Contribute
Register

Closed Thread: For FYI only > [GUIDE] 10.8 / How to enable HD4000

Status
Not open for further replies.

dta

Joined
May 6, 2012
Messages
122
Motherboard
MSI Z77A-G43
CPU
Core i7 3770K
Graphics
Intel HD4000
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
I couldn't get the string to work. But then again, I wasn't sure what to name the key for this one because Xcode wouldn't let me add another <key>device-properties</key>
Hey, you can only have one device-properties string at a time in your boot.plist. So you have to replace the old one.
 
Joined
Jun 8, 2012
Messages
370
Motherboard
Asus X99-A
CPU
i7-5820K
Graphics
GTX Titan X
Mac
iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Classic, Color Classic, eMac, iBook, iMac, Performa, Power Mac, PowerBook, Quadra, Xserve
Mobile Phone
iOS
odd so I have downloaded that gfxutil program and made a plist off your file then converted to hex using both 0 and 1. When I boot using those injections it doesn't load the kext if I create a hex from 5 it will load the kext. The odd thing is I just booted using 96MB instead of 32MB and it worked fine too. I wonder what determines whether or not to load the kext?

Mark
 
Joined
Mar 22, 2012
Messages
15
Motherboard
Gigabyte MB
CPU
3770k
Graphics
HD4000
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Now while its freaked out over HDMI I will take the same monitor and plug it in using DVI instead and I can change resolutions to my hearts content.
For me the screen is scrambled when I boot, but I can jut unplug HDMI and plug it back in and it works fine. same for DVI, so I think your situation is not HDMI vs DVI, but rather the fact the the unplug is resetting something.
 

dta

Joined
May 6, 2012
Messages
122
Motherboard
MSI Z77A-G43
CPU
Core i7 3770K
Graphics
Intel HD4000
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
I have updated the first post with more information and EFI strings for all known platform-ids.
 

dta

Joined
May 6, 2012
Messages
122
Motherboard
MSI Z77A-G43
CPU
Core i7 3770K
Graphics
Intel HD4000
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
odd so I have downloaded that gfxutil program and made a plist off your file then converted to hex using both 0 and 1. When I boot using those injections it doesn't load the kext if I create a hex from 5 it will load the kext. The odd thing is I just booted using 96MB instead of 32MB and it worked fine too. I wonder what determines whether or not to load the kext?

Mark
Hm this is really weird. It is always loading HD4000 kexts for me, doesn't matter what configuration. But there are only a few which are working without errors and only one which works perfect.
 
Joined
Jan 3, 2011
Messages
35
Motherboard
GA-7ZZX-UD5H
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
HD4000
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
128K, SE
Mobile Phone
iOS
dta, thank you a million times over. Now HD4000 works on my GA-Z77X-UD5H; I had read somewhere to set the graphics memory size to 512MB, but leaving it at 64MB it actually works. :)
 
Joined
Jun 8, 2012
Messages
370
Motherboard
Asus X99-A
CPU
i7-5820K
Graphics
GTX Titan X
Mac
iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Classic, Color Classic, eMac, iBook, iMac, Performa, Power Mac, PowerBook, Quadra, Xserve
Mobile Phone
iOS
For me the screen is scrambled when I boot, but I can jut unplug HDMI and plug it back in and it works fine. same for DVI, so I think your situation is not HDMI vs DVI, but rather the fact the the unplug is resetting something.

When mine was getting scrambled unplugging and replugging the HDMI wouldn't solve the issue. I had to unplug then switch the interface to DVI then unplug DVI then switch back to HDMI. That was the only way to unscramble.

Now my computer at home if I don't set my res manually with Chimera I will get scramble on boot and unplugging and replugging resolves that issue for me. That is unacceptable for me however as I use a Thunderbolt Display so unplugging causes all the goodies to drop.

Mark
 
Joined
Jun 19, 2012
Messages
68
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H
CPU
Intel Core i7-3770K
Graphics
eVGA GTX970, HD4000
Mac
MacBook, MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hey, you can only have one device-properties string at a time in your boot.plist. So you have to replace the old one.
I just tried, and still no luck
 
Joined
Sep 27, 2011
Messages
69
Motherboard
10.8.2
CPU
i5-3570k
Graphics
HD4000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Maybe it is your mainboard and the HD4000 port configurations not working together. I will post some more efi strings with different configurations when I have time. But it is weird that using Chimera 1.11 and setting GraphicsEnabler to yes it is doing nothing.




Great. What mainboard are you using?
I am using Z77X-UD5H bios v7 with i5-3570k

I also Tested the "ripple effect" when adding widgets with success! I believe the HD4000 is working 100% correctly.
 
Joined
Jun 8, 2012
Messages
370
Motherboard
Asus X99-A
CPU
i7-5820K
Graphics
GTX Titan X
Mac
iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac mini, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Classic, Color Classic, eMac, iBook, iMac, Performa, Power Mac, PowerBook, Quadra, Xserve
Mobile Phone
iOS
I am using Z77X-UD5H bios v7 with i5-3570k

I also Tested the "ripple effect" when adding widgets with success! I believe the HD4000 is working 100% correctly.
Which inject code did you use and which output are you using?

This is proving to be quite difficult on my setup at home as I only have a TB display so when it locks up I have to reinstall. :)

01 does NOT work for me lol

on to the next one.

Mark
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top