Contribute
Register

Cube Switch Modding

neilhart

Moderator
Joined
May 25, 2010
Messages
2,731
Motherboard
ASRock Fatal1ty Z270 Gaming - ITX/ac
CPU
Intel i7-7700T (TDP: 35W)
Graphics
Gigabyte GTX960 2GB, ITX
Mac
MacBook, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS

neilhart

Moderator
Joined
May 25, 2010
Messages
2,731
Motherboard
ASRock Fatal1ty Z270 Gaming - ITX/ac
CPU
Intel i7-7700T (TDP: 35W)
Graphics
Gigabyte GTX960 2GB, ITX
Mac
MacBook, MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Yeah. I found one of these just perusing my local Microcenter...

http://osepp.com/products/sensors-arduino-compatible/touch-sensor/

Kids these days have everything. When I was young, wiring up touch sensors was akin to black magic. Now these little hobby breakouts are everywhere. :thumbup:
Well the problem with this touch sensor is that you also need a Arduino board to run the required code. The Adafruit touch sensors that I recommend are standalone and do not need an external microcontroller.

Good mooding,
neil
 
Joined
Apr 1, 2012
Messages
18
Motherboard
Mavericks 10.9.1
CPU
I3 3225
Graphics
HD 4000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Android
Hello

im trying to use the original sensor switch but the pictures of the begining of the post are not working

im just searching the pin out of the original switch board

can i have help please

thank you
 
Joined
May 27, 2010
Messages
2,423
Motherboard
Zotac Z77-ITX
CPU
i5-2500K
Graphics
HD 3000 + GTX 660
Mac
MacBook Air
Classic Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
Other
Hello

im trying to use the original sensor switch but the pictures of the begining of the post are not working

im just searching the pin out of the original switch board

can i have help please

thank you
Sorry about the pic.s - I used imageshack for my pic.s a while ago until they started charging. I will take a look through my pi.cs on my MBA and update as soon as I get the chance.

Okay - done now!
 
Joined
Apr 8, 2017
Messages
78
Motherboard
Asus Q170T
CPU
Intel Core i7-6700T
Graphics
HD 530
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Hi there. I realise this is a really old thread but I am trying to get an original cube touch sensor to work. I'm not so electronic savvy but I'm doing my best. I have it hooked up to the 5v+ and the power +/- on my motherboard but it restart loops. With the power switches one way the led shines brightly. The other way the led flashes dimly.

I have tried grounding the touch sensor by attaching a wire from one of the screws but it doesn't seem to do anything. I don't have a molex plug to ground the wire so I don't know another way to do it.

Any advice on how to get it working? I'd love to have this sensor working as part of my original mod.

Cheers
RGW
 
Joined
Mar 8, 2011
Messages
103
Motherboard
G5 Hackintosh EP35-ds3p Mountain Lion
CPU
C2duo
Graphics
9600gt
Mac
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Mobile Phone
Android, Other
Hi there. I realise this is a really old thread but I am trying to get an original cube touch sensor to work. I'm not so electronic savvy but I'm doing my best. I have it hooked up to the 5v+ and the power +/- on my motherboard but it restart loops. With the power switches one way the led shines brightly. The other way the led flashes dimly.

I have tried grounding the touch sensor by attaching a wire from one of the screws but it doesn't seem to do anything. I don't have a molex plug to ground the wire so I don't know another way to do it.

Any advice on how to get it working? I'd love to have this sensor working as part of my original mod.

Cheers
RGW
Here is the link to my build which I have now running on Mohave but I am going to go backwards to Sierra because of the age of the components, but I have still got the touch sensor working with no issues at all, You will note I used the Purple 5 volt standby wire from the power connector. https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/g4-cube-with-z77n-wifi-i3-3225.89235/
 
Joined
Apr 8, 2017
Messages
78
Motherboard
Asus Q170T
CPU
Intel Core i7-6700T
Graphics
HD 530
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Here is the link to my build which I have now running on Mohave but I am going to go backwards to Sierra because of the age of the components, but I have still got the touch sensor working with no issues at all, You will note I used the Purple 5 volt standby wire from the power connector. https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/g4-cube-with-z77n-wifi-i3-3225.89235/
Thanks for your reply. My motherboard has a +5VSB pin I just can't figure out how to properly ground the Cube case so the touch sensor doesn't do the restart loop. The power supply I use is an external laptop brick so I can't use that to ground it. Anyone know another way I could ground the case?
 
Joined
Mar 8, 2011
Messages
103
Motherboard
G5 Hackintosh EP35-ds3p Mountain Lion
CPU
C2duo
Graphics
9600gt
Mac
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Mobile Phone
Android, Other
Thanks for your reply. My motherboard has a +5VSB pin I just can't figure out how to properly ground the Cube case so the touch sensor doesn't do the restart loop. The power supply I use is an external laptop brick so I can't use that to ground it. Anyone know another way I could ground the case?
Do you use a PICO PSU? If you do just solder a wire to the Motherboard connector. Her's Mini Hacks tutorial that I used to do mine. https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/cube-switch-modding.43924/
 
Top