Contribute
Register

Cinema Display not detected GTX 980 latest web drivers

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Mar 7, 2015
Messages
28
Motherboard
ASUS Maximus VII Hero
CPU
Intel Core i7-4770k
Graphics
Nvidia GTX 980 (x2)
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
So basically, got one of the older model 27" Cinema Displays with the mini display port and a mini display port to display port adapter. Hooked it into my computer and ... nothing ... it's not detecting it and nothing changes on my primary screen. Weirdly, when i up and even into my windows 8 partition, it shows up perfectly fine and even has audio playing through it OOB. It's just when i get past the white logo that it pretty much turns itself off and isn't detected for some reason.


I'm running Nvidia web driver: 346.01.02f04 (up to date) and CUDA driver version 7.0.36.


I tried switching back to the OSX default graphics driver from the nvidia driver instead of using the nvidia one and although the cinema display did finally show me the login screen, it was really low resolution and just had a forever logging in spinner which was a bit weird. Took me a good half hour just to get back in through safe mode (and using a dell monitor) to reinstall the nvidia drivers and to switch back to that.


Am i missing something? Do i need some kind of kext? is there an old version of the nvidia driver that detects cinema displays? I tried googling around and couldn't find anything.


If anyone could help me with this, it'd be much appreciated.


My build:
Intel Core i7-4770K (not yet overclocked)
Asus Maximus VII Hero Intel Z97 (Socket 1150) DDR3 ATX Motherboard
Nvidia GTX 980 (x2 in SLI)
Avexir Core 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3 2133MHz Dual Channel RAM sticks
Samsung Evo 128Gb SSD (for Windows boot + a few applications)
Samsung Evo 256Gb SSD (for games, applications, adobe products)
Samsung Evo 500Gb SSD (for Yosemite)
4TB HDD for general storage
2TB HDD for backup
OS X Yosemite 10.10.3
 

slim.jim

Moderator
Joined
Dec 17, 2014
Messages
4,258
Motherboard
MSI Z97 Gaming 9 AC
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Not sure how to fix your issue but there are no native drivers for a GTX 980 which is why you ended up with a laggy low resolution display.

What system profile are you using?
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2015
Messages
28
Motherboard
ASUS Maximus VII Hero
CPU
Intel Core i7-4770k
Graphics
Nvidia GTX 980 (x2)
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Not sure how to fix your issue but there are no native drivers for a GTX 980 which is why you ended up with a laggy low resolution display.

What system profile are you using?

Hmm, so i'm using the nvidia web drivers, i assume therefore that they're not native? I can run my Dell and ASUS monitors perfectly fine with those drivers on my 980s.

Sorry for the noob question, but what do you mean by system profile?
 

slim.jim

Moderator
Joined
Dec 17, 2014
Messages
4,258
Motherboard
MSI Z97 Gaming 9 AC
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hmm, so i'm using the nvidia web drivers, i assume therefore that they're not native? I can run my Dell and ASUS monitors perfectly fine with those drivers on my 980s.

Sorry for the noob question, but what do you mean by system profile?

The web drivers have support for the Maxwell GPU architecture that Yosemite does not have by default. So you have that part fine. System profile would be iMac14,2 or MacPro 3,1… etc.

Another question, are you using DisplayPort with either of your working monitors?
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2015
Messages
28
Motherboard
ASUS Maximus VII Hero
CPU
Intel Core i7-4770k
Graphics
Nvidia GTX 980 (x2)
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
The web drivers have support for the Maxwell GPU architecture that Yosemite does not have by default. So you have that part fine. System profile would be iMac14,2 or MacPro 3,1… etc.

Another question, are you using DisplayPort with either of your working monitors?

Gotcha, would that mean that the web drivers that support the GTX 980 doesn't support the native Apple Cinema Display? :(

And ah right, i've got my system profile set up as iMac14,2 (tagged "late 2013").

And no, my other two monitors are connected to the each of the 980s via DVI cable. Right now to try and get it working, i've got the ACD plugged in via a mini display port adapter to the top GPU and my dell monitor plugged in via DVI cable to the second.

Thanks for your help btw ...
 
Joined
Mar 7, 2015
Messages
28
Motherboard
ASUS Maximus VII Hero
CPU
Intel Core i7-4770k
Graphics
Nvidia GTX 980 (x2)
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Also .. and now i'm getting a bit desperate I know .... is there any other way of connecting the cinema display, i.e. not using the GPU?
 

slim.jim

Moderator
Joined
Dec 17, 2014
Messages
4,258
Motherboard
MSI Z97 Gaming 9 AC
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Also .. and now i'm getting a bit desperate I know .... is there any other way of connecting the cinema display, i.e. not using the GPU?

Not unless your board has a DP port. Then you'd use the iGPU to drive it.
 

slim.jim

Moderator
Joined
Dec 17, 2014
Messages
4,258
Motherboard
MSI Z97 Gaming 9 AC
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. PowerBook
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Unfortunately not ... would I be crazy to get one of these?

http://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B00LOAX71O

Personally I wouldn't buy something like that.

I suggest pulling one of the cards, plugging a working monitor in to a DVI port and then the Cinema Display into the DP on the remaining card. A single GTX 980 should be able to drive 4 displays. Display port certainly works with Maxwell cards and the web drivers, it is what I am using for my Dell Ultrasharp.
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2012
Messages
86
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z390 Aorus Pro
CPU
i5-9600K
Graphics
RX 5700 XT
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
  2. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
There is no reason this monitor shouldn't work. However, some monitors (for example when mine is set to displayport 1.2), go to sleep at some point during the boot. From your description, this could be what happens with this one. The only solution I know of is to just turn the monitor off and on again, the computer should redetect it. It could also depend on how many monitors in total are connected.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top