Clover - Four Boot Options after High Sierra Upgrade

Discussion in 'High Sierra Desktop Support' started by thielsa, Oct 4, 2017.

  1. thielsa

    thielsa

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Messages:
    17
    Oct 4, 2017 at 2:36 AM #1
    thielsa

    thielsa

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Messages:
    17
    After many days of frustration I finally have High Sierra running on my Hackintosh. However, I now have a very strange setup in Clover when I boot up. I have gone from 2 to four boot options. In addition to my Recovery & Boot to OSX options I now have an upgrade to High Sierra and FileVault option. Has anyone else seen this? Is there a way to remove them? Any help would be appreciated.
     
    ChrisRobmacbuntu likes this.
  2. killacam7478

    killacam7478

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    168
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H Rev. 1.1
    CPU:
    Intel Ivy Bridge i5-3570K (OC'ed 4.6Ghz)
    Graphics:
    XFX Radeon R9 280X (Watercooled)
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 4, 2017 at 5:56 AM #2
    killacam7478

    killacam7478

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    168
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H Rev. 1.1
    CPU:
    Intel Ivy Bridge i5-3570K (OC'ed 4.6Ghz)
    Graphics:
    XFX Radeon R9 280X (Watercooled)
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I ran into the same thing. Reading old posts, the only way I came across is to go into the GUI section of Clover Configurator and create custom entries for your different drives, then hide the ones you mentioned. I haven't tried because I have a lot of drives and I don't want to mess anything up.
     
  3. WilliamLondon

    WilliamLondon

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2017
    Messages:
    34
    Mobo:
    Asus ROG Strix Z270G Gaming
    CPU:
    i7 7700K
    Graphics:
    HD 630
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 4, 2017 at 11:10 AM #3
    WilliamLondon

    WilliamLondon

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2017
    Messages:
    34
    Mobo:
    Asus ROG Strix Z270G Gaming
    CPU:
    i7 7700K
    Graphics:
    HD 630
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    My failed upgrade attempt produced a "Preboot Prebooter" labelled volume, couldn't for the life of me figure out what was different about that volume than the others which weren't what I expected either. After much consternation and two days of twiddling and trying to fix the situation, I simply wiped the drive and ran back to Sierra until the upgrade process improves at a later point.
     
  4. killacam7478

    killacam7478

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    168
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H Rev. 1.1
    CPU:
    Intel Ivy Bridge i5-3570K (OC'ed 4.6Ghz)
    Graphics:
    XFX Radeon R9 280X (Watercooled)
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 4, 2017 at 9:32 PM #4
    killacam7478

    killacam7478

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    168
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H Rev. 1.1
    CPU:
    Intel Ivy Bridge i5-3570K (OC'ed 4.6Ghz)
    Graphics:
    XFX Radeon R9 280X (Watercooled)
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    So I'm in a somewhat similar situation, I want to reinstall either Sierra or High Sierra. Something happened on my install where the OS tries to "verify" large movie files every time I try to open them, which can take 30 seconds or so, and it's extremely frustrating.

    If I create a bootable USB, enter into OSX and wipe my SSD, is there a way to get back everything I had? I have a time machine backup as well as a Carbon Copy Clone from prior to the High Sierra upgrade. I want a clean install, but I also don't want to have to reinstall all my applications, get my keychain working, etc., etc. How did you downgrade back to Sierra?
     
  5. xilocex

    xilocex

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Mobo:
    ASUS Maximus VI Extreme
    CPU:
    Intel® Core™ i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    2 x ASUS GTX 980 Matrix Platinum
    Mac:
    iMac
    Classic Mac:
    iMac, LC, Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS, Windows Phone
    Oct 4, 2017 at 10:53 PM #5
    xilocex

    xilocex

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Mobo:
    ASUS Maximus VI Extreme
    CPU:
    Intel® Core™ i7-4770K
    Graphics:
    2 x ASUS GTX 980 Matrix Platinum
    Mac:
    iMac
    Classic Mac:
    iMac, LC, Power Mac, PowerBook
    Mobile Phone:
    Android, iOS, Windows Phone
    The guide at the following link will probably do the trick for removing those extra boot options. Just be very carful because if you delete the wrong boot option then you can render your system unbootable. Also, if you try doing what is described in the linked guide, it is a good idea to make and test, beforehand, a Clover USB boot drive clone of your main system's EFI partition to the EFI partition of the flash drive so that if you do delete the wrong thing you have something to boot with that you can use to re-add critical UEFI boot options.
     
    ChrisRobmacbuntu likes this.
  6. WilliamLondon

    WilliamLondon

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2017
    Messages:
    34
    Mobo:
    Asus ROG Strix Z270G Gaming
    CPU:
    i7 7700K
    Graphics:
    HD 630
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 5, 2017 at 12:47 AM #6
    WilliamLondon

    WilliamLondon

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2017
    Messages:
    34
    Mobo:
    Asus ROG Strix Z270G Gaming
    CPU:
    i7 7700K
    Graphics:
    HD 630
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Air
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    I booted to my 10.12.5 install USB key and then wiped my entire SSD, but it was difficult getting APFS off it. First Disk Utility refused to erase an APFS drive, but finally I wiped it clean, then reformatted it and reinstalled base 10.12.5. After that I booted into Recovery and went into TimeMachine and copied everything from my latest backup back onto the SSD. It didn't reinstall all as it existed prior (e.g. EFI), but at least I got everything back into a better state than the mess the High Sierra upgrade made of my system. Not sure what I did was easiest, best or quickest to working, but it's working now and it'll stay at 10.12.5 until I'm convinced the upgrade is more streamlined than it currently is.
     
  7. ChrisRobmacbuntu

    ChrisRobmacbuntu

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2017
    Messages:
    27
    Mobo:
    EVGA Z270 Classified K (1151)
    CPU:
    i7 7700K 4.2 GHz LGA 1151 91W
    Graphics:
    TBD
    Oct 5, 2017 at 1:19 AM #7
    ChrisRobmacbuntu

    ChrisRobmacbuntu

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2017
    Messages:
    27
    Mobo:
    EVGA Z270 Classified K (1151)
    CPU:
    i7 7700K 4.2 GHz LGA 1151 91W
    Graphics:
    TBD
    I have those drives also and my boot time has slowed to a crawl...literally 5 minutes. Could those extra partitions be the culprit?

    Boot Drive - Samsung 850 EVO 500GB

    Weird...Sierra was a LOT quicker booting up.
     
  8. canyondust

    canyondust

    Joined:
    May 31, 2016
    Messages:
    172
    Mobo:
    Z170X-UD5 TH
    CPU:
    6700K @ 4.5GHZ
    Graphics:
    GTX1080 (Asus ROG Strix)
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    PowerBook, Quadra
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 5, 2017 at 5:41 AM #8
    canyondust

    canyondust

    Joined:
    May 31, 2016
    Messages:
    172
    Mobo:
    Z170X-UD5 TH
    CPU:
    6700K @ 4.5GHZ
    Graphics:
    GTX1080 (Asus ROG Strix)
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    PowerBook, Quadra
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    This fixed it for me:

     
  9. killacam7478

    killacam7478

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    168
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H Rev. 1.1
    CPU:
    Intel Ivy Bridge i5-3570K (OC'ed 4.6Ghz)
    Graphics:
    XFX Radeon R9 280X (Watercooled)
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Oct 5, 2017 at 11:10 PM #9
    killacam7478

    killacam7478

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2012
    Messages:
    168
    Mobo:
    Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H Rev. 1.1
    CPU:
    Intel Ivy Bridge i5-3570K (OC'ed 4.6Ghz)
    Graphics:
    XFX Radeon R9 280X (Watercooled)
    Mac:
    iMac
    Mobile Phone:
    iOS
    Got it. Yeah I experimented with a spare drive I had last night and did a fresh El Capitan install. Worked, but haven't tried recovering a time machine backup yet. My issue right now is that I can't get back to Sierra because I didn't save a copy of the installer on my computer (and when I look in my purchases in the app store, that one seems to be missing, but I have all of the other OS's). This whole exercise helps me realize I'm not consistent with backups.
     
  10. thielsa

    thielsa

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Messages:
    17
    Oct 7, 2017 at 5:18 PM #10
    thielsa

    thielsa

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Messages:
    17
    I have High Sierra fully functioning now. I have tried the above ideas and cannot clear the four boot options. Has anyone else fixed this successfully?
     

Share This Page