Contribute
Register

Create a "Fusion Drive" on your CustoMac

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Feb 23, 2011
Messages
2
Motherboard
P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
CPU
3.4GHz i7 2600K
Graphics
XFIRE XFX 6870
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Joined
Nov 3, 2011
Messages
25
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z77-DS3H
CPU
i5-3570K
Graphics
HD 4000
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Clover isn't necessary at all. I just finished setting up a Fusion drive that boots with Chimera. The steps are essentially the same as the RAID-0 guide found here: http://www.tonymacx86.com/lion-desktop-guides/32724-lion-10-7-2-raid-0-tonymacx86-tools-chimera.html
except instead of creating a RAID partition, you substitute the steps in post 1 of this thread to create a CoreStorage logical volume group and partition. Chimera's boot0, boot1h, and boot files are manually installed into the hidden diskXs3 "Boot OS X" partition on both drives, along with /Extra. The UUID of the Fusion volume goes in the kernel flags in org.chameleon.Boot.plist.

I haven't done any testing, the only thing I have on the drive is a fresh install of 10.8.2, which I cloned from another drive. Of course a fresh install fits entirely on the SSD, so it's blazing fast.
 
Joined
Jul 9, 2011
Messages
213
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UD5H
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
Sapphire Radeon Pulse RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Basically I think this whole "Fusion Thing" is 90% marketing and maybe 10% of an advantage for the user. But in my book you are better of with one SSD and one HDD.

It's like the iMac, or any other "all-in-one" computer. If the monitor break, your computer is useless too, if your computer break, you can't use your monitor. And with fusion HDD you are in the same boat, if one of the disks gets faulty, all your data is in big danger.

But of course this is how I see it, your mileage may vary

I love the idea of the Fusion drive on a hackintosh. I've had 500+GB drives on my MacBook Pro for some time now and have been steadily filling out the capacity of a 1TB 5400rpm drive on it of late. When setting up my Hac Pro one of my primary concerns was deciding what information I needed to cut out in order to make use of my 256GB SSD. The Fusion drive would eliminate this and I could just migrate my accounts as-is. For me, the question is, why not? I already have a couple extra 2TB 3.5" HDDs in addition to the one I'm using as my archive/media drive and also a 3TB USB 3.0 external drive for Time Machine/CCC backups. So, basically, why not merge the 2TB drive I'm already using for media with the SSD and use the other drives to back up the Fusion drive?
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2012
Messages
479
Motherboard
Asus Z490 Prime A
CPU
i9-10900K
Graphics
RX 6800 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Clover isn't necessary at all. I just finished setting up a Fusion drive that boots with Chimera. The steps are essentially the same as the RAID-0 guide found here: http://www.tonymacx86.com/lion-desktop-guides/32724-lion-10-7-2-raid-0-tonymacx86-tools-chimera.html
except instead of creating a RAID partition, you substitute the steps in post 1 of this thread to create a CoreStorage logical volume group and partition. Chimera's boot0, boot1h, and boot files are manually installed into the hidden diskXs3 "Boot OS X" partition on both drives, along with /Extra. The UUID of the Fusion volume goes in the kernel flags in org.chameleon.Boot.plist.

Thanks for the explanation WB ... :thumbup:


but I'd just like to know : Chimera bootloader is compulsory even when there is a mobo with UEFI bios and I'm not using any DSDT?:confused: :rolleyes:
 
Joined
Sep 8, 2010
Messages
1
Motherboard
Mountain Lion 10.8.2
CPU
3.0 GHz Intel Core i7
Graphics
GeForce GTS 250 1024 MB
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
The_WB thank you very much!
After spending several days trying to run my Fusion Drive with the method of Clover, and without getting any results ... I finally reply has paved the way and got a perfect performance.
I now enjoy a much better speed and the system behaves very well.
Thanks ...
Sorry for my English ....
 

tonymacx86

Administrator
Staff member
Joined
Nov 18, 2009
Messages
8,568
Motherboard
PRIME Z490-A
CPU
i5 10600K
Graphics
Vega 56
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Classic Mac
  1. Apple
  2. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Clover isn't necessary at all. I just finished setting up a Fusion drive that boots with Chimera. The steps are essentially the same as the RAID-0 guide found here: http://www.tonymacx86.com/lion-desktop-guides/32724-lion-10-7-2-raid-0-tonymacx86-tools-chimera.html
except instead of creating a RAID partition, you substitute the steps in post 1 of this thread to create a CoreStorage logical volume group and partition. Chimera's boot0, boot1h, and boot files are manually installed into the hidden diskXs3 "Boot OS X" partition on both drives, along with /Extra. The UUID of the Fusion volume goes in the kernel flags in org.chameleon.Boot.plist.

I haven't done any testing, the only thing I have on the drive is a fresh install of 10.8.2, which I cloned from another drive. Of course a fresh install fits entirely on the SSD, so it's blazing fast.

:thumbup::thumbup:

Thanks for testing and posting your results!
 
Joined
Dec 11, 2010
Messages
35
Motherboard
GA-Z87M-D3H
CPU
Intel i5 4670K
Graphics
Built in Intel
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Lisa
  2. Plus
  3. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I'm definatley going to do this on my Macbook pro 13" mid 2010. Not sure about my Hacintosh. I'm currently running a 60 gb ssd for apps and a 1 tb hd for files. Suggestions on a good ssd for the Macbook pro?
 
Joined
Nov 10, 2012
Messages
10
Motherboard
GIGABYTE GA-Z77X-UP5-TH
CPU
Intel Core i7-3770K
Graphics
NVIDIA 660 Ti
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I followed the guide and ended up not being able to boot. UniBeast sees two drives, plus the USB. When I try to boot to either it won't. Pulling the USB stick leaves me with "Reboot and Select proper Boot device"

I suppose I need to so some more hacking and use Clover? It almost seems like the OS 'forgot' that I created an Fusion LV.

Any ideas? :banghead:

Hrm.
 
Joined
Jul 26, 2012
Messages
248
Motherboard
Z270 GAMING K3
CPU
I7-7700K
Graphics
AMD RADEON RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
:thumbup::thumbup:

Thanks for testing and posting your results!

it works well thank you :headbang::headbang::clap::clap:

was more dual boot windows from disk is installed or mountain lion
must press F12 for me to choose the hard drive that contains Windows in that it starts

(The UUID of the Fusion volume goes in the kernel flags in org.chameleon.Boot.plist)
must use the UUID LOGICAL VOLUME F0105C89-21AA XXXXXXXXXXX
IN the kernel flags in org.chameleon.Boot.plist
 

Attachments

  • macgpic_1351874380_converted_optim.jpg
    macgpic_1351874380_converted_optim.jpg
    79.6 KB · Views: 439
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top