Clover with the old guard: GA-X58A-UD3R Rev 2.0

Discussion in 'Bootloaders' started by thornomad, Oct 22, 2014.

  1. FredEx

    FredEx

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Mobo:
    Giga GA-X58A-UD3R
    CPU:
    i7 970
    Graphics:
    Apple Radeon HD 5770
    Dec 14, 2015 at 6:20 PM #131
    FredEx

    FredEx

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Mobo:
    Giga GA-X58A-UD3R
    CPU:
    i7 970
    Graphics:
    Apple Radeon HD 5770
    No USB 3 though...
     
  2. the_gael

    the_gael

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    907
    Mobo:
    GA-Z97X-UD5H-BK Rev 1.0 Bios F8
    CPU:
    Intel i7-4790k OC 5.1ghz
    Graphics:
    HD4600, GTX750TI
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    Dec 23, 2015 at 1:26 PM #132
    the_gael

    the_gael

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    907
    Mobo:
    GA-Z97X-UD5H-BK Rev 1.0 Bios F8
    CPU:
    Intel i7-4790k OC 5.1ghz
    Graphics:
    HD4600, GTX750TI
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS
    FredEx,
    Think I may go this method as well - looking at an old X58A-UD5H I used in a G5 build a while back and thinking of updating it to El Capitan for my niece.
    I have plenty of other machines I can clone from real macs and hacs.

    Could I ask which software you used for the clone?
     
  3. Going Bald

    Going Bald Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    21,641
    Mobo:
    GA-X58A-UD7 Rev.1 BIOS F7
    CPU:
    i7-920
    Graphics:
    Sapphire HD5770
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    Dec 24, 2015 at 1:53 PM #133
    Going Bald

    Going Bald Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    21,641
    Mobo:
    GA-X58A-UD7 Rev.1 BIOS F7
    CPU:
    i7-920
    Graphics:
    Sapphire HD5770
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    iMac

    Why clone when you can do a clean install? Given you have access to a Mac or PC-Mac with the latest El Capitan installer downloaded and in the Applications folder:
    1. Connect new drive via USB connector to the Mac/PC-Mac (can also open box and connect SATA)
    2. run the installer app and point it at your new drive (at the screen where it shows you a drive, select "show all drives")
    3. when installation complete, run latest MultiBeast for El Capitan and point it at the new drive
    4. mount EFI, add DSDT/SSDT if needed and you have them
    5. edit config.plist as needed.
    6. eject/disconnect drive (shutdown if connected SATA)
    7. move drive to new home and boot.
     
  4. iceage2609

    iceage2609

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Mobo:
    Os X Sierra
    CPU:
    i7 920
    Graphics:
    GTX 285 Nvidia
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Jan 12, 2016 at 1:48 PM #134
    iceage2609

    iceage2609

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Mobo:
    Os X Sierra
    CPU:
    i7 920
    Graphics:
    GTX 285 Nvidia
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Hi there,i juust want to share that i manage to boot in Os X El capitan with my Ga-x58-UD3R Rev 1.0 and ask for some advices.My Hackintosh is i7 920 1366 , GTX 285, ALC888 and 10GB Corsair DDR3.(3X2GB and 1X4GB)

    I didin't have any issues or errors during the usb clover boot, except the black screen and reboot just after the GUI screen. The fix to that was Inject Nvidia from the clover menu.After that no issue during the procedure.
    Installation was fine in HDD and booting as well.After that I mount EFI partition with clover configurator and add Nvidia -True in config.plist and reboot.No black screen this time. Flags kext-dev-mode=1 and rootless=0 ( i don't know what's the second one )

    I had 2 major issues after that, NO sound, which i manage to fix with toleda/audio_CloverALC ( don't know which AppleHDA one was right, i tried 2 or 3 of them ) and AudioID: 2 and inject in config. Now Audio works like a charm.

    The RAM is the second one which i didin't manage to solve. When i am not using Smbios info in config.plist
    <key>XMPDetection</key>
    <string>Yes</string>
    and
    <key>Trust</key>
    <true/>
    the Mac shows the correct slots (4), the first 1600Mhz, the second 1600 mhz as well and the third 800 and the fourth 400. I tried to change every possible combination but always with the same result.

    The only way to alter that was with smbios info int the config file.When i used that i got the correct 1600 MHZ at all slots but 5 !! slots in the info (i have 4 as you know).

    I am attaching my config.plist which i am sure that i have strings and keys not necessary or wrong so please help me with that.
    Sorry for the long post and for my bad english but i am not a native English speaker.

    Thanks

    <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
    <!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
    <plist version="1.0">
    <dict>
    <key>ACPI</key>
    <dict>
    <key>DSDT</key>
    <dict>
    <key>Debug</key>
    <false/>
    <key>DropOEM_DSM</key>
    <false/>
    <key>Fixes</key>
    <dict>
    <key>AddDTGP_0001</key>
    <true/>
    <key>AddHDMI_8000000</key>
    <true/>
    <key>AddIMEI_80000</key>
    <true/>
    <key>AddPNLF_1000000</key>
    <true/>
    <key>DeleteUnused_400000</key>
    <true/>
    <key>FIX_ACST_4000000</key>
    <true/>
    <key>FIX_ADP1_800000</key>
    <true/>
    <key>FIX_RTC_20000</key>
    <true/>
    <key>FIX_S3D_2000000</key>
    <true/>
    <key>FixAirport_4000</key>
    <true/>
    <key>FixDisplay_0100</key>
    <true/>
    <key>FixFirewire_0800</key>
    <true/>
    <key>FixHDA_8000</key>
    <true/>
    <key>FixHPET_0010</key>
    <true/>
    <key>FixIPIC_0040</key>
    <true/>
    <key>FixLAN_2000</key>
    <true/>
    <key>FixRegions_10000000</key>
    <true/>
    <key>FixShutdown_0004</key>
    <true/>
    <key>NewWay_80000000</key>
    <true/>
    </dict>
    <key>Name</key>
    <string>DSDT.aml</string>
    <key>ReuseFFFF</key>
    <false/>
    </dict>
    <key>DropTables</key>
    <array>
    <dict>
    <key>Signature</key>
    <string>DMAR</string>
    </dict>
    <dict>
    <key>Signature</key>
    <string>SSDT</string>
    <key>TableId</key>
    <string>Cpu0Ist</string>
    </dict>
    <dict>
    <key>Signature</key>
    <string>SSDT</string>
    <key>TableId</key>
    <string>CpuPm</string>
    </dict>
    </array>
    <key>HaltEnabler</key>
    <true/>
    <key>SSDT</key>
    <dict>
    <key>DropOem</key>
    <false/>
    <key>EnableC6</key>
    <true/>
    <key>Generate</key>
    <true/>
    </dict>
    </dict>
    <key>Boot</key>
    <dict>
    <key>Arguments</key>
    <string>kext-dev-mode=1 rootless=0</string>
    <key>CustomLogo</key>
    <false/>
    <key>Debug</key>
    <false/>
    <key>DefaultVolume</key>
    <string>Capitan</string>
    <key>Legacy</key>
    <string>PBR</string>
    <key>Secure</key>
    <false/>
    <key>Timeout</key>
    <integer>3</integer>
    <key>XMPDetection</key>
    <string>Yes</string>
    </dict>
    <key>Devices</key>
    <dict>
    <key>Audio</key>
    <dict>
    <key>Inject</key>
    <string>2</string>
    </dict>
    <key>FakeID</key>
    <dict>
    <key>ATI</key>
    <string>0x0</string>
    <key>IMEI</key>
    <string>0x0</string>
    <key>IntelGFX</key>
    <string>0x0</string>
    <key>LAN</key>
    <string>0x0</string>
    <key>NVidia</key>
    <string>0x0</string>
    <key>SATA</key>
    <string>0x0</string>
    <key>WIFI</key>
    <string>0x0</string>
    <key>XHCI</key>
    <string>0x0</string>
    </dict>
    <key>USB</key>
    <dict>
    <key>AddClockID</key>
    <true/>
    <key>FixOwnership</key>
    <true/>
    <key>Inject</key>
    <true/>
    </dict>
    </dict>
    <key>DisableDrivers</key>
    <array>
    <string>Nothing</string>
    </array>
    <key>GUI</key>
    <dict>
    <key>Hide</key>
    <array>
    <string>Windows</string>
    <string>BOOTX64.EFI</string>
    </array>
    <key>Language</key>
    <string>en:0</string>
    <key>Mouse</key>
    <dict>
    <key>DoubleClick</key>
    <integer>500</integer>
    <key>Enabled</key>
    <true/>
    <key>Mirror</key>
    <false/>
    <key>Speed</key>
    <integer>3</integer>
    </dict>
    <key>Scan</key>
    <dict>
    <key>Entries</key>
    <true/>
    <key>Legacy</key>
    <true/>
    <key>Tool</key>
    <true/>
    </dict>
    <key>Theme</key>
    <string>tonymacx86</string>
    </dict>
    <key>Graphics</key>
    <dict>
    <key>Inject</key>
    <dict>
    <key>ATI</key>
    <false/>
    <key>Intel</key>
    <true/>
    <key>NVidia</key>
    <true/>
    </dict>
    <key>NvidiaSingle</key>
    <false/>
    </dict>
    <key>KernelAndKextPatches</key>
    <dict>
    <key>AppleRTC</key>
    <true/>
    <key>AsusAICPUPM</key>
    <true/>
    <key>Debug</key>
    <false/>
    <key>KernelCpu</key>
    <false/>
    <key>KernelHaswellE</key>
    <false/>
    <key>KernelLapic</key>
    <false/>
    <key>KernelPm</key>
    <false/>
    <key>KextsToPatch</key>
    <array>
    <dict>
    <key>Comment</key>
    <string>t1-10.11-AppleHDA/Realtek ALC...</string>
    <key>Find</key>
    <data>
    gxnUEQ==
    </data>
    <key>Name</key>
    <string>AppleHDA</string>
    <key>Replace</key>
    <data>
    AAAAAA==
    </data>
    </dict>
    <dict>
    <key>Comment</key>
    <string>t1-10.9-10.11-AppleHDA/Realtek ALC888</string>
    <key>Find</key>
    <data>
    ixnUEQ==
    </data>
    <key>Name</key>
    <string>AppleHDA</string>
    <key>Replace</key>
    <data>
    iAjsEA==
    </data>
    </dict>
    <dict>
    <key>Comment</key>
    <string>External icons patch</string>
    <key>Find</key>
    <data>
    RXh0ZXJuYWw=
    </data>
    <key>Name</key>
    <string>AppleAHCIPort</string>
    <key>Replace</key>
    <data>
    SW50ZXJuYWw=
    </data>
    </dict>
    <dict>
    <key>Comment</key>
    <string>t1-AppleHDA/Resources/xml&gt;zml</string>
    <key>Find</key>
    <data>
    eG1sLnps
    </data>
    <key>Name</key>
    <string>AppleHDA</string>
    <key>Replace</key>
    <data>
    em1sLnps
    </data>
    </dict>
    </array>
    </dict>
    <key>RtVariables</key>
    <dict>
    <key>BooterConfig</key>
    <string>0x28</string>
    <key>CsrActiveConfig</key>
    <string>0x67</string>
    <key>MLB</key>
    <string>i use i messagedebug to fill this</string>
    <key>ROM</key>
    <string>i use i messagedebug to fill this</string>
    </dict>
    <key>SMBIOS</key>
    <dict>
    <key>BiosReleaseDate</key>
    <string>10/07/10</string>
    <key>BiosVendor</key>
    <string>Apple Inc.</string>
    <key>BiosVersion</key>
    <string>MP51.88Z.007F.B03.1010071432</string>
    <key>Board-ID</key>
    <string>Mac-F221BEC8</string>
    <key>BoardManufacturer</key>
    <string>Apple Inc.</string>
    <key>BoardSerialNumber</key>
    <string>SerialNumber</string>
    <key>BoardType</key>
    <integer>11</integer>
    <key>ChassisAssetTag</key>
    <string>Pro-Enclosure</string>
    <key>ChassisManufacturer</key>
    <string>Apple Inc.</string>
    <key>ChassisType</key>
    <string>06</string>
    <key>Family</key>
    <string>Mac Pro</string>
    <key>Manufacturer</key>
    <string>Apple Inc.</string>
    <key>Memory</key>
    <dict>
    <key>Channels</key>
    <integer>3</integer>
    <key>Modules</key>
    <array>
    <dict>
    <key>Frequency</key>
    <string>1600</string>
    <key>Part</key>
    <string>CMX4GX3M1A1600C11</string>
    <key>Serial</key>
    <string>000379-08475023-2</string>
    <key>Size</key>
    <string>4096</string>
    <key>Slot</key>
    <string>2</string>
    <key>Type</key>
    <string>DDR3</string>
    <key>Vendor</key>
    <string>Corsair</string>
    </dict>
    <dict>
    <key>Frequency</key>
    <string>1600</string>
    <key>Part</key>
    <string>CM3X2G1600C8</string>
    <key>Serial</key>
    <string>000379-08475023-3</string>
    <key>Size</key>
    <string>2048</string>
    <key>Slot</key>
    <string>3</string>
    <key>Type</key>
    <string>DDR3</string>
    <key>Vendor</key>
    <string>Corsair</string>
    </dict>
    <dict>
    <key>Frequency</key>
    <string>1600</string>
    <key>Part</key>
    <string>CM3X2G1600C8</string>
    <key>Serial</key>
    <string>000379-08475023-1</string>
    <key>Size</key>
    <string>2048</string>
    <key>Slot</key>
    <string>1</string>
    <key>Type</key>
    <string>DDR3</string>
    <key>Vendor</key>
    <string>Corsair</string>
    </dict>
    <dict>
    <key>Frequency</key>
    <string>1600</string>
    <key>Part</key>
    <string>CM3X2G1600C8</string>
    <key>Serial</key>
    <string>000379-08475023-4</string>
    <key>Size</key>
    <string>2048</string>
    <key>Slot</key>
    <string>4</string>
    <key>Type</key>
    <string>DDR3</string>
    <key>Vendor</key>
    <string>Corsair</string>
    </dict>
    </array>
    <key>SlotCount</key>
    <integer>4</integer>
    </dict>
    <key>ProductName</key>
    <string>MacPro5,1</string>
    <key>SerialNumber</key>
    <string>myserialnumber</string>
    <key>SmUUID</key>
    <string></string>
    <key>Trust</key>
    <true/>
    <key>Version</key>
    <string>1.0</string>
    </dict>
    <key>SystemParameters</key>
    <dict>
    <key>CustomUUID</key>
    <string></string>
    <key>InjectKexts</key>
    <string>Yes</string>
    <key>InjectSystemID</key>
    <true/>
    </dict>
    </dict>
    </plist>
     
  5. 4everAnoob

    4everAnoob

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Jan 15, 2016 at 12:12 PM #135
    4everAnoob

    4everAnoob

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    My OSX partition does not show up in clover after a good install...

    GUID parition. USB stick both GUID MBR it does not matter, does not show up.

    Please help!!!!
     
  6. Going Bald

    Going Bald Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    21,641
    Mobo:
    GA-X58A-UD7 Rev.1 BIOS F7
    CPU:
    i7-920
    Graphics:
    Sapphire HD5770
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    Jan 15, 2016 at 12:20 PM #136
    Going Bald

    Going Bald Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    21,641
    Mobo:
    GA-X58A-UD7 Rev.1 BIOS F7
    CPU:
    i7-920
    Graphics:
    Sapphire HD5770
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    Depending on how you created your USB you might have to:
    1. Boot USB ans select the install icon
    2. At completion of first install reboot to USB and select the install icon a second time
    3. At completion of second stage reboot to USB and this time select the OS X icon
    4. Set up user and get to desktop, then run MultiBeast to install Clover and FakeSMC/audio/networking kexts
     
  7. 4everAnoob

    4everAnoob

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    Jan 15, 2016 at 9:34 PM #137
    4everAnoob

    4everAnoob

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2012
    Messages:
    27
    I must install using MBR stick otherwise it won't work. Now it works fine....

    Still need a DSDT though. Or something that will provide the finishing touches.
    Audio is not working for a start. No idea about CPU management.
    I experienced one KP so far (prob CPU related). Specs of the system in the sig.
    GA-X58A-UD3R Rev 2.0 FH BIOS.
    X5670 processor.

    Also the DSDT library here is not working for me. It won't download.

    Off topic but is the HD7950 plug and play like Nvidia 6xx and 7xx ?

    Another super weird thing, my Blu Ray drive is acting up, Sony 5300 I believe.
    Oh yeah and I don't suppose the on-board USB 3.0 could be made to work? Not a problem at all if it can't would just be nice.
     
  8. jonschwartzedit4

    jonschwartzedit4

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Jan 16, 2016 at 4:11 AM #138
    jonschwartzedit4

    jonschwartzedit4

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Hi All,

    Thanks for all the great info. I thnk this my first post ever! For me, USB3 is very important as I need to move lots of video files from external drives all the time. Does anyone have a line on the USB3 kexts that work with our MB on Yosemite? It used to work for me on my multibeast yosemite then stopped working. It still shows usb3 in system profiler but transfers hang up. So now I'm trying fresh install with clover. Im able to boot, just figuring out USB3 now. Thanks!
     
  9. sofatiger51

    sofatiger51

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Mobo:
    Asus P6T Deluxe V2
    CPU:
    Intel i7
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GTX 260
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Mar 12, 2016 at 1:26 AM #139
    sofatiger51

    sofatiger51

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Mobo:
    Asus P6T Deluxe V2
    CPU:
    Intel i7
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GTX 260
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Clover easily install El Capitan & Yosemite on X58 board. I have an old computer with Asus P6X58D-E MB, Nividia GTX Gefore 460.
    I kept Yosemite but gave up by erasing the El Capitan because of serious USB issues that I cannot solve. Most of the USB solutions in any threads are for Z87 & Z97 MB. Until recently Rehabman came out with extensive and very educational solution to fixing USB that I will reinstall El Capitan with Clover to try again. As you all know X58 MB are not UEFI MB. Therefore, I installed both El Capitan & Yosemite using Clover legacy. My Yosemite is 10.10.5 and El Capitan is 10.11.3.
     
  10. pradmohanty

    pradmohanty

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    31
    Mobo:
    ASRock X99M Fatal1ty 3.1
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 6900K Broadwell-EP
    Graphics:
    EVGA Nvidia 980Ti
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS, Other
    May 4, 2016 at 5:05 AM #140
    pradmohanty

    pradmohanty

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    31
    Mobo:
    ASRock X99M Fatal1ty 3.1
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 6900K Broadwell-EP
    Graphics:
    EVGA Nvidia 980Ti
    Mac:
    MacBook Air, MacBook Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS, Other
    Specs:
    Gigabyte X58-UD5 v1 F12 Bios
    Intel Core i7 960
    Dual Nvidia (EVGA) 8800
    12 GB RAM

    I have a Gigabyte X58-UD5 v1. with F12 Bios. It was running yosemite perfectly on chimera
    I created the USB El Capitan installer 10.11.4 installer using Unibeast 6.2 with legacy mode.
    Did all the usual /EFI/Clover edits and kexts and DSDT.aml etc. Used Clover config to setup the config file.
    However, I cannot get it to boot into either Yosemite or El Capitan as each time I get a kernel panic at "cannot find driver for this platform.."

    I know this is an old board - and as far as I can tell it does not support UEFI. However, the error above, it seems is common when you are trying to install using legacy mode, and it needs to be installed in UEFI mode.

    Please help.
     

Share This Page