Contribute
Register

<< Solved >> Catalina on Biostar TH55HD Socket 1156 with Sapphire Pulse RX580 - CLOVER & OC

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Sep 22, 2011
Messages
1,527
Motherboard
HP EliteDesk 800 G5 Mini
CPU
i9-9900
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I assume you're using config2.plist for testing. I noticed that your config.plist is configured to use SMBIOS MacModel iMac14,2. I haven't found this to provide good CPU power management. Use MacPro5,1 as I have configured in my posted config.plist (unless you have an explanation for the change). You'll still need to use MacPro6,1/Board-ID to install Catalina 10.15.5.

Continue to run without SSDT-UIAC.aml and try the following (all changes together):
  • Replace your DSDT.aml with the attached. The DSDT.aml that I've posted contains RX580 specific GFX0._DSM. The attached DSDT.aml does not contain any RX580 patches.
  • Remove WhateverGreen.kext from E/C/k/O and /L/E and rebuild kextcache (use Hackintool or rebuild manually with 'sudo kextcache -i /'
  • Remove Lilu.kext from E/C/k/O
  • Enable the following options in your Clover config.plist:
    • ACPI -> DSDT Fixes -> Fix USB
    • Devices -> USB -> FixOwnership
  • Disable the following options in your Clover config.plist:
    • Graphics -> Inject -> ATI
 

Attachments

  • DSDT.zip
    10.3 KB · Views: 62
Joined
Feb 17, 2011
Messages
210
Motherboard
Asus > Need full model name > See Rules!
CPU
i5-650
Graphics
GT 610
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
  4. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. 128K
  2. 512K
  3. Apple
  4. Centris
  5. iMac
  6. LC
  7. Performa
  8. Power Mac
  9. PowerBook
  10. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I was using the 14,2 SMBIOS to test.
I know Clover Configurator is not the best to use, would it be best to go in and change the argument to False or just remove them all together for the ATI items?

I will make those changes and see what happens.

Thanks for all oof your help. It is much appreciated. We'll get this going yet :)
 
Joined
Sep 22, 2011
Messages
1,527
Motherboard
HP EliteDesk 800 G5 Mini
CPU
i9-9900
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I was using the 14,2 SMBIOS to test.
I know Clover Configurator is not the best to use, would it be best to go in and change the argument to False or just remove them all together for the ATI items?

I will make those changes and see what happens.

Thanks for all oof your help. It is much appreciated. We'll get this going yet :)

Which argument? Just use the latest version of Clover Configurator to make your changes. It's much better than it used to be.
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2011
Messages
210
Motherboard
Asus > Need full model name > See Rules!
CPU
i5-650
Graphics
GT 610
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
  4. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. 128K
  2. 512K
  3. Apple
  4. Centris
  5. iMac
  6. LC
  7. Performa
  8. Power Mac
  9. PowerBook
  10. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Which argument? Just use the latest version of Clover Configurator to make your changes. It's much better than it used to be.
I wasn't sure if that was the best route to go. In the past it has caused some serious issues and was only good for creating a "dummy" config list for serials and SMBIOS info.
Still boot with the debug=0x100 flag ?
 
Last edited:
Joined
Feb 17, 2011
Messages
210
Motherboard
Asus > Need full model name > See Rules!
CPU
i5-650
Graphics
GT 610
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
  4. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. 128K
  2. 512K
  3. Apple
  4. Centris
  5. iMac
  6. LC
  7. Performa
  8. Power Mac
  9. PowerBook
  10. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Made those changes as suggested. Started up with -v and debug=0x100 and received the attached SS.
Now for the kextcache re-build, were you referring to the whole USB drive itself or the kextcache on my MacPro?

I also get the grey EFI BIOS screen when starting up from the USB drive. If I pick the boot64.efi it does start up into Clover directly.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_3203.jpeg
    IMG_3203.jpeg
    3.4 MB · Views: 63
  • IMG_3204.jpeg
    IMG_3204.jpeg
    2.6 MB · Views: 56
  • IMG_3205.jpeg
    IMG_3205.jpeg
    2.5 MB · Views: 58
Joined
Sep 22, 2011
Messages
1,527
Motherboard
HP EliteDesk 800 G5 Mini
CPU
i9-9900
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Made those changes as suggested. Started up with -v and debug=0x100 and received the attached SS.
Now for the kextcache re-build, were you referring to the whole USB drive itself or the kextcache on my MacPro?

I also get the grey EFI BIOS screen when starting up from the USB drive. If I pick the boot64.efi it does start up into Clover directly.

Sorry - that was confusing. You want to rebuild kextcache only when kexts are installed in /L/E on the SSD.

You are installing / booting Clover as legacy and not UEFI - correct?
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2011
Messages
210
Motherboard
Asus > Need full model name > See Rules!
CPU
i5-650
Graphics
GT 610
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
  4. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. 128K
  2. 512K
  3. Apple
  4. Centris
  5. iMac
  6. LC
  7. Performa
  8. Power Mac
  9. PowerBook
  10. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Sorry - that was confusing. You want to rebuild kextcache only when kexts are installed in /L/E on the SSD.

You are installing / booting Clover as legacy and not UEFI - correct?
Correct, I am booting as Legacy, not UEFI. Clover was also installed as Legacy.
 
Joined
Sep 22, 2011
Messages
1,527
Motherboard
HP EliteDesk 800 G5 Mini
CPU
i9-9900
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Ok. Be sure to install Clover with the config in Post #1 of this thread.

Be sure your BIOS is configured as stated in the attached Biostar-TH55HD-Bios.zip in my Mojave thread here.
 
Joined
Feb 17, 2011
Messages
210
Motherboard
Asus > Need full model name > See Rules!
CPU
i5-650
Graphics
GT 610
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
  4. Mac Pro
Classic Mac
  1. 128K
  2. 512K
  3. Apple
  4. Centris
  5. iMac
  6. LC
  7. Performa
  8. Power Mac
  9. PowerBook
  10. Quadra
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
Ok. Be sure to install Clover with the config in Post #1 of this thread.

Be sure your BIOS is configured as stated in the attached Biostar-TH55HD-Bios.zip in my Mojave thread here.
It is set to exactly to that in the BIOS, I was able to save those settings and have double checked them. Clover has been installed exactly as laid out on the Mojave thread. I'm at a bit of a loss was to where to go.
 
Joined
Sep 22, 2011
Messages
1,527
Motherboard
HP EliteDesk 800 G5 Mini
CPU
i9-9900
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. Mac mini
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
It is set to exactly to that in the BIOS, I was able to save those settings and have double checked them. Clover has been installed exactly as laid out on the Mojave thread. I'm at a bit of a loss was to where to go.

Given that our motherboards are not the same, it's very possible that my DSDT (for TH55HD) has critical differences that are not compatible with your motherboard (TH55B). Even the slightest memory offset differences could be a problem.

Let's try one more thing... I had forgotten that I advised you to try iMac14,2 without your Nvidia card. It's the approach that I used when I was first installing Mojave here. Remove your Nvidia graphics card and use Clover Configurator to change your SMBIOS MacModel to iMac14,2. Your test should be as follows:
  • No external GPU (we'll use the I5 IGPU for this test)
  • The last DSDT.aml that I provided here
  • In your config.plist, SMBIOS MacModel iMac14,2 (change with Clover Configurator so that the Board-ID is changed as well)
  • In your config.plist, enable "Fix USB" and "Fix USB Ownership"
  • Remove SSDT-UIAC.aml from CLOVER/ACPI/patched
  • Remove Lilu.kext, WhateverGreen.kext and AppleALC.kext from CLOVER/ACPI/kexts/Other
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top