Contribute
Register

Closed Thread: For FYI only > [GUIDE] 10.8 / How to enable HD4000

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Jun 8, 2012
Messages
370
Motherboard
Asus X99-A
CPU
i7-5820K
Graphics
GTX Titan X
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Air
  3. MacBook Pro
  4. Mac mini
  5. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. Classic
  2. Color Classic
  3. eMac
  4. iBook
  5. iMac
  6. Performa
  7. Power Mac
  8. PowerBook
  9. Quadra
  10. Xserve
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
DTA, first off I just wanted to say a big thank you for helping me get this all sorted out! I really appreciate it!

I ended up injecting the "5" one that you suggested for desktops. I found out though that on the Z77X-UP5 TH that the bottom thunderbolt port has full support for switching resolutions etc. I did find a weird error that when booting without Graphics Mode that it would do a really weird thing where the screen size was like 1024x768 but the actual resolution was 2560x1440. So essentially I would only get the top like 1/4 to show and the rest of the display was missing. Really odd. Anyway forced my resolution and upon bootup I can now freely change my resolution all I like! I haven't tried HDMI on this board as I really don't feel like moving this setup to my living room to test. ;)

Anyway if someone does need it tested for one reason or another though let me know and I can do it.

Mark
 
Joined
May 5, 2012
Messages
7
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-B75M-D3V
CPU
i5-3570K
Graphics
HD 4000
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Tanks a lot dta. working splendid with ig-platform-id: 01620005.
 
Joined
Sep 27, 2011
Messages
69
Motherboard
10.8.2
CPU
i5-3570k
Graphics
HD4000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Which inject code did you use and which output are you using?

This is proving to be quite difficult on my setup at home as I only have a TB display so when it locks up I have to reinstall. :)

01 does NOT work for me lol

on to the next one.

Mark


i did not inject any code at all.

set my uefi/bios to 64mb vram and booted with chimera 1.11

thats it.
 

dta

Joined
May 6, 2012
Messages
122
Motherboard
MSI Z77A-G43
CPU
Core i7 3770K
Graphics
Intel HD4000
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
i did not inject any code at all.

set my uefi/bios to 64mb vram and booted with chimera 1.11

thats it.

Hey taumaz, could you do us a big favor and check what platform-id Chimera uses for you? You have to install XCode and type the following into terminal:

Code:
ioreg -k AAPL,ig-platform-id

Then scroll to the unfolded node (probably says GFX0 or IGPU) and tell us the value of "AAPL,ig-platform-id". Also please tell us what port you are using to connect your monitor. That would be really helpful!
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2012
Messages
10
Motherboard
Z77-DS3H
CPU
i7 3770k
Graphics
NVIDIA GT7XX
Hi All,

I've just received my DVI cable, and now plugging it in allows the HD4000 to work (even on HDMI). I have my bios set to 64M (although it did work fine for 96M), and have chimera 1.11 obviously.

I just have one issue, which I'm hoping someone can help me solve - my screen has speckles all over. They're not too noticable normally, but when playing a video (with a lot of blank screens for example), you can clearly see them. It's like the speckles that used to be on old TVs - this is the same on both DVI and HDMI (HDMI used to be fine without graphics acceleration). Any advice?

Here's my hardware info:
Code:
    | |   +-o GFX0@2  <class IOPCIDevice, id 0x1000001e6, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (4758 ms), retain 25>
    | |   | | {
    | |   | |   "assigned-addresses" = <1010008200000000000080f70000000000004000181000c200000000000000e00000000000000010201000810000000000f000000000000040000000>
    | |   | |   "IOInterruptSpecifiers" = (<1000000007000000>,<0000000000000100>)
    | |   | |   "class-code" = <00000300>
    | |   | |   "IODeviceMemory" = (({"address"=4152360960,"length"=4194304}),({"address"=3758096384,"length"=268435456}),"IOSubMemoryDescriptor is not serializable")
    | |   | |   "AAPL,gray-page" = <01000000>
    | |   | |   "IOHibernateState" = <00000000>
    | |   | |   "built-in" = <00>
    | |   | |   "subsystem-vendor-id" = <58140000>
    | |   | |   "IOPowerManagement" = {"MaxPowerState"=2,"ChildrenPowerState"=2,"CurrentPowerState"=2}
    | |   | |   "acpi-device" = "IOACPIPlatformDevice is not serializable"
    | |   | |   "hda-gfx" = <"onboard-1">
    | |   | |   "IOInterruptControllers" = ("io-apic-0","IOPCIMessagedInterruptController")
    | |   | |   "IOPCIMSIMode" = Yes
    | |   | |   "name" = "display"
    | |   | |   "vendor-id" = <86800000>
    | |   | |   "device-id" = <66010000>
    | |   | |   "IOPCIResourced" = Yes
    | |   | |   "compatible" = <"pci1458,d000","pci8086,166","pciclass,030000">
    | |   | |   "AAPL,iokit-ndrv" = <20cdda807fffffff>
    | |   | |   "acpi-path" = "IOACPIPlane:/_SB/PCI0@0/GFX0@20000"
    | |   | |   "model" = <"Intel HD Graphics 4000">
    | |   | |   "subsystem-id" = <00d00000>
    | |   | |   "revision-id" = <09000000>
    | |   | |   "AAPL,ig-platform-id" = <09006601>
    | |   | |   "AAPL,gray-value" = <c38c6400>
    | |   | |   "pcidebug" = "0:2:0"
    | |   | |   "IOName" = "display"
    | |   | |   "reg" = <0010000000000000000000000000000000000000101000020000000000000000000000000000400018100042000000000000000000000000000000102010000100000000000000000000000040000000>
    | |   | | }
 
Joined
Feb 11, 2011
Messages
26
Motherboard
GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3 Rev1.3 BIOS F12
CPU
i7-3770S
Graphics
HD 4000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Hi,

my system (GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3, i7-3770S, HD 4000) boots only in safe mode.
I use Chimera 1.11 and GraphicsEnabler = Yes.

I tried different EFI-Strings, but without success. Actually I don't really see any difference between these strings from first posting.

DVMT is set to MAX and "Internal Graphics Memory Size" to 64MB+2MB GTT

"about this Mac" lists HD 4000 but with 0 (zero) MB VRAM.

ioreg -k AAPL,ig-platform-id ==> "AAPL,ig-platform-id" = <09006601>
...
| | +-o IGD0@2 <class IOPCIDevice, id 0x10000017f, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (9589 ms), retain 16>
| | | | {
| | | | "assigned-addresses" = <1010008200000000000040fb0000000000004000181000c20f000000000000100000000000000010201000810000000000ff00000000000040000000>
| | | | "IOInterruptSpecifiers" = (<1000000007000000>,<0000000000000100>)
| | | | "class-code" = <00000300>
| | | | "IODeviceMemory" = (({"address"=4215275520,"length"=4194304}),({"address"=64692944896,"length"=268435456}),"IOSubMemoryDescriptor is not serializable")
| | | | "AAPL,gray-page" = <01000000>
| | | | "IOHibernateState" = <00000000>
| | | | "built-in" = <00>
| | | | "subsystem-vendor-id" = <58140000>
| | | | "IOPowerManagement" = {"MaxPowerState"=2,"ChildrenPowerState"=2,"CurrentPowerState"=2}
| | | | "acpi-device" = "IOACPIPlatformDevice is not serializable"
| | | | "hda-gfx" = <"onboard-1">
| | | | "IOInterruptControllers" = ("io-apic-0","IOPCIMessagedInterruptController")
| | | | "IOPCIMSIMode" = Yes
| | | | "name" = "display"
| | | | "vendor-id" = <86800000>
| | | | "device-id" = <66010000>
| | | | "IOPCIResourced" = Yes
| | | | "compatible" = <"pci1458,d000","pci8086,166","pciclass,030000">
| | | | "AAPL,iokit-ndrv" = <204d84807fffffff>
| | | | "acpi-path" = "IOACPIPlane:/_SB/PCI0@0/IGD0@20000"
| | | | "model" = <"Intel HD Graphics 4000">
| | | | "subsystem-id" = <00d00000>
| | | | "revision-id" = <09000000>
| | | | "AAPL,ig-platform-id" = <09006601>
| | | | "AAPL,gray-value" = <c38c6400>
| | | | "pcidebug" = "0:2:0"
| | | | "IOName" = "display"
| | | | "reg" = <0010000000000000000000000000000000000000101000020000000000000000000000000000400018100042000000000000000000000000000000102010000100000000000000000000000040000000>
| | | | }


Please help!
MiMe
 

dta

Joined
May 6, 2012
Messages
122
Motherboard
MSI Z77A-G43
CPU
Core i7 3770K
Graphics
Intel HD4000
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hi,

my system (GA-Z68X-UD3H-B3, i7-3770S, HD 4000) boots only in safe mode.
I use Chimera 1.11 and GraphicsEnabler = Yes.

I tried different EFI-Strings, but without success. Actually I don't really see any difference between these strings from first posting.

DVMT is set to MAX and "Internal Graphics Memory Size" to 64MB+2MB GTT

"about this Mac" lists HD 4000 but with 0 (zero) MB VRAM.

ioreg -k AAPL,ig-platform-id ==> "AAPL,ig-platform-id" = <09006601>
...
| | +-o IGD0@2 <class IOPCIDevice, id 0x10000017f, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (9589 ms), retain 16>
| | | | {
| | | | "assigned-addresses" = <1010008200000000000040fb0000000000004000181000c20f000000000000100000000000000010201000810000000000ff00000000000040000000>
| | | | "IOInterruptSpecifiers" = (<1000000007000000>,<0000000000000100>)
| | | | "class-code" = <00000300>
| | | | "IODeviceMemory" = (({"address"=4215275520,"length"=4194304}),({"address"=64692944896,"length"=268435456}),"IOSubMemoryDescriptor is not serializable")
| | | | "AAPL,gray-page" = <01000000>
| | | | "IOHibernateState" = <00000000>
| | | | "built-in" = <00>
| | | | "subsystem-vendor-id" = <58140000>
| | | | "IOPowerManagement" = {"MaxPowerState"=2,"ChildrenPowerState"=2,"CurrentPowerState"=2}
| | | | "acpi-device" = "IOACPIPlatformDevice is not serializable"
| | | | "hda-gfx" = <"onboard-1">
| | | | "IOInterruptControllers" = ("io-apic-0","IOPCIMessagedInterruptController")
| | | | "IOPCIMSIMode" = Yes
| | | | "name" = "display"
| | | | "vendor-id" = <86800000>
| | | | "device-id" = <66010000>
| | | | "IOPCIResourced" = Yes
| | | | "compatible" = <"pci1458,d000","pci8086,166","pciclass,030000">
| | | | "AAPL,iokit-ndrv" = <204d84807fffffff>
| | | | "acpi-path" = "IOACPIPlane:/_SB/PCI0@0/IGD0@20000"
| | | | "model" = <"Intel HD Graphics 4000">
| | | | "subsystem-id" = <00d00000>
| | | | "revision-id" = <09000000>
| | | | "AAPL,ig-platform-id" = <09006601>
| | | | "AAPL,gray-value" = <c38c6400>
| | | | "pcidebug" = "0:2:0"
| | | | "IOName" = "display"
| | | | "reg" = <0010000000000000000000000000000000000000101000020000000000000000000000000000400018100042000000000000000000000000000000102010000100000000000000000000000040000000>
| | | | }


Please help!
MiMe

What exactly is happening if you try to boot without safe mode? Make sure that you are able to boot with GraphicsEnabler=no, so we can be sure that it's not related to something else than graphics.
 
Joined
Mar 22, 2012
Messages
15
Motherboard
Gigabyte MB
CPU
3770k
Graphics
HD4000
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Make sure that you are able to boot with GraphicsEnabler=no, so we can be sure that it's not related to something else than graphics.

Is HD4000 supposed to be able to work with GraphicsEnabler=no? There seems to be different opinions in this forum?
 

dta

Joined
May 6, 2012
Messages
122
Motherboard
MSI Z77A-G43
CPU
Core i7 3770K
Graphics
Intel HD4000
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Is HD4000 supposed to be able to work with GraphicsEnabler=no? There seems to be different opinions in this forum?

Yes, but without hardware acceleration. Be sure to also set your Graphic Mode with your resolution when setting GraphicsEnabler=no like this:

Code:
<key>Graphics Mode</key>
<string>1680x1050x32</string>
 
Joined
Mar 22, 2012
Messages
15
Motherboard
Gigabyte MB
CPU
3770k
Graphics
HD4000
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
ig-platform-id: 01620005 did it it for me. Now I can boot without having to unplug the and re-plug the monitor. MB is GA-Z77X-UD5H if that helps anyone.

Thanks for this - it just took problem #1 off my list. On to sleep mode and Turbo on 3770k :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top