Contribute
Register

[CLOSED] Adding ATI card IDs to Chimera 1.5 ATI.c

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: Adding ATI card IDs to ATI.c - update (10-May)

Sapphire Toxic HD 6850 finally with 2 screens (1xDVI,1xminiDP - active miniDP to dvi adapter.
Sapphire Toxic is an overclocked HD 6850 but should have the layout of a HD 6870. This is
the reason that there are 2 miniDP's. Regular 6850 has one miniDP.)

Boot plist additional args: PCIRootUID=1 GraphicsEnabler=Yes AtiConfig=Duckweed

Screenshot.jpg
 
Re: Adding ATI card IDs to ATI.c - update (10-May)

debaser said:
Sapphire Toxic HD 6850 finally with 2 screens (1xDVI,1xminiDP to active dvi adapter)
(Toxic is overclocked 6850 but should have a layout of a 6870. This is
the reason that there are 2 miniDP's.

Boot plist additional args: PCIRootUID=1 GraphicsEnabler=Yes AtiConfig=Duckweed

Are you using a DSDT ? You shouldn't need the PCIRootUID if you are - but please test and let me know.
 
Re: Adding ATI card IDs to ATI.c - update (10-May)

I was using easybeast so often but since a week I'm using a User DSDT.

Is the DSDT working with this output:

Code:
Read HFS+ file: [hd(0,2)/Extra/DSDT.aml] 18643 bytes.
ACPI table not found: SSDT.aml
FADT: Restart Fix applied!
FADT: Using custom DSDT!
Starting Darwin x86_64

But I'll try without PCIRootUID=1 next boot. Thank you for the info.
 
Re: Adding ATI card IDs to ATI.c - update (10-May)

Webox said:
Big Thanks go out to Z_D & Notshy
Received the new HIS 6750 crossfire video card, half the size of the 6790.
Popped it in and added 68BF to the appropriate places and Bang Liftoff.
Will try two in crossfire next. Like this little card.
Better than a 5770. and has BD support.
Respectfully

Could anyone tell me where to put 68BF in order to enable this Radeon HD 6750 ?
Thanks
 
Re: Adding ATI card IDs to ATI.c - update (10-May)

notshy said:
Sorry for the absence on this thread but I am taking another fresh look through it at the moment. We will work on getting your updates into Chimera. Thanks for everyone's testing so far and GingaNija for helping out with the 6670.


zanonale said:
Can anyone help me, plz?
Zanons-iMac:~ Zanonale$ ioreg | grep ATY
| | | | +-o ATY,Duckweed@0 <class AtiFbStub, id 0x100000366, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (355 ms), reta$
............

That does look like Duckweed is loading properly. What are your issues ?

That means soon the HD6670 will work OOB?
 
Re: Adding ATI card IDs to ATI.c - update (10-May)

It seems like there's no framebuffer for 4 screens on the 6870 (correct me if I'm wrong) using two dp connector and two DVI. Is it possible to create a new framebuffer to match the card so all 4 screens are usable with a framebuffer like in Windows?
 
Re: Adding ATI card IDs to ATI.c - update (10-May)

fenrir2003 said:
Here is my Video Card:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a ... 6814102803

Running ioreg gives the following listing:
Code:
ioreg | grep ATY
    | |   |     +-o ATY,ATY,RadeonFramebuffer@0  <class AtiFbStub, id 0x1000002$
    | |   |     | +-o ATY_ATY,RadeonFramebuffer  <class ATIFramebuffer, id 0x10$
    | |   |     +-o ATY,ATY,RadeonFramebuffer@1  <class AtiFbStub, id 0x1000002$
    | |   |     | +-o ATY_ATY,RadeonFramebuffer  <class ATIFramebuffer, id 0x10$

Running lspci gives this:
Code:
sudo lspci -nnvd 0x1002: | grep -B2 Subsystem
01:00.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: ATI Technologies Inc RV770 LE [Radeon HD 4800 Series] [1002:944c] (prog-if 00 [VGA controller])
	Subsystem: PC Partner Limited Unknown device [174b:e810]
--

01:00.1 Audio device [0403]: ATI Technologies Inc HD48x0 audio [1002:aa30]
	Subsystem: PC Partner Limited Sapphire HD 4850 512MB GDDR3 PCI-E Dual Slot Fansink [174b:aa30]

Also check the boot log to see what was loaded:
Code:
bdmesg
Using PCI-Root-UID value: 0
Framebuffer @0xD0000000  MMIO @0xE5000000  I/O Port @0x0000A000 ROM Addr @0x00000000
ATI card POSTed, reading VBIOS from legacy space
ATI RV770 ATI Radeon HD 4800 Series 512MB (Motmot) [1002:944c] (subsys [174b:e810]):: PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x1,0x0)/Pci(0x0,0x0)

I have one monitor connected to the DVI port closest to the MB using a DVI-to-HDMI converter for my Acer H213H monitor. Here the output of the Graphics/Displays from System Profiler:
  • ATI Radeon HD 4800:
    [list:35b3q1rq]Chipset Model: ATI Radeon HD 4800
    Type: GPU
    Bus: PCIe
    PCIe Lane Width: x16
    VRAM (Total): 512 MB
    Vendor: ATI (0x1002)
    Device ID: 0x944c
    Revision ID: 0x0000
    Displays:
H213H:

  • Resolution: 1920 x 1080 @ 60 Hz
    Pixel Depth: 32-Bit Color (ARGB8888)
    Main Display: Yes
    Mirror: Off
    Online: Yes
    Television: Yes
Display Connector:
  • Status: No Display Connected
[/list:u:35b3q1rq]

I checked the ati.c file in the Chimera branch and I did not see the Subsystem ID listed in the file for my model card. I'm thinking of adding a new line with my ID and recompiling Chimera. Thoughts?

UPDATE: I updated to 10.6.8 last night and was able to get QE/CI to work using Netka's 10.6.8 exotic patch. Default framebuffers are still being loaded but I'm able to use some other programs that I could not before. I think that the device ID for my card still should be added to ati.c in the branch.

Over the weekend I compiled my updates in ati.c, adding the following line for my video card:
Code:
{ 0x944C,	0x174BE810,	CHIP_FAMILY_RV770,		"ATI Radeon HD 4830",				kMotmot		},

After compiling and following the installation instructions on the team sourceforge webpage, my default framebuffers are still loading. I have not tried going through all of the entries that notshy posted at the beginning of this thread since it appears my card is attempting to load the Motmot framebuffers without much success. My next thing I could try is what GingaNinja posted, but I'm still a newbie at this.
 
Re: Adding ATI card IDs to ATI.c - update (10-May)

notshy said:
Sorry for the absence on this thread but I am taking another fresh look through it at the moment. We will work on getting your updates into Chimera. Thanks for everyone's testing so far and GingaNija for helping out with the 6670.


zanonale said:
Can anyone help me, plz?
Zanons-iMac:~ Zanonale$ ioreg | grep ATY
| | | | +-o ATY,Duckweed@0 <class AtiFbStub, id 0x100000366, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (355 ms), reta$
............

That does look like Duckweed is loading properly. What are your issues ?

Notshy, when i use the command bellow, looks like it didn't loaded correctly, since i can't see the frame buffer loaded (no <class ATIFramebuffer), and some programs don't run well, like cinebench. Thanks!
Code:
Zanons-iMac:~ Zanonale$ ioreg | grep ATY
| | | | +-o ATY,Duckweed@0 <class AtiFbStub, id 0x100000366, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (355 ms), reta$
| | | | +-o ATY,Duckweed@1 <class AtiFbStub, id 0x100000367, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (6 ms), retain$
| | | | +-o ATY,Duckweed@2 <class AtiFbStub, id 0x100000368, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (21 ms), retai$
| | | | +-o ATY,Duckweed@3 <class AtiFbStub, id 0x100000369, registered, matched, active, busy 0 (4 ms), retain$
 
Re: Adding ATI card IDs to ATI.c - update (10-May)

Can the XFX HD 5770 Single Slot be added to ATI.c in chimera?

The subsys is:

ATI Juniper ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series 1024MB (Vervet) [1002:68b8] (subsys [1682:2994]):: PciRoot(0x1)/Pci(0x1,0x0)/Pci(0x0,0x0)
 
XFX HD5770 Single Slot problem solved

I finally got my HD5750 Single Slot working.

1) Install Snow Leopard with Tony's guide
2) Open Multibeast (Don't run yet)
3) Open 10.6.8 Combo update and run (when finished don't restart)
4) Switch to Multibeast, select Easybeast and System Utlities complete install and restart
5) Run Multibeast and only select System Utilities
6) Finish install and reboot

Full QE/CI now working.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top