Contribute
Register

Cube Switch Modding

Joined
May 27, 2010
Messages
2,423
Motherboard
Zotac Z77-ITX
CPU
i5-2500K
Graphics
HD 3000 + GTX 660
Mac
MacBook Air
Classic Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
Other
Joined
Apr 8, 2017
Messages
80
Motherboard
Asus Q170T
CPU
Intel Core i7-6700T
Graphics
HD 530
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac
There's always a way. For instance you can use the input voltage from your main power source to generate a 5v always on supply using a step down DC voltage board. Maybe something like this: https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/DC-4V-38V-to-1-25V-36V-2A-Step-Down-Power-Supply-Regulator-24V-12V-9V-5V-UK/122572089413?epid=806469670&hash=item1c89dda845:g:GqEAAOSwVpVbIBvw:rk:6:pf:0 -
Hi and thanks for your reply! The problem I am having is grounding the sensor. I can't seem to find a way to ground it. I have been trying to ground it to various pins on the motherboard but the sensor just continually enters a reboot loop. I have a +5VSB pin on my motherboard so it is not a problem to get power to the switch.

I've attached a pinout view of my motherboard if you can see anyway for me to properly ground the cube shell please let me know as I would love to have a working original cube switch.

Untitled.png

Best regards,
RGW
 
Joined
May 27, 2010
Messages
2,423
Motherboard
Zotac Z77-ITX
CPU
i5-2500K
Graphics
HD 3000 + GTX 660
Mac
MacBook Air
Classic Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
Other
Hi and thanks for your reply! The problem I am having is grounding the sensor. I can't seem to find a way to ground it. I have been trying to ground it to various pins on the motherboard but the sensor just continually enters a reboot loop. I have a +5VSB pin on my motherboard so it is not a problem to get power to the switch.

I've attached a pinout view of my motherboard if you can see anyway for me to properly ground the cube shell please let me know as I would love to have a working original cube switch.

View attachment 370857
Best regards,
RGW
Could it be that you simply need to reverse your motherboard switch connection? Remember the polarity of the switch is also something that can cause the restart loop.

Grounding can just be to any 0volt connection - e.g. to the black wire of a USB connector
 
Joined
Apr 8, 2017
Messages
80
Motherboard
Asus Q170T
CPU
Intel Core i7-6700T
Graphics
HD 530
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Could it be that you simply need to reverse your motherboard switch connection? Remember the polarity of the switch is also something that can cause the restart loop.
Boot loops in both polarities. Connected the correct way according to the pinouts I get the LED shinning brightly and boot looping. The reverse polarity gives a very dim LED and a very odd sounding boot loop.
 
Joined
May 27, 2010
Messages
2,423
Motherboard
Zotac Z77-ITX
CPU
i5-2500K
Graphics
HD 3000 + GTX 660
Mac
MacBook Air
Classic Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
Other
Hmmm, if you followed the guide exactly then my guess is you might have a bad touch sensor board. :(
 
Joined
Apr 8, 2017
Messages
80
Motherboard
Asus Q170T
CPU
Intel Core i7-6700T
Graphics
HD 530
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Hmmm, if you followed the guide exactly then my guess is you might have a bad touch sensor board. :(
I'll give it a go using some different motherboard pins. I hadn't tried the USB ground pin. Hopefully it's not a bad sensor board..
 
Joined
Mar 8, 2011
Messages
103
Motherboard
G5 Hackintosh EP35-ds3p Mountain Lion
CPU
C2duo
Graphics
9600gt
Mac
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Mobile Phone
Android, Other
I'll give it a go using some different motherboard pins. I hadn't tried the USB ground pin. Hopefully it's not a bad sensor board..
I did have some problems with mainly when plugging devices into USB sockets the machine would just shut down, I found I needed to isolate (Insulate) the mainboard completely from the chassis.
 
Joined
Feb 8, 2013
Messages
82
Motherboard
GA-H270N-Wifi
CPU
i7-7700K
Graphics
GTX 1070
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
Do you use a PICO PSU? If you do just solder a wire to the Motherboard connector. Her's Mini Hacks tutorial that I used to do mine. https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/cube-switch-modding.43924/
I have the same problem but I don't quite understand what people mean when they say "wire X to Z on the motherboard" or when they say "wire X to the ATX power pins". Like he says here. What am I supposed to do there? Splice up the cable somehow and divert it?

If I have a AT42QT1010, a AT42QT1012 or one of these, how would I go about it? With little soldering experience and no experience with switchboards?
 
Top