Contribute
Register

Confirmed Audio Interfaces (Hobbyist/Pro-sumer/Pro) & Drivers - Mac OS X

Joined
Mar 31, 2016
Messages
95
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro
Would like to add the the following: - Universal Audio Apollo x8p works via thunderbolt 3 - Antelope Orion 32HD works via USB 3.0 and 2.0.
@NoiseCoalition could you share with us which generation Orion device you're connecting? I've heard of serious difficulties using these interfaces over USB on Hackintosh.
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2011
Messages
146
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
@NoiseCoalition could you share with us which generation Orion device you're connecting? I've heard of serious difficulties using these interfaces over USB on Hackintosh.
I have the Orion 32HD. The purple one, not the latest gen. To be honest I mainly use it with a RME HDSPE Card via MADI. But in my short time testing it out via USB, I could record, monitor, and use the routing software. So I haven't done any heavy production via USB.
 
Joined
Mar 31, 2016
Messages
95
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro
Thanks for your reply, @NoiseCoalition
I have the Orion 32HD. The purple one, not the latest gen. To be honest I mainly use it with a RME HDSPE Card via MADI. But in my short time testing it out via USB, I could record, monitor, and use the routing software. So I haven't done any heavy production via USB.
Currently I'm using a Digi96 io through an HD Native PCIe card. It's very stable with Pro Tools but the old 96i/o doesn't sound great, and I have a terrible time using the Avid Core Audio driver in Ableton. I don't think that problem is Hackintosh-specific as I've seen many users with the same issues on the Avid DUC.

So I'm looking to upgrade. I know the MADI interface is supposed to be rock-solid but they cost a fortune and after laying out for a good converter set I won't have any budget left for that.

Have you have any trouble with the mixer losing its connection? My understanding is the Orion still has to be connected via USB to manage the internal mixer/routing regardless of what interface you're streaming audio through. An engineer on a local forum had this to say:

Orion32 HD on native MacOS using USB3 is reliable, no issues. On Windows or Hackintosh, it's a different story, it keeps loosing the connection with the Mixer software, sound goes trough with no issues, but the mixer becomes unusable after a few hours of inactivity, only way to resolve is to completely Kill the Antelope Services, cycle OFF / ON the Card, then relaunch the Mixer software.

Bare in mind, the Mixer software is controlled via USB. So regardless if you use HDX connection, MADI or USB3 on Windows, the mixer software Will crap out on you.. constantly. (When in Windows or running it on Hackintosh)

Tested on various motherboards..HP Xeon based motherboards (HP entreprise server), gaming motherboard (gigabyte ga-z170x ultra), as well as asus, toshiba and lenovo laptops..all of which suffered from the same issue with the usb3 and the mixer software running Hackintosh. The Orion32 HD.does not.play nice on Windoze nor Hackintosh.

Running a packet sniffer, I was able to determine the root cause of the USB connection issues with the Mixer. In a nutshell, the Mixer software talks with the Hardware via a USP network connection, and the network sockets on the Hardware ends up freezing somehow, port never gets freed, and instead of allocating a different port dynamically, the IP Stack on the Hardware just stops responding. This is why the only way to fix the issue is to Cycle the Card OFF and ON, the issue is also with the Mixer software itself.. it also freezes.. Cycling the Hardware alone (without killing the process on the computer) does not fix the issue.. you need to do both. Oddly, on MacOS.. no issues, which is uber strange.

Other than that, clocking is supreme, dynamic range is on point, and most of the FPGA's are supreme (didn't compared with UAD DSP's, however, I can tell you that the Antelope FPGA's are good enough for me.)

You are limited in the amount of instances of certain FPGA's which can run simultaneously, when you reach the limit, the FPGA Plugin either dissapears from the list or becomes greyed out (I don't remember which of the two.. i'm too lazy to test).

Good news, in 2019, Antelope's been pushing more updates for the Orion32 HD than any other years since it's production, yet, They have never been able to fix the Windows Issues which is a shame.

Mixer software is really nice, routing options galore. My only complain is that it doesn't have any AES IO's, while the Goliath HD does have AES, it Lacks Analog IO's which is why for me, the Orion 32 HD is king. I hear that the Gen 3 is dope aswell, but, FPGA's aren't included, you need to purchase them separately as opposed to the O.G Orion 32 HD which comes stock with all kinds of FPGA Plugins.

There you have it. If you are on Native MacOS (Like running MacOS on a legit apple desktop or laptop), Go for it. You made a reference to Core Audio in your post, so I guess you are running MacOS.. you shouldn't have any issues (I've had no issues whatsoever running it on my Macbook Air)

If you are running windows or MacOS on a Hackintosh.. the Mixer bugs will **** you off the the fullest at one point or another. On the Audio Side, My friend did some tests comparing the USB3 Audio vs MADI, and he did notice a considerable Improvement running Audio trough MADI.. so make yourself a favor, if you get it, or the Gen3, consider a Madi PCI Card to run audio trough it, as long as you get a quality MADI Card with it, you will be in a better position to really hear how good the Orion32 HD (or Gen3) sounds.

Sounds like you haven't had these problems.
 
Joined
Aug 5, 2011
Messages
146
Motherboard
Gigabyte Designare Z390
CPU
i9-9900K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
Have you have any trouble with the mixer losing its connection? My understanding is the Orion still has to be connected via USB to manage the internal mixer/routing regardless of what interface you're streaming audio through. An engineer on a local forum had this to say:

Orion32 HD on native MacOS using USB3 is reliable, no issues. On Windows or Hackintosh, it's a different story, it keeps loosing the connection with the Mixer software, sound goes trough with no issues, but the mixer becomes unusable after a few hours of inactivity, only way to resolve is to completely Kill the Antelope Services, cycle OFF / ON the Card, then relaunch the Mixer software.

Bare in mind, the Mixer software is controlled via USB. So regardless if you use HDX connection, MADI or USB3 on Windows, the mixer software Will crap out on you.. constantly. (When in Windows or running it on Hackintosh)

Tested on various motherboards..HP Xeon based motherboards (HP entreprise server), gaming motherboard (gigabyte ga-z170x ultra), as well as asus, toshiba and lenovo laptops..all of which suffered from the same issue with the usb3 and the mixer software running Hackintosh. The Orion32 HD.does not.play nice on Windoze nor Hackintosh.

Running a packet sniffer, I was able to determine the root cause of the USB connection issues with the Mixer. In a nutshell, the Mixer software talks with the Hardware via a USP network connection, and the network sockets on the Hardware ends up freezing somehow, port never gets freed, and instead of allocating a different port dynamically, the IP Stack on the Hardware just stops responding. This is why the only way to fix the issue is to Cycle the Card OFF and ON, the issue is also with the Mixer software itself.. it also freezes.. Cycling the Hardware alone (without killing the process on the computer) does not fix the issue.. you need to do both. Oddly, on MacOS.. no issues, which is uber strange.

Other than that, clocking is supreme, dynamic range is on point, and most of the FPGA's are supreme (didn't compared with UAD DSP's, however, I can tell you that the Antelope FPGA's are good enough for me.)

You are limited in the amount of instances of certain FPGA's which can run simultaneously, when you reach the limit, the FPGA Plugin either dissapears from the list or becomes greyed out (I don't remember which of the two.. i'm too lazy to test).

Good news, in 2019, Antelope's been pushing more updates for the Orion32 HD than any other years since it's production, yet, They have never been able to fix the Windows Issues which is a shame.

Mixer software is really nice, routing options galore. My only complain is that it doesn't have any AES IO's, while the Goliath HD does have AES, it Lacks Analog IO's which is why for me, the Orion 32 HD is king. I hear that the Gen 3 is dope aswell, but, FPGA's aren't included, you need to purchase them separately as opposed to the O.G Orion 32 HD which comes stock with all kinds of FPGA Plugins.

There you have it. If you are on Native MacOS (Like running MacOS on a legit apple desktop or laptop), Go for it. You made a reference to Core Audio in your post, so I guess you are running MacOS.. you shouldn't have any issues (I've had no issues whatsoever running it on my Macbook Air)

If you are running windows or MacOS on a Hackintosh.. the Mixer bugs will **** you off the the fullest at one point or another. On the Audio Side, My friend did some tests comparing the USB3 Audio vs MADI, and he did notice a considerable Improvement running Audio trough MADI.. so make yourself a favor, if you get it, or the Gen3, consider a Madi PCI Card to run audio trough it, as long as you get a quality MADI Card with it, you will be in a better position to really hear how good the Orion32 HD (or Gen3) sounds.

Sounds like you haven't had these problems.
Honestly after I set my routing, I started opening the mixer / routing software less and less and even started leaving the USB cable unplugged. Routing was basically set and forget. I use RME's Total Mix software to handle monitoring. I think Antelope's software, especially the mixer, is very clunky and unintuitive. Hardware sounds great though.

That said, I don't recall the Routing / Mixer software disconnecting randomly. I'll keep the software open for the next few days. It's not a true test since I use the Orion through the RME Madi Card and not USB but maybe will give us more insight into the USB stability if it the routing software randomly disconnects.
 
Joined
Mar 31, 2016
Messages
95
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro
Honestly after I set my routing, I started opening the mixer / routing software less and less and even started leaving the USB cable unplugged. Routing was basically set and forget. I use RME's Total Mix software to handle monitoring. I think Antelope's software, especially the mixer, is very clunky and unintuitive. Hardware sounds great though.

That said, I don't recall the Routing / Mixer software disconnecting randomly. I'll keep the software open for the next few days. It's not a true test since I use the Orion through the RME Madi Card and not USB but maybe will give us more insight into the USB stability if it the routing software randomly disconnects.
I appreciate it, @NoiseCoalition.

Actually, my local music/gear store was kind enough to loan me a unit for a week to test it out so I'll report back on my experience with HDN and USB.

I'm also looking at the Aurora(n) with thunderbolt or USB option card. Sadly they're special order only so there's no option to rent or borrow one.

EDIT: For anyone interested, I'll be going into more detail here: https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/antelope-orion-32hd-gen2-experiences.281988/#post-1992851
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 15, 2019
Messages
1
Motherboard
Z170x
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
HD 530
Mac
iMac
Hello, I'm looking for a sound card, eventl PCI RME?

I use 10.14.6

I need min, 8 outputs more are better (16), which is the right one sound card for my Hackintosh?

i use Clover
i have this components
Motherboard Z170x
CPU i7-6700K Graphics HD 530
Bildschirmfoto 2019-09-15 um 18.19.56.png


Thanks for some Tipps

Short story, I'm new to Hackintosh. I bought a WIN10 / Mojave computer.

Yesterday:
In the beginning, only sound was onboard. He only recognized mouse and keyboard.

After some time, we have set 6 USB 2.0 and 1 USB 3 with Hacintool.

He has also recognized midi controller but no sound card, or the interface what I wanted to use is a Behringer Xenyx UFX1604 USB Firewire mixer.

The was not recognized, with different cables went through all ports.
I cant use it :(

I thought about reselling the computer.

But I also own a MPC Live with software.

Then I came up with the idea as I'm told in the MPC manual (always use it as an interface)

I start the MPC software, and connected the MPC in controller mode.

Software says reinstal and instal new.

After I did that:
tada
Bildschirmfoto 2019-09-15 um 11.36.28.png


Bildschirmfoto 2019-09-15 um 11.36.48.png




Edit:1
Plz. Update List: MPC Live, Behringer xenyx ufx1604 USB
Bildschirmfoto 2019-09-15 um 22.52.43.png
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 11, 2013
Messages
65
Motherboard
Asus X299 Prime Deluxe
CPU
i9 9960X
Graphics
MSI AMD Radeon VII 16 GB GDDR5
Mac
iMac, MacBook, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iMac, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Hello guys.
Im have read the most part of the post about thunderbolt and Antelope Audio interfaces.

I have the Antelope Zen Tour and works via USB but not Thunderbolt.

My thunderbolt seems to be corrected installed working with UAD, HDs etc..

i have tested 3 other Antelope interfaces (Orion , Discrete,....) and just the same error in the boot time.


First of all, did you know at this point if any Antelope Inteface works via Thunderbolt in Hackintosh?

I attach here

I have mounted maybe more than 20 hacks this past 6 years, all kind of ways, laptops, AIO , desktop...
with TH1-TH2, TH3.... With the Asus TH3 Ex Pcie, With the Gigabyte Alpine Ridge, Gigabyte Titan Ridge....

Any ways...
All the Uads from me and my friends works out of the box.
Antelope nop. I have tried calling and chatting with the Antelope team and they don't understand that they are loosing clients and money . and would be easier for all of us if their team gets a hand in these....

Do you think that UAD don't know about Hackintosh users??? jajaja
im totally sure that they allowed us to use their interfaces... because their wants to sell , not to kiss apple backs xD


what do you think about guys ?

its there any way that us fix that "connection" error?

thanks to all.

regards
 

Attachments

Joined
Mar 31, 2016
Messages
95
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro
Hello guys.
Im have read the most part of the post about thunderbolt and Antelope Audio interfaces.

I have the Antelope Zen Tour and works via USB but not Thunderbolt.

My thunderbolt seems to be corrected installed working with UAD, HDs etc..

i have tested 3 other Antelope interfaces (Orion , Discrete,....) and just the same error in the boot time.


First of all, did you know at this point if any Antelope Inteface works via Thunderbolt in Hackintosh?

I attach here

I have mounted maybe more than 20 hacks this past 6 years, all kind of ways, laptops, AIO , desktop...
with TH1-TH2, TH3.... With the Asus TH3 Ex Pcie, With the Gigabyte Alpine Ridge, Gigabyte Titan Ridge....

Any ways...
All the Uads from me and my friends works out of the box.
Antelope nop. I have tried calling and chatting with the Antelope team and they don't understand that they are loosing clients and money . and would be easier for all of us if their team gets a hand in these....

Do you think that UAD don't know about Hackintosh users??? jajaja
im totally sure that they allowed us to use their interfaces... because their wants to sell , not to kiss apple backs xD


what do you think about guys ?

its there any way that us fix that "connection" error?

thanks to all.

regards
The Antelope thunderbolt devices rely on so called 'local node' mode and that's a nut the community has yet to crack. If you want manufacturer support, use with a supported system.
 
Joined
Oct 11, 2013
Messages
65
Motherboard
Asus X299 Prime Deluxe
CPU
i9 9960X
Graphics
MSI AMD Radeon VII 16 GB GDDR5
Mac
iMac, MacBook, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iMac, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
The Antelope thunderbolt devices rely on so called 'local node' mode and that's a nut the community has yet to crack. If you want manufacturer support, use with a supported system.
So, there isnt any way to get it working??
I know what are you trying to say, but maybe we could try make it work :( no?
 
Joined
Mar 31, 2016
Messages
95
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z97X-UD3H-BK
CPU
i5-4690K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Pro
So, there isnt any way to get it working?? I know what are you trying to say, but maybe we could try make it work :( no?
So, there isnt any way to get it working?? I know what are you trying to say, but maybe we could try make it work :( no?
It may happen, but don't count on it happening soon. Unless you want to devote the time? I expect you have other work to do. So do I, which is why I went with an interface that works out of the box.

If you want to use an Antelope your best bet is a DigiLink or MADI connection.
 
Top