Contribute
Register

Clover and PCIe SATA3 expansion cards

Joined
Jul 26, 2011
Messages
225
Motherboard
MSI x58 pro-E
CPU
intel Xeon 5650 (3.8 ghz)
Graphics
Gainward Geforce gtx 950
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Hi everybody, does someone of you know why can't Clover even detect and than boot drives from PCIe SATA 3 expansion cards that I installed in my old system, while Chameleon does?

thanks for replies
 

nobodynose

Moderator
Joined
Sep 30, 2012
Messages
4,158
Motherboard
ASRock Z370M Pro4
CPU
i7-8700
Graphics
RX 560
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. iMac
  3. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
Hi everybody, does someone of you know why can't Clover even detect and than boot drives from PCIe SATA 3 expansion cards that I installed in my old system, while Chameleon does?

thanks for replies

My best guess is that those SATA cards do not contain UEFI boot ROMs, only legacy, and Clover needs the EFI drivers.
 
Joined
Jul 24, 2015
Messages
2,280
Motherboard
MSI H81i
CPU
i5-4570
Graphics
RX 580
Hi everybody, does someone of you know why can't Clover even detect and than boot drives from PCIe SATA 3 expansion cards that I installed in my old system, while Chameleon does?

thanks for replies
You will need to enable 'legacy storage option ROM' or equivalent in UEFI settings. Excerpts from Clover pre-boot log...

With 'UEFI only' option rom
Code:
0:539  0:001  === [ ScanVolumes ] =======================================
0:539  0:000  Found 12 volumes with blockIO
0:539  0:000  - [00]: Volume: PciRoot(0x0)\Pci(0x1F,0x2)\Sata(0x0,0xFFFF,0x0)
0:539  0:000  - [01]: Volume: PciRoot(0x0)\Pci(0x1F,0x2)\Sata(0x1,0xFFFF,0x0)
0:540  0:000  - [02]: Volume: PciRoot(0x0)\Pci(0x1F,0x2)\Sata(0x0,0xFFFF,0x0)\HD(1,GPT,3ECFA8D5-8C7F-485E-A90E-A917F1FA7DA5,0x800,0x64000)
0:540  0:000          Result of bootcode detection: bootable unknown (legacy)
0:548  0:007          This is SelfVolume !!
0:548  0:000  - [03]: Volume: PciRoot(0x0)\Pci(0x1F,0x2)\Sata(0x0,0xFFFF,0x0)\HD(2,GPT,45BFDA39-D32B-42DD-B0A0-2DBE918A05B7,0x64800,0x1BDD30E0)
0:549  0:000  - [04]: Volume: PciRoot(0x0)\Pci(0x1F,0x2)\Sata(0x0,0xFFFF,0x0)\HD(3,GPT,F29E9B96-D8EC-4A0F-AAD2-257E0C2754F0,0x1BE378E0,0x135F20)
0:549  0:000  - [05]: Volume: PciRoot(0x0)\Pci(0x1F,0x2)\Sata(0x0,0xFFFF,0x0)\HD(4,GPT,2189D7E3-437C-408B-87DE-1AD034CFCD1A,0x1BF6D800,0x8000)
0:550  0:000  - [06]: Volume: PciRoot(0x0)\Pci(0x1F,0x2)\Sata(0x0,0xFFFF,0x0)\HD(5,GPT,EB68A213-7403-4425-A449-AC57BFB3A8BE,0x21F79800,0x744E800)
...
And with 'legacy first' option rom
Code:
0:543  0:001  === [ ScanVolumes ] =======================================
0:543  0:000  Found 16 volumes with blockIO
0:543  0:000  - [00]: Volume: PciRoot(0x0)\Pci(0x1C,0x5)\Pci(0x0,0x0)\VenHw(CF31FAC5-C24E-11D2-85F3-00A0C93EC93B,80)
0:543  0:000  - [01]: Volume: PciRoot(0x0)\Pci(0x1C,0x5)\Pci(0x0,0x0)\VenHw(CF31FAC5-C24E-11D2-85F3-00A0C93EC93B,80)\HD(1,GPT,E92BD015-3B4C-47C3-89B5-D2BEB150C9FF,0x800,0x49B09800)
0:543  0:000          Result of bootcode detection: bootable Windows (vista,win)
0:543  0:000  - [02]: Volume: PciRoot(0x0)\Pci(0x1C,0x5)\Pci(0x0,0x0)\VenHw(CF31FAC5-C24E-11D2-85F3-00A0C93EC93B,80)\HD(2,GPT,9ED3E80A-D32A-48F7-A42D-2F963437DABE,0x49B0A000,0x63800)
0:544  0:000          Result of bootcode detection: bootable Windows (vista,win)
0:544  0:000  - [03]: Volume: PciRoot(0x0)\Pci(0x1C,0x5)\Pci(0x0,0x0)\VenHw(CF31FAC5-C24E-11D2-85F3-00A0C93EC93B,80)\HD(3,GPT,A9A3CDF4-67E0-411F-A219-022796B766E4,0x49B6E000,0x2AB98800)
0:544  0:000  - [04]: Volume: PciRoot(0x0)\Pci(0x1F,0x2)\Sata(0x0,0xFFFF,0x0)
0:544  0:000  - [05]: Volume: PciRoot(0x0)\Pci(0x1F,0x2)\Sata(0x1,0xFFFF,0x0)
0:557  0:012  - [06]: Volume: PciRoot(0x0)\Pci(0x1F,0x2)\Sata(0x0,0xFFFF,0x0)\HD(1,GPT,3ECFA8D5-8C7F-485E-A90E-A917F1FA7DA5,0x800,0x64000)
0:558  0:000          Result of bootcode detection: bootable unknown (legacy)
0:565  0:007          This is SelfVolume !!
0:565  0:000  - [07]: Volume: PciRoot(0x0)\Pci(0x1F,0x2)\Sata(0x0,0xFFFF,0x0)\HD(2,GPT,45BFDA39-D32B-42DD-B0A0-2DBE918A05B7,0x64800,0x1BDD30E0)
0:565  0:000  - [08]: Volume: PciRoot(0x0)\Pci(0x1F,0x2)\Sata(0x0,0xFFFF,0x0)\HD(3,GPT,F29E9B96-D8EC-4A0F-AAD2-257E0C2754F0,0x1BE378E0,0x135F20)
0:566  0:000  - [09]: Volume: PciRoot(0x0)\Pci(0x1F,0x2)\Sata(0x0,0xFFFF,0x0)\HD(4,GPT,2189D7E3-437C-408B-87DE-1AD034CFCD1A,0x1BF6D800,0x8000)
...
 
Joined
Jul 26, 2011
Messages
225
Motherboard
MSI x58 pro-E
CPU
intel Xeon 5650 (3.8 ghz)
Graphics
Gainward Geforce gtx 950
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
My best guess is that those SATA cards do not contain UEFI boot ROMs, only legacy, and Clover needs the EFI drivers.

doesn't Clover have a legacy boot mode?

The Syba mentioned in the following thread can boot in UEFI mode according to the user. There may also be some interaction with your motherboard?

I don't know what kind of interaction you mean but I think the problem is Clover, as Chameleon can boot from those cards


ou will need to enable 'legacy storage option ROM' or equivalent in UEFI settings. Excerpts from Clover pre-boot log...

could you please explain how to enable 'legacy storage option ROM'?
 
Joined
Jul 24, 2015
Messages
2,280
Motherboard
MSI H81i
CPU
i5-4570
Graphics
RX 580
Joined
Jul 26, 2011
Messages
225
Motherboard
MSI x58 pro-E
CPU
intel Xeon 5650 (3.8 ghz)
Graphics
Gainward Geforce gtx 950
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Yes the problem is most likely with Clover, just realised your mobo is not a UEFI firmware so ignore my previous post. Have you got the file system drivers installed for the drives that aren't being detected? https://clover-wiki.zetam.org/What-is-what#efi-drivers

Unfortunately one of the two drives I have in those expansion cards is a boot one (SIERRA), so HFS+ formatted, the other one hosts WINDOWS 10, so NTFS, both are not detected :banghead:
 
Joined
Jul 24, 2015
Messages
2,280
Motherboard
MSI H81i
CPU
i5-4570
Graphics
RX 580
Please check that your config.plist has key/value pair scan=true as shown here https://clover-wiki.zetam.org/Configuration/GUI#gui_scan (Enable or disable all automatic scans.) then press F2 at Clover GUI (log will be saved but nothing will 'happen') and upload /efi/clover/misc/preboot.log
 
Joined
Jul 26, 2011
Messages
225
Motherboard
MSI x58 pro-E
CPU
intel Xeon 5650 (3.8 ghz)
Graphics
Gainward Geforce gtx 950
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Please check that your config.plist has key/value pair scan=true as shown here https://clover-wiki.zetam.org/Configuration/GUI#gui_scan (Enable or disable all automatic scans.) then press F2 at Clover GUI (log will be saved but nothing will 'happen') and upload /efi/clover/misc/preboot.log

...in the meanwhile, that's what I have in my config.plist file:

<key>Scan</key>
<dict>
<key>Entries</key>
<true/>
<key>Legacy</key>
<false/>
<key>Tool</key>
<false/>
 
Joined
Jul 24, 2015
Messages
2,280
Motherboard
MSI H81i
CPU
i5-4570
Graphics
RX 580
that's what I have in my config.plist file
Try replacing

Code:
<key>Scan</key>
<dict>
    <key>Entries</key>
    <true/>
    <key>Legacy</key>
    <false/>
    <key>Tool</key>
    <false/>
</dict>

with

Code:
<key>Scan</key>
<true/>

and then dump the preboot log
 
Top