Graphics
ATI
Mac
  1. 0
Classic Mac
  1. 0
Mobile Phone
  1. 0
This is my first time piecing a system together in a number of years (previous computer until recently was a Macbook Pro). I'm encouraged by all the successful build messages I find in the forums and I'd like to throw together a new system. I was waiting for the Mac Pro refresh, but lacking a refresh I think I'd like to give a shot at putting together my own system, rather than wait and see (I may need a computer soon).

The most stressful thing I'll be doing with the system is using Lightroom 3 and Photoshop CS4 (CS5 after I get a system back up and running); lots of photo processing and photo editing. No interest in games, minimal video editing. It would be nice if I could set it up as a home entertainment center as well, maybe with a TV tuner card in it at a later date. I might dual or triple boot on a separate drive (Ubuntu and/or Windows 7)

I'm not interested in overclocking at this time. I would like to build a fast, stable system that I can continue to build on in the future. I don't mind paying a little extra for USB3 and the faster SATA even if they aren't recognized or used by OS X at this time.

Here's what I was thinking:

I saw the following on Newegg:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/ComboBundleDetails.aspx?ItemList=Combo.418963

I know the prices might not be the cheapest, but I'm more concerned with the hardware choices. I included some comments/ideas/thoughts/questions that I had in hopes that some might have first hand experience and could help me out. I still have some more research to do

Case: Cooler Master RC-932-KKN1-GP :$139.98 http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811119160
I like the idea of the multiple fans in the case. I'm not concerned with looks so much as functionality (though I would cram it in a Mac Pro case if I could :) )

Motherboard: GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R :$209.99 http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128423