Contribute
Register

Solved > Can't make sure that the VGA port working on Laptop (Hackintosh)

Tho

Joined
Jan 20, 2019
Messages
54
Motherboard
ASUS Prime B365M-K
CPU
i5 9400
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I can't make sure that the VGA port working on my Laptop (Hackintosh) because when I installed Windows my home's VGA cable doesn't working and now I've installed macOS Mojave and inject NVIDIA and it said Sony GeForce.
 

Attachments

  • Intel HD 4000.png
    Intel HD 4000.png
    90.7 KB · Views: 94
  • Sony GeForce.png
    Sony GeForce.png
    78.9 KB · Views: 100
  • Sony GeForce more info.png
    Sony GeForce more info.png
    68.2 KB · Views: 81

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
24,403
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
HD 4600
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
 

Tho

Joined
Jan 20, 2019
Messages
54
Motherboard
ASUS Prime B365M-K
CPU
i5 9400
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
But that is desktop support only :confused:
 

P1LGRIM

Moderator
Joined
Mar 2, 2012
Messages
24,403
Motherboard
Lenovo ThinkStation p300 ⌘
CPU
i7-4790K
Graphics
HD 4600
Mac
  1. MacBook Pro
  2. Mac mini
Classic Mac
  1. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
This forum (Hardware Troubleshooting) is for Desktop computers only.
For help with your Laptop you should post in Mojave Laptop Support.
 
Joined
Dec 11, 2011
Messages
167
Motherboard
HP ProBook 4440s-Clover
CPU
i5-3360M
Graphics
HD 4000, 1366x768
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
I can't make sure that the VGA port working on my Laptop (Hackintosh) because when I installed Windows my home's VGA cable doesn't working and now I've installed macOS Mojave and inject NVIDIA and it said Sony GeForce.
If your laptop uses Optimus for high-performance graphics switching, it is unsupported, therefore if the VGA port is tied to the eGPU, it will not work. It is highly recommended to use DSDT patching to fully disable your eGPU and only use your Intel graphics card.

Furthermore, VGA was never fully adopted in macOS, therefore it is unsupported and requires further hacks to get to function
 

Tho

Joined
Jan 20, 2019
Messages
54
Motherboard
ASUS Prime B365M-K
CPU
i5 9400
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
If your laptop uses Optimus for high-performance graphics switching, it is unsupported, therefore if the VGA port is tied to the eGPU, it will not work. It is highly recommended to use DSDT patching to fully disable your eGPU and only use your Intel graphics card.

Furthermore, VGA was never fully adopted in macOS, therefore it is unsupported and requires further hacks to get to function
SO... It didn't work yeah?
 
Joined
Dec 11, 2011
Messages
167
Motherboard
HP ProBook 4440s-Clover
CPU
i5-3360M
Graphics
HD 4000, 1366x768
Classic Mac
  1. iMac
  2. Power Mac
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
  2. iOS
SO... It didn't work yeah?
I am not sure, only way to test if your VGA port works is to boot into Windows, and plug in a VGA-compatible monitor, and then use the Display-Switch combo on your laptop keyboard to switch to the external display.
 

Tho

Joined
Jan 20, 2019
Messages
54
Motherboard
ASUS Prime B365M-K
CPU
i5 9400
Graphics
UHD 630
Mac
  1. MacBook Air
Mobile Phone
  1. iOS
I am not sure, only way to test if your VGA port works is to boot into Windows, and plug in a VGA-compatible monitor, and then use the Display-Switch combo on your laptop keyboard to switch to the external display.
Now I'm sure that VGA port is... :(((
 
Top