Clover and Debian 8

Discussion in 'Bootloaders' started by Redessence, Nov 27, 2015.

  1. savage001

    savage001

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    55
    Mobo:
    Asus TP500LN
    CPU:
    Intel Haswell Core i7 4510U
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 4400
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jan 8, 2017 at 9:58 PM #11
    savage001

    savage001

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    55
    Mobo:
    Asus TP500LN
    CPU:
    Intel Haswell Core i7 4510U
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 4400
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Thanks @Going Bald this worked a treat. Is there any reason this gets detected as a generic linux as apposed to Debian? For now I've just renamed the icons in my theme to match the os.
     
  2. Going Bald

    Going Bald Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    21,216
    Mobo:
    GA-X58A-UD7 Rev.1 BIOS F7
    CPU:
    i7-920
    Graphics:
    Sapphire HD5770
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    Jan 8, 2017 at 10:09 PM #12
    Going Bald

    Going Bald Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    21,216
    Mobo:
    GA-X58A-UD7 Rev.1 BIOS F7
    CPU:
    i7-920
    Graphics:
    Sapphire HD5770
    Mac:
    iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
    Classic Mac:
    iMac
    Actually this should work with any linux distro I have tried it with that has the UEFI Stub boot capability, like Arch Linux. The only thing that changes is the drive root UUID and the name of the distro - substitute Arch for Debian and it would work just as well, which is what I did - I used the config.plist from an Arch Linux discussion I had over in the bootloader forum, just changing the UUID and the name.

    The nice thing about it is it that you can take the OS X drive out and the Debian grub bootloader will work just as well independent of the Clover on the OS X drive, So if the Clover bootloader gets corrupted you can still boot Linux..
     
  3. savage001

    savage001

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    55
    Mobo:
    Asus TP500LN
    CPU:
    Intel Haswell Core i7 4510U
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 4400
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Jan 17, 2017 at 2:31 AM #13
    savage001

    savage001

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2012
    Messages:
    55
    Mobo:
    Asus TP500LN
    CPU:
    Intel Haswell Core i7 4510U
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 4400
    Mobile Phone:
    Android
    Hey all i just thought i would update this thread with some good news, i just downloaded and installed fresh copy of Debian Jessie 8.7.0 that was released on the 15th January 2017 and with this install Clover has picked up the Debian install without any custom entries. Im not sure about upgrading to 8.7.0 from 8.6.0 "fixing" the issue but you can try. All i know is a fresh install for me meant i did not have to create a custom entry. YMMV.
     

Share This Page