Contribute
Register

Solved > Catalina with Intel HD 530

Joined
Jul 16, 2019
Messages
3
Motherboard
Gigabyte B150M-D3H-CF
CPU
i5-6600
Graphics
HD 530 + GTX 1060
Hello. If possible, I would like to help with my desktop. I am installing Catalina on my desktop and I want to use the integrated video, because I have an Nvidia card and it is not supported. I use High Sierra before, but I need to upgrade to Catalina to use a new version of Xcode.

I can access a desktop, but the HD 530 was not detected correctly. I tried to use some tutorials from the forum, but none of them worked. It keeps appearing as "Display 7MB" in "About this Mac". Maybe I'm doing something wrong?

- I tried to fix it with Hackintool
- Lilu and WhatEverGreen are installed (as attached)
- Place the model as Imac 17.1, which is the closest to my configuration (according to Hackintool) (as attached)

I attached my clover configuration and some images that I think are useful.

If I fail to report something essential, I will correct it as soon as possible.

Thanks in advance.

My desktop hardware:

Intel Core I5 Skylake 6600 3.30ghz
Gigabyte B150M-D3H-CF
Intel HD Graphics 530
Zotac GTX 1060 AMP 6GB
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Joined
Oct 17, 2019
Messages
13
Motherboard
Dell T1600
CPU
E3-1225
Graphics
R9 390 Reference
I see that macOS has detected your GTX 1060. Are you using the on-board video output? I recommend just removing it from the system. You could also try disabling it by software, by either adding the flag "-wegnoegpu" to your boot arguments or adding these in the Devices -> Add Properties section of your Clover config:
XML:
    <key>AddProperties</key>
    <array>
        <dict>
            <key>Device</key>
            <string>NVidia</string>
            <key>Disabled</key>
            <false/>
            <key>Key</key>
            <string>name</string>
            <key>Value</key>
            <data>
            I2Rpc3BsYXk=
            </data>
        </dict>
        <dict>
            <key>Device</key>
            <string>NVidia</string>
            <key>Disabled</key>
            <false/>
            <key>Key</key>
            <string>IOName</string>
            <key>Value</key>
            <string>#display</string>
        </dict>
        <dict>
            <key>Device</key>
            <string>NVidia</string>
            <key>Disabled</key>
            <false/>
            <key>Key</key>
            <string>class-code</string>
            <key>Value</key>
            <data>
            /////w==
            </data>
        </dict>
    </array>
 
Joined
Aug 7, 2018
Messages
535
Motherboard
Z370M-DS3H
CPU
i7-8700K (OC 5Ghz)
Graphics
RX580 & UHD630 Headless
Try this in your clover config.plist:

  • Boot:
    • nv_disable =1
  • Devices :
    • Fake ID IntelGFX=0x19128086
  • Graphics :
    • [√]Inject Intel
    • ig-platform-id : 0x193b0005
If it still doesn't work try these ig-platform-id:
0x19120001
0x19020001
0x19170001
0x19320001
 
Joined
Jul 16, 2019
Messages
3
Motherboard
Gigabyte B150M-D3H-CF
CPU
i5-6600
Graphics
HD 530 + GTX 1060
Try this in your clover config.plist:

  • Boot:
    • nv_disable =1
  • Devices :
    • Fake ID IntelGFX=0x19128086
  • Graphics :
    • [√]Inject Intel
    • ig-platform-id : 0x193b0005
If it still doesn't work try these ig-platform-id:
0x19120001
0x19020001
0x19170001
0x19320001
I see that macOS has detected your GTX 1060. Are you using the on-board video output? I recommend just removing it from the system. You could also try disabling it by software, by either adding the flag "-wegnoegpu" to your boot arguments or adding these in the Devices -> Add Properties section of your Clover config:
XML:
    <key>AddProperties</key>
    <array>
        <dict>
            <key>Device</key>
            <string>NVidia</string>
            <key>Disabled</key>
            <false/>
            <key>Key</key>
            <string>name</string>
            <key>Value</key>
            <data>
            I2Rpc3BsYXk=
            </data>
        </dict>
        <dict>
            <key>Device</key>
            <string>NVidia</string>
            <key>Disabled</key>
            <false/>
            <key>Key</key>
            <string>IOName</string>
            <key>Value</key>
            <string>#display</string>
        </dict>
        <dict>
            <key>Device</key>
            <string>NVidia</string>
            <key>Disabled</key>
            <false/>
            <key>Key</key>
            <string>class-code</string>
            <key>Value</key>
            <data>
            /////w==
            </data>
        </dict>
    </array>
Thank you very much, both of you. They were very helpful. I used a little bit of information from each one to solve the problem.

Situation found: First of all, in my BIOS I was configured to load the offboard video card first, then during boot I tried to load the offboard card, and then the onboard. But as I put it to disable, in the middle of the boot everything froze and did not start, because there was no time for the onboard to load correctly.

Final Solution: In my BIOS, I put it to activate the onboard video card first. Then, following the instructions given to me and I disabled the offboard by placing "nv_disable=1" and "-wegnoegpu" during boot. The onboard board is now being loaded correctly.

Thanks a lot for the help.
 

Attachments

Joined
Nov 19, 2011
Messages
137
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170X Gaming G1-F22i-OpenCore 0.6.0
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
HD 530/Vega 64
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
Hello. If possible, I would like to help with my desktop. I am installing Catalina on my desktop and I want to use the integrated video, because I have an Nvidia card and it is not supported. I use High Sierra before, but I need to upgrade to Catalina to use a new version of Xcode.

I can access a desktop, but the HD 530 was not detected correctly. I tried to use some tutorials from the forum, but none of them worked. It keeps appearing as "Display 7MB" in "About this Mac". Maybe I'm doing something wrong?

- I tried to fix it with Hackintool
- Lilu and WhatEverGreen are installed (as attached)
- Place the model as Imac 17.1, which is the closest to my configuration (according to Hackintool) (as attached)

I attached my clover configuration and some images that I think are useful.

If I fail to report something essential, I will correct it as soon as possible.

Thanks in advance.

My desktop hardware:

Intel Core I5 Skylake 6600 3.30ghz
Gigabyte B150M-D3H-CF
Intel HD Graphics 530
Zotac GTX 1060 AMP 6GB
I'm glad you're now having IGPU video acceleration with HD530, but you still have a lot of work to do with your config.plist. There are some double fixes (injecting Intel video with platform ID) while using device properties to set platform-ID. The use of some framebuffer patches that can be set as properties in Device properties. Also there are some unneeded video properties set for your board that usually are use for laptops (framebuffer-fbmem/framebuffer-stolenmem). You can eliminate the NullCPUPowerManagement/SSDT and use the PluginType option on the ACPI tab for proper power management. Instead of injecting Audio layout-ID you can set it in device properties like you did with your video device properties. Also you should disable or eliminate almost all your Kernel and Kexts patches and add there the updated USB port limit patch (you have there an old one plus latter can get totally rid of this after you configure your USB port with the benefit of proper sleep). Another detail in the same Kernel and Kext patch tab is that you have check the AppleRTC and the AppleIntelCPUPM options, which indicates you don't have native NVRAM write enable. Your board is capable of this if you enable it setting a UEFI variable using a modified grub, after this you can get rid off those two checks I mention before and have further better compatibility. Cheers, I hope you can keep improving you system.
Pd. I't not a good idea to post pictures with your serial number or upload config.plist files with all your SMBIOS info... You can edit your post to just erase or hide the sensible parts. One more detail, if you have problems with your HDMI port (known issue on some Gigabyte HDMI ports) just add the property key framebuffer-portcount 04000000 as value type with the rest of your video property keys.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 16, 2019
Messages
3
Motherboard
Gigabyte B150M-D3H-CF
CPU
i5-6600
Graphics
HD 530 + GTX 1060
I'm glad you're now having IGPU video acceleration with HD530, but you still have a lot of work to do with your config.plist. There are some double fixes (injecting Intel video with platform ID) while using device properties to set platform-ID. The use of some framebuffer patches that can be set as properties in Device properties. Also there are some unneeded video properties set for your board that usually are use for laptops (framebuffer-fbmem/framebuffer-stolenmem). You can eliminate the NullCPUPowerManagement/SSDT and use the PluginType option on the ACPI tab for proper power management. Instead of injecting Audio layout-ID you can set it in device properties like you did with your video device properties. Also you should disable or eliminate almost all your Kernel and Kexts patches and add there the updated USB port limit patch (you have there an old one plus latter can get totally rid of this after you configure your USB port with the benefit of proper sleep). Another detail in the same Kernel and Kext patch tab is that you have check the AppleRTC and the AppleIntelCPUPM options, which indicates you don't have native NVRAM write enable. Your board is capable of this if you enable it setting a UEFI variable using a modified grub, after this you can get rid off those two checks I mention before and have further better compatibility. Cheers, I hope you can keep improving you system.
Pd. I't not a good idea to post pictures with your serial number or upload config.plist files with all your SMBIOS info... You can edit your post to just erase or hide the sensible parts. One more detail, if you have problems with your HDMI port (known issue on some Gigabyte HDMI ports) just add the property key framebuffer-portcount 04000000 as value type with the rest of your video property keys.
Hi @tecnicasopr.

I ended up not paying attention to confidential information. I have already edited the files and images.

Regarding the configurations that are specific to notebooks, I also have to test another device-id that is for desktops. Because it was the one that refers to the Macbook while I was doing some tests, and i forgot to change.

Also about injecting the audio just like the video card, the information actually appeared on Hackintool, but I didn't add it because I didn't think it was necessary, because my audio is already working. I will look better and add too.

And also on Kexts and NVRAM I will study how to do as you said, and try to improve all of these compatibility.

Thank you very much for the tips :).
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2011
Messages
422
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170X-UD3
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
Powercolor RX 5700 XT
Mac
MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
iMac
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
Another detail in the same Kernel and Kext patch tab is that you have check the AppleRTC and the AppleIntelCPUPM options, which indicates you don't have native NVRAM write enable. Your board is capable of this if you enable it setting a UEFI variable using a modified grub, after this you can get rid off those two checks I mention before and have further better compatibility.

Hi @tecnicasopr, I guess you mean MSR unlocking? Is there any benefit for a Z170 build? I thought it was only relevant for a Z390...
 
Joined
Nov 19, 2011
Messages
137
Motherboard
Gigabyte GA-Z170X Gaming G1-F22i-OpenCore 0.6.0
CPU
i7-6700K
Graphics
HD 530/Vega 64
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
Hi @tecnicasopr, I guess you mean MSR unlocking? Is there any benefit for a Z170 build? I thought it was only relevant for a Z390...
Yes, I meant that. And the system works much better and more stable plus you can get rid of lot of fixes. A cleaner config.plist
 
Top