Contribute
Register

Clover won't autoboot even though timeout is 0

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
May 8, 2011
Messages
45
Motherboard
ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition
CPU
Intel i7-4930k
Graphics
EVGA Dual Overclocked GTX770 4GB
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hey all, I just built a rig following shilohh's golden build. Everything works flawlessly, when I initially installed, Clover would autoboot. Now though, it does not, even though timeout is set to 0 in config.plist on my EFI partition.

Any ideas why it's not autobooting? I don't want the gui displayed at all.
 
Joined
May 8, 2011
Messages
45
Motherboard
ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition
CPU
Intel i7-4930k
Graphics
EVGA Dual Overclocked GTX770 4GB
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi self,

<key>DefaultVolume</key>
<string>*Name of your boot HDD*</string>

will fix this.
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2014
Messages
175
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD5H
CPU
i7-4770K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Air
Classic Mac
  1. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I realize this was asked ages ago, but I was having the same problem and this thread was near the top of the list when searching for solutions. After some trial and error, this is what worked for me:

Mount your EFI drive, launch Clover, and load your config.plist. In Clover on the far-left column, click "Boot" (second from top) to enter the Boot menu.

1. Enter the name of your boot drive here, e.g. "My Macintosh HD"
2. Leave this blank. I had "BOOTX64.efi" here, and no changes to Timeout worked, even though they were being copied to the config.plist. When I removed it, Timeout started working. (If this is already blank and changes aren't propagating, maybe try adding "BOOTX64.efi" back?)
3. Enter the number of seconds you want Clover to pause at the boot menu. "0" (zero) should bypass the menu entirely. You can always bring the Clover boot menu up by pressing/holding any key after your BIOS splash screen.

Clover Timeout.png


Hope that helps!
 
Joined
Jul 15, 2012
Messages
116
Motherboard
ASUS Maximus VIII Ranger
CPU
I7-6700K
Graphics
GTX 960
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello everyone

I just successfully installed El Capitan 10.11.2 on my Hackintosh using Unibeast and MultiBeast with a fresh install over a Yosemite installation and now have started to finetune things.

I just realise how noob I am : I remember , since my chimera / Mountain Lion and Yosemite days , that I edited org.chameleon.boot.plist ( can't remember exactly in what directory it was found ). So my question(s) is(are). Is there any equivalent config.plist on the hard disk for a clover install? If so, what is the directory (entire path please) in which it is found? I tried spotlight to find that but to no avail.

More specifically I am trying to reduce boot time, by setting the boot timeout to zero so as to get to El Capital as fast as possible.

From past notes and previous search on Tonymac, what I did on my previosu installl was editing org.chameleon.boot.plist as follows :
Add this entry
<key>Quiet Boot</key>
<string>Yes</string>

And removed this entry

<key>Timeout</key>
<string>2</string>

I am also trying to search this site but I must be either too tired or too old or too noob or to find any answer yet (continuing my search though), so if anyone could point me to the correct direction .... Thanks !
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2016
Messages
1
astrobruin:

You really saved my Christmas by pointing me to the direction of leaving the Deafault Loader blank, to get the settings in config.plist to work.

Not very intuitive and probably not intended, but did the trick anyhow...
(Used the newest Clover version I got through cvad's boot utility. Maybe the Clover guys could check it out?)

Thank you, thank you and thank you again!

Vegard
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2014
Messages
175
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD5H
CPU
i7-4770K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. MacBook
  2. MacBook Air
Classic Mac
  1. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
astrobruin:

You really saved my Christmas by pointing me to the direction of leaving the Deafault Loader blank, to get the settings in config.plist to work.

Not very intuitive and probably not intended, but did the trick anyhow...
(Used the newest Clover version I got through cvad's boot utility. Maybe the Clover guys could check it out?)

Thank you, thank you and thank you again!

Vegard

Hooray! Glad I could help save Christmas - just like the movies! ;)

And thank you for letting us know! It not only helps reinforce good habits (taking the time to post possible solutions) but also lets others know the solution worked for others. Cheers and Happy New Year!
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2011
Messages
2
Motherboard
GA-Z270-HD3P
CPU
I7 7700K
Graphics
GTX 960
Info about Clover 4114:

With EmuVariableUefi-64 installed: No default boot volume. No auto boot. Nvidia Web Driver and Audio work on Sierra..
EmuVariableUefi-64 not installed: Default boot volume and auto boot work fine. Nvidia Web Driver and Audio fail on Sierra.

Board: Gigabyte Z270-HD3P (ALC887), CPU: i7 7700K, Graphic: NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960
 
Joined
Jan 4, 2013
Messages
128
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Ultra Gaming
CPU
i7-8700K
Graphics
MSI Radeon RX 5700XT Evoke + UHD 630
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Thats a problem with all newer boards, as native nvram store operations are not supported any more. As soon as we install EmuVariableUefi-64, it bricks Last booted Volume auto selection and timeout in seconds. :(
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top