Contribute
Register

Continuous screen glitching - High Sierra, CoffeeLake

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Mar 1, 2018
Messages
49
Motherboard
ASUS ROG STRIX Z370-E Gaming
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
UHD 630 & RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
First time builder, as well as poster here so any help would be very much appreciated.

My Build (the important parts):

Motherboard: Asus Rog Strix Z370-E Gaming
Processor: Intel 8th Gen i7-8700k (Coffee Lake)
Wifi Card: BCM94352Z NGFF M.2 (For handoff, continuity, etc)

BIOS Settings:
  1. Exit → Load Optimized Defaults : Yes
  2. Advanced \ CPU Configuration → Intel Virtualizaiton Technology: Enabled
  3. Advanced \ System Agent (SA) Configuration → Vt-d: Disabled
  4. Advanced \ PCH Configuration → IOAPIC 24-119 Entries: Enabled
  5. Advanced \ Onboard Devices Configuration → RGB LED Lighting → When system is in sleep, hibernate or soft off states: OFF
  6. Advanced \ AMP Configuration → Power On By PCI-E/PCI
  7. Advanced \ Network Stack Configuration → Network Stack: Disabled
  8. Advanced \ USB Configuration -> Legacy USB Support: Auto
  9. Boot → Fast Boot : Disabled
  10. Boot → Secure Boot → OS Type : Other OS
My problem is that every so often the screen completely spazzes out and continuously glitches. Its kind of hard to explain so I took a video. That video is here: https://imgur.com/a/QR7dO

Also I haven't purchased a graphics card so im using the internal intel graphics (Intel UHD Graphics 630 1536 MB).

Does anyone have any experience with this?

Also worth mentioning is that it doesn't happen at any particular time. It has happened right after restarting the machine and also maybe 20 minutes into use. Not sure what may be triggering it since I'm not doing anything graphics intensive.

Thanks again!
 

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
25,197
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p700
CPU
2 X Xeon E5-2620 V3
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
The Rules said:
Profiles need to contain at least your primary system to assist others with helping you
 

UtterDisbelief

Moderator
Joined
Feb 13, 2012
Messages
6,585
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490i Aorus Ultra - OC 0.6.8
CPU
i5-10600K
Graphics
GT710 - 1920x1080
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. eMac
  2. iBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
It's difficult to tell what is happening in your video but it's very odd indeed! :crazy:

1) maybe you could explain your installation and what you did? For example I guess you installed the IntelGraphicsFixup.kext in your EFI/CLOVER/kexts/Other folder, along with Lilu.kext?

2) which version of macOS are you using and what system definition?

You seem to have installed a lot of software, judging by your desktop. Is there anything running in the background that we should know about? I've never seen that round-cornered translucent window effect before. Do you have some kind of task-switcher or window organiser running? I notice no dock is visible.

:)
 
Joined
Mar 1, 2018
Messages
49
Motherboard
ASUS ROG STRIX Z370-E Gaming
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
UHD 630 & RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
It's difficult to tell what is happening in your video but it's very odd indeed! :crazy:

1) maybe you could explain your installation and what you did? For example I guess you installed the IntelGraphicsFixup.kext in your EFI/CLOVER/kexts/Other folder, along with Lilu.kext?

2) which version of macOS are you using and what system definition?

You seem to have installed a lot of software, judging by your desktop. Is there anything running in the background that we should know about? I've never seen that round-cornered translucent window effect before. Do you have some kind of task-switcher or window organiser running? I notice no dock is visible.

:)

Sure no problem. So far it hasn't happened again since I tweaked the DVMT in the BIOS to 128MB. So maybe that change helped but I'll still post my information as maybe there is another underlying problem.

1. My installation process was creating an install USB with UniBeast and installing via Clover. For the most part all I really did was follow the normal installation process using Clover, making sure to use the BIOS settings that I mentioned. Just about everything worked right away except for the 3rd party wifi card that I installed which I got working with RehabMan's Broadcom kexts. I also do have IntelGraphicsFixup.kext and Lilu.kext.

2. My macOS version is 10.3.3 and the system definition is iMac 18,3.

The only background software that I have constantly running is BetterTouchTool, Alfred, HWMonitor, and Dropbox. The translucent window that you saw in the video was BetterTouchTool's included window snapping functionality but the screen was obviously glitching at the time of the attempted window snap.

Some other info: I am using a 4k display over displayport directly from the motherboard's interface. This may have contributed to the problem as well but not sure. Either way it hasnt happened again....yet. That being said I would still appreciate any input just in case the glitching does decide to happen again before I get myself a dedicated GPU. Let me know if there's any other information you would like. Thanks!!
 

UtterDisbelief

Moderator
Joined
Feb 13, 2012
Messages
6,585
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490i Aorus Ultra - OC 0.6.8
CPU
i5-10600K
Graphics
GT710 - 1920x1080
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. eMac
  2. iBook
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Sure no problem. So far it hasn't happened again since I tweaked the DVMT in the BIOS to 128MB. So maybe that change helped but I'll still post my information as maybe there is another underlying problem.

1. My installation process was creating an install USB with UniBeast and installing via Clover. For the most part all I really did was follow the normal installation process using Clover, making sure to use the BIOS settings that I mentioned. Just about everything worked right away except for the 3rd party wifi card that I installed which I got working with RehabMan's Broadcom kexts. I also do have IntelGraphicsFixup.kext and Lilu.kext.

2. My macOS version is 10.3.3 and the system definition is iMac 18,3.

The only background software that I have constantly running is BetterTouchTool, Alfred, HWMonitor, and Dropbox. The translucent window that you saw in the video was BetterTouchTool's included window snapping functionality but the screen was obviously glitching at the time of the attempted window snap.

Some other info: I am using a 4k display over displayport directly from the motherboard's interface. This may have contributed to the problem as well but not sure. Either way it hasnt happened again....yet. That being said I would still appreciate any input just in case the glitching does decide to happen again before I get myself a dedicated GPU. Let me know if there's any other information you would like. Thanks!!

Hi there.

That's great. Yes, you seem to have installed using all the standard - working - methods. And thanks, yes, I wondered about that translucent window! Now I know it's BetterTouchTool, all is understood.

I suspect the core of this problem is indeed the 4k via UHD630. For example here is a similar (by description) problem with input from @RehabMan (always worth taking notice of). Post #25 of that thread is probably the right direction. More searching should add more 'depth' to the solution, for example here is a good place to pick up tips. Though I can't see if the poster was using HDMI or DP.

:)
 
Joined
Mar 1, 2018
Messages
49
Motherboard
ASUS ROG STRIX Z370-E Gaming
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
UHD 630 & RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi there.

That's great. Yes, you seem to have installed using all the standard - working - methods. And thanks, yes, I wondered about that translucent window! Now I know it's BetterTouchTool, all is understood.

I suspect the core of this problem is indeed the 4k via UHD630. For example here is a similar (by description) problem with input from @RehabMan (always worth taking notice of). Post #25 of that thread is probably the right direction. More searching should add more 'depth' to the solution, for example here is a good place to pick up tips. Though I can't see if the poster was using HDMI or DP.

:)
Those are great! Thanks!
 
Joined
Mar 1, 2018
Messages
49
Motherboard
ASUS ROG STRIX Z370-E Gaming
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
UHD 630 & RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I have the same symptoms — but using 2560x1440 via HDMI and the UHD630 with i5-8400
Check your DVMT Pre-Allocated in your BIOS. I fiddled with mine and I eventually got the glitching to stop by leaving it on 128M
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top