Contribute
Register

Coffee Lake - i7 8700K + ASUS PRIME Z370-A attempt

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Nov 25, 2017
Messages
5
Motherboard
Asus Prime Z370-A
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
Pro WX 5100
Does this Motherboard support Thunderbolt3 Expansion Card .... Can you try it and let us know ?

According to the specs the board supports TB3. There's a header on the mobo for this. Unfortunately I don't have an expansion card handy to test whether this works with macOS. To be honest, this capability is not really that important to me so it will likely be a long time before I ever attempt to make this work. Perhaps there's somebody else on this thread who's attempted to get this working...
 
Joined
Nov 22, 2017
Messages
11
Motherboard
Asus Prime Z370-A
CPU
Intel Core i5 8600k
Graphics
MSI GeForce GTX 1050 Gaming X 2G
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
The latest Multibeast update solved my problem with the GPU.
I now have the hackintosh apparently fully functional with my build, and with dual-channel RAM working. Cheers
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2017
Messages
14
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
For those playing with memory here, I have what I think is a similar issue: If I hard-code the DIMM information in the SMBIOS section to include all 4 DIMMs, the machine boots and APPEARS to detect all the sticks. However, I am not convinced it really works, as at some point the machine will crash. If I only have 32 GB installed in slots 0 and 2 (numbered from the CPU) everything is fine.

I fear that setting the DIMMS manually makes the OS think they are there, but they really are not configured.

This is with a slightly different motherboard, but the problem seems identical.
 
Joined
Dec 29, 2017
Messages
35
Motherboard
ASUS Prime Z370-A
CPU
i7 8700K
Graphics
VEGA 64 + UHD 630
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
According to the specs the board supports TB3. There's a header on the mobo for this. Unfortunately I don't have an expansion card handy to test whether this works with macOS. To be honest, this capability is not really that important to me so it will likely be a long time before I ever attempt to make this work. Perhaps there's somebody else on this thread who's attempted to get this working...

Maybe you could help me figuring this out together? I have the Mobo and the TBEX3 card but can't even get it to work under Windows 10. I have a dual boot with Win 10/OSX 10.13.2 and set up Windows first to install the TB drivers. After fiddling around in BIOS and setting the according PCIE slot the card won't be detected even by Windows. The ASUS support is lame, according to my google searches. While the drivers are set up the problem must be BIOS or hardware related...

[UPDATE] I managed to set up the TBEX3 in Windows and everything is working as it should. I have a daisy chain connection to my LG UHD monitor and through a Blackmagic UltraStudio Mini Monitor to an video editing screen. Unfortunately I struggle with the setup of my Nvidia GPU in the CustoMac and can't boot into OSX right now. [/UPDATE]


Thanks by the way for your great informations about this build. My first CustoMac is up and running on a basic level because of you all.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 29, 2017
Messages
35
Motherboard
ASUS Prime Z370-A
CPU
i7 8700K
Graphics
VEGA 64 + UHD 630
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Could someone elaborate on getting a NVIDIA card to work, please? I followed a guide from another platform but I end in a boot loop. I have a ASUS Dual GTX 1060 OC 6GB Gaming.

I researched all your config files and don't know what else to do.

- In Clover Configurator I set:

Boot: nv_disable=1 -> unchecked
Graphics: Inject Intel -> unchecked
System Parameters: Inject NvidiaWeb -> checked

RT Variables: CsrActivateConfig set to 0x00 (SIP enabled)

- EmuVariableUefi-64.efi is installed to the drivers section of EFI

- Lilu.kext and NvidiaGraphicsFixup.kext are in place and latest versions

- Set the GPU in BIOS manually

I end in a boot loop at: IOConsoleUsers: time (0) 0->0, lin 0, llk 1,
IOConsoleUsers: gIOScreenLockState 2, hs 0, bs 0, now 0, sm 0x0


Any ideas are highly appreciated.
 
Joined
Dec 29, 2017
Messages
35
Motherboard
ASUS Prime Z370-A
CPU
i7 8700K
Graphics
VEGA 64 + UHD 630
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Thank you BreBo. This fixed my problem!

Now that I'm back in the GUI I can confirm, that Thunderbolt 3 works under High Sierra! :headbang:

I have installed all the drivers for the ThunderboltEx 3 PCI card in my Windows 10 distribution. Back in OSX TB is set up properly. Right now I'm looking at my monitor connected through TB and my Blackmagic MiniMonitor works also. Under System Report no thunderbolt drivers and devices are listed, by the way. It works anyway, and that's the point. Screenshot attached:

Thunderbolt 3 on Hackintosh.jpeg
 
Joined
Jan 22, 2018
Messages
6
Motherboard
ASUS Prime Z370-A
CPU
8th gen i5-8600K
Graphics
GeForce 1050 Ti
I finally have everything working, including audio. I stubbed my toe multiple times but I was able I resolve most of the gotchas.

Here are my lessons learned:
  • The memory MUST be configured as single channel or it won't work. I believe this has to do with the fact that the default UniBeast profile is for an iMac, which only have 2 memory slots.
  • High Sierra has native support for NVMe M.2 devices, but the macOS disk utility will not recognize the device if it is the only SSD in the system. You'll need to plug in a spare SATA device to initialize the volume. Once this is done, you can remove the SATA device and macOS will find the volume for the OS install.
  • My card was an EVGA Geforce GTX 1060. There was absolutely NO way I could make it through the original install unless the card was completely removed from the system. Once the initial install was done, I was able to install the Nvidia web drivers and boot up with the GPU installed. An even then, the only way the card would work was with the NvidiaSingle option enabled in Clover.
  • Things went much more smoothly after I updated to the latest version of Clover.
  • The UniBeast installer seems to be a bit out of date for a Coffee Lake install. Many options and settings are not optimized. For example, iMac18,3 should be used for SMBIOS profile and many helpful DSDT patches are missing.
  • There are some posts on a different Hackintosh web site specifically related to Coffee Lake and installing Nvidia drivers on High Sierra that I found to be very helpful in figuring out why I was having so many issues.
  • Although not completely needed, I generated CPU stepping profiles for Coffee Lake following an SSDT guide

My suggestion for anyone installing on this Mobo with an Nvidia card and/or M.2 drive is to do their homework before diving in. Apparently AMD cards are supported out of the box on High Sierra, but I wanted to go with an Nvidia Pascal card so I could use CUDA drivers for some development work I'm doing.

I can also share my EFI if anyone is interested.

Good luck to all!

P.S. My apologies for the lack of proper hyperlinks - the editor didn't allow me to embed links in my post.

Heyo! I'm apparently stumbling into the same issues on my build! I am, also, utilizing an m.2 SSD but I do have now-old system's SSD handy to put in there. I'd love for some help if you could offer any, EFI stuff and any BIOS settings I'm not doing correctly. Guess I also have to juggle the RAM around as I guess I probably have it in dual-channel mode too.

:V Man, I certainly got into a heap-o-trouble attempting a hackintosh with these parts, eh?
 
Joined
Jan 22, 2018
Messages
6
Motherboard
ASUS Prime Z370-A
CPU
8th gen i5-8600K
Graphics
GeForce 1050 Ti
Heyo! I'm apparently stumbling into the same issues on my build! I am, also, utilizing an m.2 SSD but I do have now-old system's SSD handy to put in there. I'd love for some help if you could offer any, EFI stuff and any BIOS settings I'm not doing correctly. Guess I also have to juggle the RAM around as I guess I probably have it in dual-channel mode too.

:V Man, I certainly got into a heap-o-trouble attempting a hackintosh with these parts, eh?

Whelp, I really ought to not post before I -read and try more things-

Install of OSX successful! *confetti!* ... Buuuuuut I still haven't put back in my 2nd 8gb RAM stick to see if it'll recognize both, and it won't recognize my m.2 SSD...I might not be doing the BIOS for it right?
 
Joined
Dec 29, 2017
Messages
35
Motherboard
ASUS Prime Z370-A
CPU
i7 8700K
Graphics
VEGA 64 + UHD 630
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I might not be doing the BIOS for it right?

Make sure you read Postings # 15 & 25 of this thread! RAM should not cause any problem this way.

Installing a m.2 NVM worked flawless, AFTER using any other SSD/HDD first and cloning OSx to the m.2. For me no particular BIOS Settings were involved, but Clover configurations for RAM and boot device.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top