Contribute
Register

Solved > Can't make sure that the VGA port working on Laptop (Hackintosh)

Tho

Joined
Jan 20, 2019
Messages
37
Motherboard
HP
CPU
Core 2 Duo
Graphics
GT 9300 GE
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
I can't make sure that the VGA port working on my Laptop (Hackintosh) because when I installed Windows my home's VGA cable doesn't working and now I've installed macOS Mojave and inject NVIDIA and it said Sony GeForce.
 

Attachments

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
21,613
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
HD 4600
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
 

Tho

Joined
Jan 20, 2019
Messages
37
Motherboard
HP
CPU
Core 2 Duo
Graphics
GT 9300 GE
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
But that is desktop support only :confused:
 

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
21,613
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
HD 4600
Mac
MacBook Pro, Mac mini
Classic Mac
Power Mac
Mobile Phone
iOS
This forum (Hardware Troubleshooting) is for Desktop computers only.
For help with your Laptop you should post in Mojave Laptop Support.
 
Joined
Dec 11, 2011
Messages
165
Motherboard
HP ProBook 4440s-Clover
CPU
i5-3360M
Graphics
HD 4000, 1366x768
Classic Mac
iMac, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
I can't make sure that the VGA port working on my Laptop (Hackintosh) because when I installed Windows my home's VGA cable doesn't working and now I've installed macOS Mojave and inject NVIDIA and it said Sony GeForce.
If your laptop uses Optimus for high-performance graphics switching, it is unsupported, therefore if the VGA port is tied to the eGPU, it will not work. It is highly recommended to use DSDT patching to fully disable your eGPU and only use your Intel graphics card.

Furthermore, VGA was never fully adopted in macOS, therefore it is unsupported and requires further hacks to get to function
 

Tho

Joined
Jan 20, 2019
Messages
37
Motherboard
HP
CPU
Core 2 Duo
Graphics
GT 9300 GE
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
If your laptop uses Optimus for high-performance graphics switching, it is unsupported, therefore if the VGA port is tied to the eGPU, it will not work. It is highly recommended to use DSDT patching to fully disable your eGPU and only use your Intel graphics card.

Furthermore, VGA was never fully adopted in macOS, therefore it is unsupported and requires further hacks to get to function
SO... It didn't work yeah?
 
Joined
Dec 11, 2011
Messages
165
Motherboard
HP ProBook 4440s-Clover
CPU
i5-3360M
Graphics
HD 4000, 1366x768
Classic Mac
iMac, Power Mac
Mobile Phone
Android, iOS
SO... It didn't work yeah?
I am not sure, only way to test if your VGA port works is to boot into Windows, and plug in a VGA-compatible monitor, and then use the Display-Switch combo on your laptop keyboard to switch to the external display.
 

Tho

Joined
Jan 20, 2019
Messages
37
Motherboard
HP
CPU
Core 2 Duo
Graphics
GT 9300 GE
Mac
MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
iOS
I am not sure, only way to test if your VGA port works is to boot into Windows, and plug in a VGA-compatible monitor, and then use the Display-Switch combo on your laptop keyboard to switch to the external display.
Now I'm sure that VGA port is... :(((
 
Top