Contribute
Register

Solved > Colour banding issue on 4K display

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
9,615
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
Is that related to the driver of RX 580? Those don’t happen at all on Windows.
Yes, it tells macOS which driver to use.
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2015
Messages
106
Motherboard
Z370 AORUS Gaming 3
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
RX 580
Mobile Phone
iOS
@pastrychef I think I have found the reason why macOS cannot detect the HDMI signal after booting. ResXtreme shows that all Retina options are duplicated, only for HDMI.

416408


If I double-click on the other but same option, the image will remain the same but I will not need to replug the HDMI cable anymore. If I choose the original option back later, the signal will immediately stop.
 
Last edited:

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
9,615
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
@pastrychef I think I have found the reason why macOS cannot detect the HDMI signal after booting. ResXtreme shows that all options are duplicated, only for HDMI.

View attachment 416408

If I double-click on the other but same option, the image will remain the same but I will not need to replug the HDMI cable anymore. If I choose the original option back later, the signal will immediately stop.
Does it stick after reboots?
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2015
Messages
106
Motherboard
Z370 AORUS Gaming 3
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
RX 580
Mobile Phone
iOS
@pastrychef I think I said it too early. I noticed that texts become a bit blurry with that option. Maybe the only steps I can do are toggling to the blurry option before restarting/turning off, and toggling back after restarting/turning on.
 

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
9,615
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
@pastrychef I think I said it too early. I noticed that texts become a bit blurry with that option. Maybe the only steps I can do are toggling to the blurry option before restarting/turning off, and toggling back after restarting/turning on.
Did you try disabling font smoothing?
Screen Shot 2019-07-15 at 3.27.27 PM.png
 
Joined
Oct 10, 2015
Messages
106
Motherboard
Z370 AORUS Gaming 3
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
RX 580
Mobile Phone
iOS
@pastrychef I am glad to say that I resolved the DisplayPort colour banding issue and confirmed the results by observing the interface in Dark Mode carefully, including sidebars and Launchpad. After multiple restarts, colour banding still no longer happens.

The steps are incredibly simple without any technical skill.
  • Open Hackintool
  • (If it is on macOS Catalina or later, switch to the Tools tab and press Disable Gatekeeper and mount the disk in read/write mode)
  • Switch to the Display tab and just export without changing anything
  • As Hackintool has generated 3 files and 1 folder to Desktop, just drag the folder DisplayVendorID-xxxx to /System/Library/Displays/Contents/Resources/Overrides
  • Restart
If the results remain fine after one week, I will mark this topic as Solved.
 
Last edited:

pastrychef

Moderator
Joined
May 29, 2013
Messages
9,615
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (Wi-Fi AC)
CPU
i9-9900K OC'd @ 5.0GHz
Graphics
Radeon VII
Mac
MacBook, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
iBook, Power Mac, PowerBook
Mobile Phone
iOS
@pastrychef I am glad to say that I resolved the DisplayPort colour banding issue and confirmed the results by observing the interface in Dark Mode carefully, including sidebars and Launchpad. After multiple restarts, colour banding still no longer happens.

The steps are incredibly simple without any technical skill.
  • Open Hackintool
  • (If it is on macOS Catalina or later, switch to the Tools tab and press Disable Gatekeeper and mount the disk in read/write mode)
  • Switch to the Display tab and just export without changing anything
  • As Hackintool has generated 3 files and 1 folder to Desktop, just drag the folder DisplayVendorID-xxxx to /System/Library/Displays/Contents/Resources/Overrides
  • Restart
If the results remain fine after one week, I will mark this topic as Solved.
Wow! Awesome work! Thanks!!
 
Top