Contribute
Register

Changing ProductName / model no. on working Hackintosh ?

Joined
Feb 16, 2016
Messages
20
Motherboard
Gigabyte-H97M-DS3P
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
HD 4600, RX 580 8GB
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS, Other
I have working Hackintosh, Version 10.13.3 (17D47), on Acer E5-575G, I am using RehabMan config.plist for Kaby Lake (For my i5-7200U), and have done some patches on it, ACPI patches, Followed iMessage fix (but never logged in with my Apple account, yet).
On using Custom SSDT.aml using ssdtPRGen.sh from https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/guide-native-power-management-for-laptops.175801/, I got error
Error: board-id [Mac-XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX] not supported by Kaby Lake – check SMBIOS data / use the -target option


I also was curious to name my laptop to latest Kaby Lake Macintosh :p

So due to both reasons, should I just simply edit config.plist and change ProductName to given result, as suggested by command
Code:
./ssdtPRGen.sh -show
Along with board-id it suggests?

It is more like a doubt than a problem, so no files uploaded, unless asked for.
 
Last edited:

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
18,593
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-OpenCore
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD 530 1920 x 1080
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
I have working Hackintosh, Version 10.13.3 (17D47), on Acer E5-575G, I am using RehabMan config.plist for Kaby Lake (For my i5-7200U), and have done some patches on it, ACPI patches, Followed iMessage fix (but never logged in with my Apple account, yet).
On using Custom SSDT.aml using ssdtPRGen.sh from https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/guide-native-power-management-for-laptops.175801/, I got error
Error: board-id [Mac-XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX] not supported by Kaby Lake – check SMBIOS data / use the -target option


I also was curious to name my laptop to latest Kaby Lake Macintosh :p

So due to both reasons, should I just simply edit config.plist and change ProductName to MacBook10,1, as suggested by
Code:
./ssdtPRGen.sh -show
Or even MacBookPro10,1 ?
Also above code is suggesting me board-id to use that I will be 2nd thing I will change.

It is more like a doubt than a problem, so no files uploaded, unless asked for.
or if you are using Rehabman's Clover you can just set config.plist/ACPI/SSDT/Generate/PluginType=true and not bother with ssdtPRGen.sh
 
Joined
Feb 16, 2016
Messages
20
Motherboard
Gigabyte-H97M-DS3P
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
HD 4600, RX 580 8GB
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS, Other
or if you are using Rehabman's Clover you can just set config.plist/ACPI/SSDT/Generate/PluginType=true and not bother with ssdtPRGen.sh
Thank you. That was fast.
I did notice how it says to do that simply, but there is still process mentioned for "With newer computers (Broadwell, Skylake, and future)", so wanted to try. :D
but but, that solves one, my curiosity still exist to make it "Mac-XXXXXXXXXXXXXX / MacBookPro14,1", also the curiosity to know if we can ever change these 2 things only in working Hackintosh?
I appreciate your time and patience for newbie queries. :)
 

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
18,593
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-OpenCore
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD 530 1920 x 1080
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Thank you. That was fast.
I did notice how it says to do that simply, but there is still process mentioned for "With newer computers (Broadwell, Skylake, and future)", so wanted to try. :D
but but, that solves one, my curiosity still exist to make it "Mac-XXXXXXXXXXXXXX / MacBookPro14,1", also the curiosity to know if we can ever change these 2 things only in working Hackintosh?
I appreciate your time and patience for newbie queries. :)
not sure what you are asking
 
Joined
Feb 16, 2016
Messages
20
Motherboard
Gigabyte-H97M-DS3P
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
HD 4600, RX 580 8GB
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS, Other
not sure what you are asking
Can we change ProductName, Family, Board-ID, Board Serial Number and such details in SMBIOS on well working Hackintosh that have patches in config.plist and ACPI, by avoiding problems?
 

Feartech

Moderator
Joined
Aug 3, 2013
Messages
18,593
Motherboard
Asus N752VX-OpenCore
CPU
i7-6700HQ / HM170
Graphics
HD 530 1920 x 1080
Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
iOS
Can we change ProductName, Family, Board-ID, Board Serial Number and such details in SMBIOS on well working Hackintosh that have patches in config.plist and ACPI, by avoiding problems?
trial and error

if this is for your kabylake system, then 14,1 would be a good start
 
Joined
May 30, 2018
Messages
25
Motherboard
Acer Aspire E15 E5-575G-50ZZ
CPU
i5-7200U
Graphics
Intel HD 620, NVIDIA GeForce 940MX,1366x768
Mobile Phone
Android
I have working Hackintosh, Version 10.13.3 (17D47), on Acer E5-575G, I am using RehabMan config.plist for Kaby Lake (For my i5-7200U), and have done some patches on it, ACPI patches, Followed iMessage fix (but never logged in with my Apple account, yet).
On using Custom SSDT.aml using ssdtPRGen.sh from https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/guide-native-power-management-for-laptops.175801/, I got error
Error: board-id [Mac-XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX] not supported by Kaby Lake – check SMBIOS data / use the -target option


I also was curious to name my laptop to latest Kaby Lake Macintosh :p

So due to both reasons, should I just simply edit config.plist and change ProductName to given result, as suggested by command
Code:
./ssdtPRGen.sh -show
Along with board-id it suggests?

It is more like a doubt than a problem, so no files uploaded, unless asked for.
hey I have the same laptop and I am having trouble with the audio.The volime is really low and there's a lot of stuttering sound . Can you please help me out and tell how you fixed it?
 

RehabMan

Moderator
Joined
May 3, 2012
Messages
188,929
Motherboard
Intel DH67BL
CPU
i7-2600K
Graphics
HD 3000
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
hey I have the same laptop and I am having trouble with the audio.The volime is really low and there's a lot of stuttering sound . Can you please help me out and tell how you fixed it?
No "Problem Reporting" files attached.
Read FAQ, "Problem Reporting" again. Carefully. Attach all requested files/output.
https://www.tonymacx86.com/threads/faq-read-first-laptop-frequent-questions.164990/
Use the gen_debug.sh tool mentioned in the FAQ, that way it is less likely you'll omit something.
 
Top