. Not only solving the issue, but huge images now pop up instantaneously and I've never experienced that before o_O

Problem SOLVED! :thumbup:

PS : now I feel really dumb :D
 
Top