Contribute
Register

Can't mount EFI

Joined
Dec 4, 2011
Messages
49
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z170X-UD5 TH
CPU
i7 6700k
Graphics
Sapphire R9 290x
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
Android
Can't mount EFI is my problem.

I have to boot Yosemite with the inject kexts, on the Clover bootloader screen, by hitting space bar and then using the arrows to go down to boot with inject kexts. If I don't do that I get a black screen with a white apple logo and a progress bar that goes half way and stops.

Anyway, once booted in Yosemite, when I go to mount the EFI partition, I get a empty folder instead of a partition.

I upgraded from Mavericks to Yosemite, btw...

Hope there is a fix, cause Yosemite, once booted seems snappy and stable.

Tim
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2014
Messages
18
Mac
iMac, MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
If you are handy with a terminal you can try something like this to manually mount an EFI partition.

1) Open a terminal.
2) Run "diskutil list" and assess which disk is your system drive (usually disk0).
e.g. here it is disk0s1 (sX is the partition, diskX is the disk)
Code:
[FONT=Menlo]/dev/disk0[/FONT][FONT=Menlo]   #:                       TYPE NAME                    SIZE       IDENTIFIER[/FONT]
[FONT=Menlo]   0:      GUID_partition_scheme                        *500.3 GB   disk0[/FONT]
[FONT=Menlo]   1:                        EFI EFI                     209.7 MB   disk0s1[/FONT]
[FONT=Menlo]   2:                  Apple_HFS Macintosh HD            499.4 GB   disk0s2[/FONT]
[FONT=Menlo]   3:                 Apple_Boot Recovery HD             650.0 MB   disk0s3[/FONT]
3) Run "mkdir /Volumes/efi" (this gives a place to mount your EFI partition).
4) Run "sudo mount -t msdos /dev/disk0s1 /Volumes/efi" which mounts your EFI partition identified earlier at the directory you just created.
 

Going Bald

Moderator
Joined
Aug 14, 2010
Messages
22,531
Motherboard
GA-X58A-UD7 Rev.1 BIOS F7
CPU
Intel Xeon W3670
Graphics
RX580
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
iMac
Can't mount EFI is my problem.

I have to boot Yosemite with the inject kexts, on the Clover bootloader screen, by hitting space bar and then using the arrows to go down to boot with inject kexts. If I don't do that I get a black screen with a white apple logo and a progress bar that goes half way and stops.

Anyway, once booted in Yosemite, when I go to mount the EFI partition, I get a empty folder instead of a partition.

I upgraded from Mavericks to Yosemite, btw...

Hope there is a fix, cause Yosemite, once booted seems snappy and stable.

Tim
downloads -> community software -> EFIMounter2 app

works for me. Be sure to run terminal diskutil list and get the correct HDD/SSD to mount the EFI partition if you have more than one drive installed.
 
Joined
Jan 7, 2012
Messages
10
Motherboard
Orange Monster
CPU
i7-3770K
Graphics
AMD Radeon HD 7950
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Mobile Phone
iOS
After I updated I can't get to the EFI partition either. I tried to mount it multiple ways and I get nothing. I have even tried the EFI mounter v2 App. It worked before on 10.9 but after 10.10 upgrade.. nothing.

$ sudo mount_hfs /dev/disk0s1 /Volumes/EFI
mount_hfs: Invalid argument

$ sudo mount -t msdos /dev/disk0s1 /Volumes/EFI
mount_msdos: Unsupported sector size (49294)

Any ideas or is there a way to undo the EFI partition all together and just put the Chimera bootloader back on the main partition?
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2012
Messages
9
Motherboard
GA-Z77X-UD5H
CPU
3570k
Graphics
gtx470
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
use clover configurator!
 
Joined
Nov 12, 2015
Messages
1
Motherboard
ASROCK Z77 PRO3
CPU
Intel Core i7 3770K
Graphics
MSI RADEON R9 290 GAMING 4GB EDITION
Mac
Classic Mac
Mobile Phone
After I write the sudo command it asks me for my password. But the problem is that it won't let me write anything in the terminal after i hit enter to run the command. So the only choice is to quit. Does anyone what to do?
 

Going Bald

Moderator
Joined
Aug 14, 2010
Messages
22,531
Motherboard
GA-X58A-UD7 Rev.1 BIOS F7
CPU
Intel Xeon W3670
Graphics
RX580
Mac
iMac, MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
iMac
Joined
Mar 22, 2014
Messages
194
Motherboard
GA-H170N-WIFI
CPU
I5-6500
Graphics
GeForce GTX 750 Ti
Mac
MacBook Pro
Mobile Phone
iOS
After I write the sudo command it asks me for my password. But the problem is that it won't let me write anything in the terminal after i hit enter to run the command. So the only choice is to quit. Does anyone what to do?
Your password will not show up when you are entering it. Just type and you won't see anything but press enter and if your password is correct you get to keep going.
 
Joined
Jun 15, 2013
Messages
55
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD7 TH
CPU
Intel 4790
Graphics
NVIDIA GTX 960
Hi all - I can only boot into safe mode right now - and I can't get to my efi partition while in safe mode - I tried both versions of EFI Mounter - but still have an issue:

"AppleEvent handler failed"

Any suggestions?
 
Top