Classic Mac
  1. iBook
  2. iMac
  3. Power Mac
  4. PowerBook
  5. SE
Mobile Phone
  1. Android
Noob here, first time on forums. Bought a used working hack for a home-video editing machine. Runs great love it.

OSX 10.8.2 (installed using multibeast)
GA-EX58-UD
2.83 Intel Core i7
GeForce 9800 GTX + 512
24 gb ram

I want to put OS & apps on an SSD (2.5 OWC 240 mercury electra 3g) startup disk. Cloned existing HHD startup drive using CCC, tested the boot via System Prefs> startup disk> select SSD>restart. Starts up fine. BUT. It is not actually "seeing" the SSD as the startup, or so I think. The "About this Mac" continually shows the old HDD as the startup disc no matter which disk I select in prefs, and there is zero speed increase in booting, in starting new programs. No real change except the finder recognizes the SSD as startup in that I can't eject the SSD disk image when it's booted up from the SSD. And no matter which disk I select as startup, I can't remove/eject the existing HDD startup image from the desktop.

I tried adding a new admin user, etc., and have only succeeded in unwittingly deleting my user profile. All data is safe. Right now I have a working HDD running 10.2.8 and apps, all data saved on externals, a new 3tb seagate drive, and the SSD. One thing to note is that when I cloned the drive, all the SSD folders appear as regular folders and not as the Icon-ized App, Lib, Sys, and Users folders seen on the current HDD start disk.

Currently I've got an 8gb thumb drive ready to load multibeast and the newest 10.8.3 OSX, unsure how (or if) to proceed.
Do I:
A) keep fussing with existing system install (10.2.8) till I figure out a way to start up from new SSD?
B) forget the existing system, do a new install from thumbdrive per instructions, then re: link new user to backed-up libraries? Does this screw in some way with my mac serial number, which I have no idea from where it originated?