Contribute
Register

Chimera doesn't recognize my Windows 8 partition

Joined
May 19, 2011
Messages
39
Motherboard
GA-Z77-DS3H
CPU
i5-3570k
Graphics
Sapphire 7950 3GB
Mac
MacBook Air
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi all,

I'm having troubles with dual boot. I've installed OS X in a 90 GB partition on my Crucial M4 and Windows 8 in the rest of disk.
In first step, I installed OS X and later Windows 8. Now, I have the boot manager of Windows and boots correctly but I try boot from Chimera of my UniBeast USB key (with OS X Installer) it doesn't recognize Windows 8 partition.
In fact, OS X isn't able to mount this partition (I attach a pic).

I attach a new pic from Windows of diskpart and Disk Manager

Chimera detects my second NTFS partition called "Datos" but the first one with Windows 8 no :(

What's the solution? How can I to select Windows 8 partition on chimera?

On terminal, if I list my partitions:

diskutil list
/dev/disk0
#: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER
0: GUID_partition_scheme *128.0 GB disk0
1: EFI 209.7 MB disk0s1
2: Apple_HFS OS X 90.7 GB disk0s2
3: Microsoft Basic Data 37.0 GB disk0s3
/dev/disk1
#: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER
0: GUID_partition_scheme *500.1 GB disk1
1: EFI 209.7 MB disk1s1
2: Apple_HFS Almacen 400.1 GB disk1s2
3: Microsoft Basic Data Datos 99.8 GB disk1s3
/dev/disk2
#: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER
0: FDisk_partition_scheme *8.0 GB disk2
1: Apple_HFS USB 8.0 GB disk2s1

It doesn't show the label "Windows 8" of the Windows partition.

Thank you.
 

Attachments

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,929
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Hi all,

I'm having troubles with dual boot. I've installed OS X in a 90 GB partition on my Crucial M4 and Windows 8 in the rest of disk.
In first step, I installed OS X and later Windows 8. Now, I have the boot manager of Windows and boots correctly but I try boot from Chimera of my UniBeast USB key (with OS X Installer) it doesn't recognize Windows 8 partition.
In fact, OS X isn't able to mount this partition (I attach a pic).

I attach a new pic from Windows of diskpart and Disk Manager

Chimera detects my second NTFS partition called "Datos" but the first one with Windows 8 no :(

What's the solution? How can I to select Windows 8 partition on chimera?

On terminal, if I list my partitions:

diskutil list
/dev/disk0
#: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER
0: GUID_partition_scheme *128.0 GB disk0
1: EFI 209.7 MB disk0s1
2: Apple_HFS OS X 90.7 GB disk0s2
3: Microsoft Basic Data 37.0 GB disk0s3
/dev/disk1
#: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER
0: GUID_partition_scheme *500.1 GB disk1
1: EFI 209.7 MB disk1s1
2: Apple_HFS Almacen 400.1 GB disk1s2
3: Microsoft Basic Data Datos 99.8 GB disk1s3
/dev/disk2
#: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER
0: FDisk_partition_scheme *8.0 GB disk2
1: Apple_HFS USB 8.0 GB disk2s1

It doesn't show the label "Windows 8" of the Windows partition.

Thank you.
What is the output of this in Terminal?

Code:
sudo fdisk /dev/rdisk0
 
Joined
May 19, 2011
Messages
39
Motherboard
GA-Z77-DS3H
CPU
i5-3570k
Graphics
Sapphire 7950 3GB
Mac
MacBook Air
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Yes, that is:


Disk: /dev/rdisk0 geometry: 15566/255/63 [250069680 sectors]
Signature: 0xAA55
Starting Ending
#: id cyl hd sec - cyl hd sec [ start - size]
------------------------------------------------------------------------
1: EE 1023 254 63 - 1023 254 63 [ 1 - 409639] <Unknown ID>
2: AF 1023 254 63 - 1023 254 63 [ 409640 - 177168016] HFS+
*3: 07 1023 254 63 - 1023 254 63 [ 177577984 - 72488960] HPFS/QNX/AUX
4: 00 0 0 0 - 0 0 0 [ 0 - 0] unused
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,929
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Yes, that is:


Disk: /dev/rdisk0 geometry: 15566/255/63 [250069680 sectors]
Signature: 0xAA55
Starting Ending
#: id cyl hd sec - cyl hd sec [ start - size]
------------------------------------------------------------------------
1: EE 1023 254 63 - 1023 254 63 [ 1 - 409639] <Unknown ID>
2: AF 1023 254 63 - 1023 254 63 [ 409640 - 177168016] HFS+
*3: 07 1023 254 63 - 1023 254 63 [ 177577984 - 72488960] HPFS/QNX/AUX
4: 00 0 0 0 - 0 0 0 [ 0 - 0] unused
That looks ok. But I suspect that maybe the GPT is out of sync with the MBR, perhaps. The only way to check would be to check under Linux, using gparted or gdisk to look at the start offset of the partitions on the GPT side.

If when you installed windows, you did any adding/deleting of partitions (instead of just formatting an already made partition), then things are likely out of sync...
 
Joined
May 19, 2011
Messages
39
Motherboard
GA-Z77-DS3H
CPU
i5-3570k
Graphics
Sapphire 7950 3GB
Mac
MacBook Air
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Yeah, I think was adding and deleting partition from Windows installer.
Have you a tutorial to sync MBR again?
Thanks for your solution!

EDIT: well, I used Google (yes, it's truth, is a good friend) and I found the solution! Thank you again!

EDIT2: it has not resulted. I type "sudo gptsync /dev/sda", Chimera doesn't detect my Win8 partition :(

The output of fdisk has changed:

Disk: /dev/rdisk0 geometry: 15566/255/63 [250069680 sectors]
Signature: 0xAA55
Starting Ending
#: id cyl hd sec - cyl hd sec [ start - size]
------------------------------------------------------------------------
1: EE 1023 254 63 - 1023 254 63 [ 1 - 409639] <Unknown ID>
2: AF 1023 254 63 - 1023 254 63 [ 409640 - 177168016] HFS+
*3: 0B 1023 254 63 - 1023 254 63 [ 177840128 - 72228864] Win95 FAT-32
4: 00 0 0 0 - 0 0 0 [ 0 - 0] unused

The solution is near... I hope XD
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,929
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Yeah, I think was adding and deleting partition from Windows installer.
Have you a tutorial to sync MBR again?
Thanks for your solution!

EDIT: well, I used Google (yes, it's truth, is a good friend) and I found the solution! Thank you again!

EDIT2: it has not resulted. I type "sudo gptsync /dev/sda", Chimera doesn't detect my Win8 partition :(

The output of fdisk has changed:

Disk: /dev/rdisk0 geometry: 15566/255/63 [250069680 sectors]
Signature: 0xAA55
Starting Ending
#: id cyl hd sec - cyl hd sec [ start - size]
------------------------------------------------------------------------
1: EE 1023 254 63 - 1023 254 63 [ 1 - 409639] <Unknown ID>
2: AF 1023 254 63 - 1023 254 63 [ 409640 - 177168016] HFS+
*3: 0B 1023 254 63 - 1023 254 63 [ 177840128 - 72228864] Win95 FAT-32
4: 00 0 0 0 - 0 0 0 [ 0 - 0] unused

The solution is near... I hope XD
Yeah, gptsync will not get you out of that problem. The problem is your MBR was changed without a corresponding change to GPT. So the GPT is out-of-sync with the MBR (MBR is correct, GPT is wrong). I think you're going to have to re-install Windows. Here is what I would suggest:

- in Linux use gparted to remove the Windows partition. This will clear your MBR and you'll have a pure GPT partition map. Then create an NTFS partition to hold your Windows8 install.
- then run gptsync to create the hybrid MBR.
- now re-install Windows to the NTFS partition. Is is ok to format it in the Windows installer (if you need to), but you don't want to delete or add any partitions within the Windows Installer or in Windows for that matter.

In general, with hybrid MBR/GPT you want to do all edits on the GPT side, and then use gptsync to create/update the MBR side.

If you want to read about all the uglies of hybrid MBR/GPT, check this article out: http://www.rodsbooks.com/gdisk/hybrid.html
 
Joined
Jan 3, 2013
Messages
7
Motherboard
10.8.2
CPU
Core i5-3210M
Graphics
HD 4000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
Same here.

Installed Windows 8 then booted from the flash drive, reinstalled Chimera but found no Windows 8 option. Can still boot Windows from my flash drive but that's annoying.

What am I doing wrong?
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,929
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
Same here.

Installed Windows 8 then booted from the flash drive, reinstalled Chimera but found no Windows 8 option. Can still boot Windows from my flash drive but that's annoying.

What am I doing wrong?
What is your hardware config? Multiple disks or something?

And what do you mean by "my flash drive?" What is on the flash drive?
 
Joined
Jan 3, 2013
Messages
7
Motherboard
10.8.2
CPU
Core i5-3210M
Graphics
HD 4000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I have a single HD partitioned into 3 logical disks - 2 HFS+ one NTFS (in that order).

The flash drive I mentioned was made with Unibeast.
 
Joined
Oct 17, 2013
Messages
71
Motherboard
P850 - PSPKFC -Oc4004
CPU
Intel Core i7 3630QM @ 2400 MHz (max : 3400)
Graphics
NVIDIA® GeForce® GT 630M 2GB with Optimus + Intel® HD Graphics 4000
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
I removed this post (didn't know how to delete it :$ ) and posted it same again as Reply to RehabMan's Post.
because no reply yet .. so i think unless i click on reply on RehabMan's Post he will not get notified :)
 
Last edited:
Top