Contribute
Register

Can't pin down what's changing my HDEF layout-id

Status
Not open for further replies.
Joined
Sep 2, 2015
Messages
19
Motherboard
Gigabyte H81M
CPU
4590
Graphics
headless
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
I have Clover set to inject audio ID 1, which is necessary for the realtekALC (and a lot of other methods) patch. This worked great for awhile. One day I rebooted & the layout-id under my HDEF devices in IOReg seems to be always 5 now, and I'm not sure what's causing it. I know there's kexts that can but I don't think I have any.
I'm not using a DSDT & the two SSDT's I'm using are related to USB functionality & not HDEF devices. I'm including a copy of my EFI folder as well as an IOReg dump, I would absolutely love to track this down and have working sound again but it seems at this point that I'm kind of blindly trying things & hoping that they stick.
 

Attachments

  • EFI.zip
    23.3 MB · Views: 87
  • iMac.ioreg
    8.5 MB · Views: 194
Joined
Sep 2, 2015
Messages
19
Motherboard
Gigabyte H81M
CPU
4590
Graphics
headless
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Just to add, here's what I've tried:
I first combed S/L/E, using Date Added list I can see which ones have been added post installation. I didn't find any audio related kexts aside from AppleHDA. Combed kexts/other & kexts/10.13 in EFI as well. I tried safe boot after that. Then I extracted AppleHDA.kext from the 10.13 installer & installed that just to be safe. layout-id 5 has persisted though.. Before I restarted the machine it was one for a long time, probably about a week. I have no idea what I did to cause this. I'm using ALC892. I'm considering backing up S/L/E & reinstalling on top of my install through Recovery, moving as many kexts as I can to clover/kexts.
 

toleda

Moderator
Joined
May 19, 2010
Messages
22,958
Motherboard
Asus Maximus VII Impact
CPU
Core i7-4770K
Graphics
RX 560 + HD4600
Mac
  1. iMac
  2. MacBook Pro
  3. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. 512K
  2. LC
  3. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
An audio enabler kext is installed, likely, named HDAEnabler.kext or HDAEnabler5.kext
Screen Shot 2017-11-22 at 11.39.17 AM.png
 
Joined
Sep 2, 2015
Messages
19
Motherboard
Gigabyte H81M
CPU
4590
Graphics
headless
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
An audio enabler kext is installed, likely, named HDAEnabler.kext or HDAEnabler5.kext
View attachment 294222
Thanks for your help. I searched for these kexts in S/L/E, my EFI, and even E/E. The only instance of HDAEnabler.kext I found was in EFI/Clover/Kexts/10.12. I'm on 10.13, but I deleted it anyways and still don't see a change. Any tips on tracking down where this kext could be coming from?
 
Joined
Sep 2, 2015
Messages
19
Motherboard
Gigabyte H81M
CPU
4590
Graphics
headless
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
Look in /L/E/, S/L/E/ or EFI/CLOVER
I've checked all these places and I don't see those kexts - that's what my previous post was explaining. I was wondering if you had any suggestions as far as troubleshooting - I'm thinking maybe install onto a partition, drop only the kexts I need and see what happens?
 
Joined
Sep 2, 2015
Messages
19
Motherboard
Gigabyte H81M
CPU
4590
Graphics
headless
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
This is crazy! I installed another copy of High Sierra on a partition on my boot to test it out with, to be booted with the same Clover UEFI partition. While I did that I was looking around in my EFI & noticed some old kexts in the CLOVER/Kexts/10.12, one of them being CodecCommander.kext. I deleted them but I didn't have any faith in that being the issue at all, I really thought Clover only loaded the respective OS, mine being 10.13. I booted into the partition, made a list of Kexts in S/L/E & L/E & I was just about to delete all of the few extra kexts I had in my main install when I checked IOReg and was shocked to see layout-id 1... Applied CloverALC & have no issues with audio.

I didn't know that this could happen, that Clover apparently loads kexts from EFI under operating systems you're not using. From what I understood the feature of these separate folders is so that you can have one install that boots a variety of operating systems with minimal configuration but if this is possible then maybe not?

Either way great work on CloverALC, it absolutely rules toleda
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top