980x
Graphics
r9 290x + 6850
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
So just for s***s and giggles I thought I'd see if there was any significant difference between OSX vs Win for my GTX-770. Turns out there is a sizable performance difference. I'd love it if some serious techy could explain why. I know the 2 systems handle graphics differently and Win is Using DirectX11 and OSX is using OpenGL. But when it comes to what's happening inside the card I have little to no knowledge and would love to gain it. Both tests are on the same system, both booting from SSD. 4K screen running over DP.

Stats:
windows 1440p
score 891
min fps 15.9
max fps 79.3

OSX 1440p
score 641
min fps 6.7
max fps 64.8

windows 1080p
score 1579
min fps 17.7
max fps 133.9

OSX 1080p
score 1020
min fps 6.7
max fps 103.2

1440p difference 250 = 39%

1080p difference 559 = 55%

OSX GTX-770 bench 1080p Unique heaven 4.jpgOSX GTX-770 bench 1440p Unique heaven.jpgWin10 GTX-770 bench 1080p.jpgWin10 GTX-770 bench 1440p.jpg

Interesting stuff rabbit74.

But I would offer a word of caution. These Unigine benchmarks are kind of odd and misleading, especially on the the Mac.

I got caught up in the whole M290X vs M295X back in November when I got my 5k iMac and where there's a pretty typical 20% or so difference between the two in FPS across a range of games, the Unigine Valley benchmark rated them as just about the same. So, on the Mac it's a strange and unconvincing benchmark IMHO.

I agree with you. I never put much stock in benchmark numbers. But in this instance I was just really surprised to see such a wide spread.