Clover: Frequently Asked Questions

Discussion in 'Bootloaders' started by tonymacx86, May 6, 2013.

  1. apfelwurm

    apfelwurm

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Mobo:
    GA-Z97X-UD7 TH / 32GB RAM
    CPU:
    i7 4790K
    Graphics:
    Sapphire Tri-X R9 290X
    Sep 20, 2016 at 6:35 PM #71
    apfelwurm

    apfelwurm

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Mobo:
    GA-Z97X-UD7 TH / 32GB RAM
    CPU:
    i7 4790K
    Graphics:
    Sapphire Tri-X R9 290X
    Looks like this thread never accomplished the idea of a basic F.A.Q.. but I would have one ;-)

    - how does Clover select the actual config.plist when you are choosing from several boot disks? Sometimes I have the impression that I am selecting a boot disk HD1 but the config.plist comes from HD2...? Also the default boot HD (which is activated after the countdown in the Cover GUI) seems to be random, whatever you specifiy in the config file.
     
  2. Alanhack

    Alanhack

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    Mobo:
    MSI H170A GAMING M3 SKT 1151 M
    CPU:
    INTEL I5 6500 SKYLAKE 65W 3.20
    Graphics:
    None
    Oct 24, 2016 at 8:10 PM #72
    Alanhack

    Alanhack

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    Mobo:
    MSI H170A GAMING M3 SKT 1151 M
    CPU:
    INTEL I5 6500 SKYLAKE 65W 3.20
    Graphics:
    None
    I have a working Hackintosh with clover and would like to do dual boot with Linux mint is there a guide to help with that?
    Thanks
    Alan
     
  3. Going Bald

    Going Bald Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    22,157
    Mobo:
    GA-X58A-UD7 Rev.1 BIOS F7
    CPU:
    i7-920
    Graphics:
    Sapphire HD5770
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    Oct 25, 2016 at 1:49 AM #73
    Going Bald

    Going Bald Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    22,157
    Mobo:
    GA-X58A-UD7 Rev.1 BIOS F7
    CPU:
    i7-920
    Graphics:
    Sapphire HD5770
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
  4. MrAtariMac

    MrAtariMac

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012
    Messages:
    38
    Mobo:
    ASUS P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
    CPU:
    i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Sapphire HD 6850
    Feb 10, 2017 at 5:20 PM #74
    MrAtariMac

    MrAtariMac

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012
    Messages:
    38
    Mobo:
    ASUS P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
    CPU:
    i7-2600K
    Graphics:
    Sapphire HD 6850
    Below are Clover instructions that do not work - there is no "Boot Args" option when hitting the space bar - just a list of pre-configured boot options and no place to enter enter boot flags manually.

    How to Enter/Edit Boot Flags in Clover
    To boot OS X with common alternative boot options such as Verbose Mode, Safe Mode, Single User Mode, and Without Caches, simply hit spacebar on the Clover Boot Screen.

    For testing, you can enter alternate flags at boot time as follows:

    1. At Clover Boot Screen click/highlight Options and hit Enter
    2. Highlight Boot Args: and hit Enter
    3. Move arrow keys to end of line, type desired flag, and hit Enter
    4. Press Escape to return to the initial Clover Boot Screen
     
  5. P1LGRIM

    P1LGRIM Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Messages:
    14,807
    Mobo:
    Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
    CPU:
    Intel i5-4570 3.2 GHz
    Graphics:
    Radeon RX 560 4096 MB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Feb 10, 2017 at 5:25 PM #75
    P1LGRIM

    P1LGRIM Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Messages:
    14,807
    Mobo:
    Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
    CPU:
    Intel i5-4570 3.2 GHz
    Graphics:
    Radeon RX 560 4096 MB
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    Power Mac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    1. At Clover Boot Screen click/highlight Options and hit Enter
     
  6. apfelwurm

    apfelwurm

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Mobo:
    GA-Z97X-UD7 TH / 32GB RAM
    CPU:
    i7 4790K
    Graphics:
    Sapphire Tri-X R9 290X
    Feb 28, 2018 at 1:59 PM #76
    apfelwurm

    apfelwurm

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2015
    Messages:
    18
    Mobo:
    GA-Z97X-UD7 TH / 32GB RAM
    CPU:
    i7 4790K
    Graphics:
    Sapphire Tri-X R9 290X
    In addition to this old question (never got an answer :( I also wonder about different versions of clover on different boot disks: which one is chosen? When I try for example a Sierra USB Installer Stick will the Clover version on that stick be used? I am not so sure as when I am selecting the stick from the Boot GUI Clover is of course already running - which one?
     
  7. Bob_the_Tomato

    Bob_the_Tomato

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,178
    Mobo:
    Asus Z270 Maximus IX HERO
    CPU:
    i7 7700k
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 1080 Ti FTW3
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Mar 1, 2018 at 8:43 PM #77
    Bob_the_Tomato

    Bob_the_Tomato

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,178
    Mobo:
    Asus Z270 Maximus IX HERO
    CPU:
    i7 7700k
    Graphics:
    EVGA GTX 1080 Ti FTW3
    Mac:
    Mac Pro
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    The only clover that will be used is the one on the disk the BIOS boots from... check your BIOS boot priorities.
     
  8. reset2

    reset2

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Mobo:
    GA-Z97X-UD5H
    CPU:
    i7 4790K
    Graphics:
    R9 280X Vapor-X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Apr 18, 2018 at 12:12 AM #78
    reset2

    reset2

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Mobo:
    GA-Z97X-UD5H
    CPU:
    i7 4790K
    Graphics:
    R9 280X Vapor-X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Is the last Standalone tonymacx86 Clover v2.4k r4428 suitable for High Sierra 10.13.2?
     
  9. Obvious Answer Man

    Obvious Answer Man Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,402
    Apr 18, 2018 at 12:24 AM #79
    Obvious Answer Man

    Obvious Answer Man Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,402
    Why wouldn't it?
     
  10. reset2

    reset2

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Mobo:
    GA-Z97X-UD5H
    CPU:
    i7 4790K
    Graphics:
    R9 280X Vapor-X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    Apr 18, 2018 at 12:35 AM #80
    reset2

    reset2

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2016
    Messages:
    43
    Mobo:
    GA-Z97X-UD5H
    CPU:
    i7 4790K
    Graphics:
    R9 280X Vapor-X
    Mac:
    MacBook Pro
    because installs the last apfs.ef? Or this won't affect in High Sierra 10.13.2?
     

Share This Page