Contribute
Register

Cosmetics - System Information ?

Joined
Sep 8, 2019
Messages
3
Motherboard
Z10PE
CPU
2x E5-1620
Graphics
GTX 1080
Mac
Mac Pro
Hi,

I'm a motion designer and I've been working with a few strong hack builds for 3D compositing. I have a client coming to my office to work with his artist on one of my machines. Main units are in an air conditioned server room, having only monitors, USB and sound going to the working office.

My question is, with a standard user account set up for him to work on, are there any ways for him to know that he is using a hack build and not a real Mac? I know he is a bit tech and might snoop around.

Assuming I've got cosmetics set up correctly for the "about this mac" window, and the "/Library" folders locked to hide kexts.
I'm using MacPro 5.1 system definition.

Thanks!
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
14,154
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
I know he is a bit tech and might snoop around.
If he were to mount the EFI partition (not sure why he would) that's where you'd see most of the hack related files. I wouldn't worry about it. You could possibly put all of your hackintosh apps and files (not on the EFI) into a password protected folder.
 
Joined
Sep 8, 2019
Messages
3
Motherboard
Z10PE
CPU
2x E5-1620
Graphics
GTX 1080
Mac
Mac Pro
If he were to mount the EFI partition (not sure why he would) that's where you'd see most of the hack related files. I wouldn't worry about it. You could possibly put all of your hackintosh apps and files (not on the EFI) into a password protected folder.
Thanks for the quick response!

Beside the build itself, all the softwares are legit so nothing to hide there.
Yep, I thought of the EFI partition, but he has terminal blocked with standard user account. And I don't think he can launch an app like "EFI mounter" without admin permission. I don't know any other ways there would be to mount it.

If anyone else thinks of anything that might help, please let me know! ;)
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
10,329
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Thanks for the quick response!

Beside the build itself, all the softwares are legit so nothing to hide there.
Yep, I thought of the EFI partition, but he has terminal blocked with standard user account. And I don't think he can launch an app like "EFI mounter" without admin permission. I don't know any other ways there would be to mount it.

If anyone else thinks of anything that might help, please let me know! ;)
I think that System Information > PCI may look a bit different from a real MacPro5,1.

Also, System Information > Ethernet Cards may show a NICs that are not used on real MacPro5,1s.
 
Joined
May 15, 2016
Messages
4,645
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z170M D3H
CPU
i5-6500
Graphics
RX 480
Mac
iMac
Thanks for the quick response!

Beside the build itself, all the softwares are legit so nothing to hide there.
Yep, I thought of the EFI partition, but he has terminal blocked with standard user account. And I don't think he can launch an app like "EFI mounter" without admin permission. I don't know any other ways there would be to mount it.

If anyone else thinks of anything that might help, please let me know! ;)
Startup and shut down will show clover bootloader screen. Nothing you can really do about that though.
 

trs96

Moderator
Joined
Jul 31, 2012
Messages
14,154
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
HD4600 / RX 570
Mac
iMac, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
Android
Nothing you can really do about that though.
Set the timeout to 0. Have it booted to the desktop before he starts using it. Probably other ways too.
 
Joined
May 15, 2016
Messages
4,645
Motherboard
GIGABYTE Z170M D3H
CPU
i5-6500
Graphics
RX 480
Mac
iMac
Set the timeout to 0. Have it booted to the desktop before he starts using it. Probably other ways too.
Yes there is a fix for apfs for the shutdown so it doesn't show the script. But if they do a shut down and startup that is where they would see hack activity, unless addressed.
Chances are they won't bother with anything other than their work though as time is money.
 
Joined
Sep 8, 2019
Messages
3
Motherboard
Z10PE
CPU
2x E5-1620
Graphics
GTX 1080
Mac
Mac Pro
Thanks for your awnsers everyone!
 

Top