Contribute
Register

Computer won't boot into macOS, but works fine in windows

Joined
Mar 13, 2016
Messages
39
Motherboard
GA-B75M-D3H
CPU
Intel Core i7 2600
Graphics
EVGA GeForce GTX 960 2GB SSC GAMING ACX 2.0+
Still not working i enabled csrutil enable reboot; and check terminal the command didn’t take as if changes aren’t saving i went through the official google fix with no success where the screens will go black then restart machine then back to business as usual with this problem
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
14,008
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS

Attachments

Joined
Nov 6, 2017
Messages
58
Motherboard
Asus Strix Z270G
CPU
i7-7700
Graphics
RX 580
Please try this EFI.

The Cuda.kext is a signed kext and should go to /Library/Extensions/.
Mate, I'm sure you can hear the sigh of relief as it's working like a charm. I can't thank you enough for helping me out as I have so much going on this week and worst timing for a crash, as it is for most. Thanks again and if I can repay the favour, let me know.
Cheers Jamie
 
Joined
Apr 5, 2019
Messages
2
Motherboard
GA-Z97-D3H
CPU
i7-4790K @4.00Ghz
Graphics
GeForce GTX 970
solution:


Boot into Single User mode
mount -uw /
rm -fr /var (I'd prefer: mv /var /var-bak )
ln -s /private/var .
chflags -h -v restricted,hidden,uchg var
reboot
This worked for me. Thank you so much!
 
Joined
Jun 18, 2018
Messages
15
Motherboard
Q77
CPU
i7-3770
Graphics
RX-480 8GB
I can boot into my macOS SSD by using an external HDD that I set up with a Unibeast High Sierra installer. I boot into the external HDD, then I use the clover bootloader on the HDD to boot into my macOS volume, and everything works great! However, when I type "mount -uw /" it says operation not permitted.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2014
Messages
121
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z270E
CPU
i7 7700K
Graphics
Asus Strix GeForce GTX 1080 Ti
Mac
iMac, MacBook, MacBook Air, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
I can boot into my macOS SSD by using an external HDD that I set up with a Unibeast High Sierra installer. I boot into the external HDD, then I use the clover bootloader on the HDD to boot into my macOS volume, and everything works great! However, when I type "mount -uw /" it says operation not permitted.
I'm having the same problem, I think it's a lack of permissions somewhere. Let me know if you figure it out!
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2011
Messages
192
Motherboard
GA-Z170MX Gaming 5
CPU
Intel Core i7-6700
Graphics
EVGA GTX 970
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
eMac, iMac, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Google are now advising to reinstall macOS... is this ok with a Hacky through the recovery partition? (I couldn't get this to work, failed upon checking system with apple).

Even after applying the Terminal commands I get very glitchy graphics and am asked to verify all kinds of things with an admin user/pass (none of which are accepted).

UPDATE: After one reboot I was back to square one and the terminal commands had zero effect, until I checked the directory and saw the var folder was missing, so ran the commands to recreate and got back in. Still had major graphics issues now though (colours inverting/flashing), so I installed switchresx and changed colours to millions instead of billions (or vice versa, can't remember) and now seems fixed.
 
Last edited:

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
14,008
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 M Gaming
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
I have a similar problem. The sound does not work.
Can You help me? I attach my EFI.
Your config.plist is blank. There are no configs.

You need to find out what audio codec your motherboard uses and inject the correct audio id to your config.plist. You can check the AppleALC Supported Codecs to find what value you should inject.

Screen Shot 2019-09-29 at 5.32.19 PM.png
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2017
Messages
4
Motherboard
Asus Z87M-PLUS
CPU
i5 4460
Graphics
HD4600
Your config.plist is blank. There are no configs.

You need to find out what audio codec your motherboard uses and inject the correct audio id to your config.plist. You can check the AppleALC Supported Codecs to find what value you should inject.

View attachment 428051
My config.plist is blank!
I don't know what happened. All data has disappeared. SMBIOS is empty. Everything was and suddenly disappeared.
I don't understand why the 10.14.6 works but only without sound?
I don't know what to do. I'm going crazy.
 
Top