Contribute
Register

Catalina upgrade stays stuck on apple load bar [SOLVED]

Joined
Jul 29, 2016
Messages
93
Motherboard
ASUS MAXIMUS VII Formula
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
Hi guys,
I feel at this point i've tried everything. I've done the following:
1. Tried upgrading with everything normal set up, no changes.
2. Tried upgrading by removing all unnecessary hardware like all graphics cards, ssd's , hdd's, wifi card and used my onboard hd4600
3. Tried to do a clean install from a usb installer ( this worked for me last time from moving from high sierra to mojave)
5. I tried upgrading by trying "basic settings" on the config file, removed some kexts, including removing .aml files in patch folder, that never made a difference
4. I looked up solutions in here, some people had luck with using "SSDT-EC.aml" in clover patched folder, that didn't work for me.

I feel like i've run out of options, i don't know what else to do. Please help me. Everything i tried still result only the apple load bar loading slowly then going at a stand still.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 8, 2019
Messages
171
Motherboard
MSI Z170-A PRO-U3E1
CPU
i7-6700
Graphics
HD 530
Mac
  1. iMac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Hello,
I have exactly the same problem as you!
If anyone can help us, thank you in advance.
Have a good day.
 
Joined
Aug 10, 2019
Messages
48
Motherboard
HP Elitedesk G3 800 -
CPU
i5-6500
Graphics
HD 530
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
As for me, the bar is stuck nearly the beginning ...
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2010
Messages
68
Motherboard
Asus Z170 Pro Gaming
CPU
i5 6600K
Graphics
GTX 650
Same here, can’t get past this after first reboot.
 

Attachments

  • 7BC1D577-89F2-4AFA-A103-7BD993C668FE.jpeg
    7BC1D577-89F2-4AFA-A103-7BD993C668FE.jpeg
    28.7 KB · Views: 104
Joined
Jul 6, 2017
Messages
4
Motherboard
I didn't read
CPU
the RULES
Graphics
so ignore me
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
I think that may relate to the EC.
Try it with SSDT-EC.aml in /EFI/CLOVER/ACPI/patched.

Works fine for me !
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2010
Messages
68
Motherboard
Asus Z170 Pro Gaming
CPU
i5 6600K
Graphics
GTX 650
Ok, managed to get past this but now upon update completion, I have a black screen. No signal to monitor.
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2010
Messages
68
Motherboard
Asus Z170 Pro Gaming
CPU
i5 6600K
Graphics
GTX 650
I managed to boot in safe mode, graphics disabled. But major problem is my Edimax WiFi adapter isn’t Catalina compatible, so that’s a deal breaker for me right now. Going back to Mojave via backup.
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2016
Messages
93
Motherboard
ASUS MAXIMUS VII Formula
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
I think that may relate to the EC.
Try it with SSDT-EC.aml in /EFI/CLOVER/ACPI/patched.

Works fine for me !
I managed to boot in safe mode, graphics disabled. But major problem is my Edimax WiFi adapter isn’t Catalina compatible, so that’s a deal breaker for me right now. Going back to Mojave via backup.


I found a solution for me. Here's what i did. Don't even follow that .aml file method. Do this :

1. Update your kexts
2. Update clover boot loader
3. Then i followed this and applied the patch:

"Ah the old apfs_module_start error, sounds like someone never correctly configured their EC device. With laptops it gets more tricky on how to handle them so I'll let you find Rehabman's resources on all that(future desktop users reading this should do this via Corp's USBmap tool).
For your system, we'll need to patch the ACPI and you can find out hw to do this here:

TL;DR: Find out which EC device you have(EC0, H_EC or ECDV), then apply the correct EC patch

Comment Find[HEX]* Replace[HEX]
change EC0 to EC 4543305f 45435f5f
change H_EC to EC 485f4543 45435f5f
change ECDV to EC 45434456 45435f5f

Fun fact of the day: If you convert these values from HEX you'll notice that it's actually EC__ instead of EC. Reason for this is that ACPI renames must match in length or your entire ACPI table will be messed up"
 
Joined
Jul 29, 2016
Messages
93
Motherboard
ASUS MAXIMUS VII Formula
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
  1. iMac
I found a solution for me. Here's what i did. Don't even follow that .aml file method. Do this :

1. Update your kexts
2. Update clover boot loader
3. Then i followed this and applied the patch:

"Ah the old apfs_module_start error, sounds like someone never correctly configured their EC device. With laptops it gets more tricky on how to handle them so I'll let you find Rehabman's resources on all that(future desktop users reading this should do this via Corp's USBmap tool).
For your system, we'll need to patch the ACPI and you can find out hw to do this here:

TL;DR: Find out which EC device you have(EC0, H_EC or ECDV), then apply the correct EC patch

Comment Find[HEX]* Replace[HEX]
change EC0 to EC 4543305f 45435f5f
change H_EC to EC 485f4543 45435f5f
change ECDV to EC 45434456 45435f5f

Fun fact of the day: If you convert these values from HEX you'll notice that it's actually EC__ instead of EC. Reason for this is that ACPI renames must match in length or your entire ACPI table will be messed up"

Btw... The "EC0 TO EC" patch worked for me.
 
Top