Contribute
Register

Cosmetics - System Information ?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Sep 8, 2019
Messages
3
Motherboard
Z10PE
CPU
2x E5-1620
Graphics
GTX 1080
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Hi,

I'm a motion designer and I've been working with a few strong hack builds for 3D compositing. I have a client coming to my office to work with his artist on one of my machines. Main units are in an air conditioned server room, having only monitors, USB and sound going to the working office.

My question is, with a standard user account set up for him to work on, are there any ways for him to know that he is using a hack build and not a real Mac? I know he is a bit tech and might snoop around.

Assuming I've got cosmetics set up correctly for the "about this mac" window, and the "/Library" folders locked to hide kexts.
I'm using MacPro 5.1 system definition.

Thanks!
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
21,334
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I know he is a bit tech and might snoop around.
If he were to mount the EFI partition (not sure why he would) that's where you'd see most of the hack related files. I wouldn't worry about it. You could possibly put all of your hackintosh apps and files (not on the EFI) into a password protected folder.
 
Joined
Sep 8, 2019
Messages
3
Motherboard
Z10PE
CPU
2x E5-1620
Graphics
GTX 1080
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
If he were to mount the EFI partition (not sure why he would) that's where you'd see most of the hack related files. I wouldn't worry about it. You could possibly put all of your hackintosh apps and files (not on the EFI) into a password protected folder.

Thanks for the quick response!

Beside the build itself, all the softwares are legit so nothing to hide there.
Yep, I thought of the EFI partition, but he has terminal blocked with standard user account. And I don't think he can launch an app like "EFI mounter" without admin permission. I don't know any other ways there would be to mount it.

If anyone else thinks of anything that might help, please let me know! ;)
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
17,812
Motherboard
Asus Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Vega 56 (Bios flashed to 64)
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. Power Mac
  3. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Thanks for the quick response!

Beside the build itself, all the softwares are legit so nothing to hide there.
Yep, I thought of the EFI partition, but he has terminal blocked with standard user account. And I don't think he can launch an app like "EFI mounter" without admin permission. I don't know any other ways there would be to mount it.

If anyone else thinks of anything that might help, please let me know! ;)

I think that System Information > PCI may look a bit different from a real MacPro5,1.

Also, System Information > Ethernet Cards may show a NICs that are not used on real MacPro5,1s.
 

Gigamaxx

Moderator
Joined
May 15, 2016
Messages
6,572
Motherboard
GIGABYTE X470 Arous Gaming 7 WiFi
CPU
Ryzen R9 3900X
Graphics
RX 480
Mac
  1. iMac
Thanks for the quick response!

Beside the build itself, all the softwares are legit so nothing to hide there.
Yep, I thought of the EFI partition, but he has terminal blocked with standard user account. And I don't think he can launch an app like "EFI mounter" without admin permission. I don't know any other ways there would be to mount it.

If anyone else thinks of anything that might help, please let me know! ;)

Startup and shut down will show clover bootloader screen. Nothing you can really do about that though.
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
21,334
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Nothing you can really do about that though.
Set the timeout to 0. Have it booted to the desktop before he starts using it. Probably other ways too.
 

Gigamaxx

Moderator
Joined
May 15, 2016
Messages
6,572
Motherboard
GIGABYTE X470 Arous Gaming 7 WiFi
CPU
Ryzen R9 3900X
Graphics
RX 480
Mac
  1. iMac
Set the timeout to 0. Have it booted to the desktop before he starts using it. Probably other ways too.

Yes there is a fix for apfs for the shutdown so it doesn't show the script. But if they do a shut down and startup that is where they would see hack activity, unless addressed.
Chances are they won't bother with anything other than their work though as time is money.
 
Joined
Sep 8, 2019
Messages
3
Motherboard
Z10PE
CPU
2x E5-1620
Graphics
GTX 1080
Mac
  1. Mac Pro
Thanks for your awnsers everyone!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top