Contribute
Register

Solved > Can't get graphics acceleration from Intel UHD 630 of i3-8100 on mojave 10.14.2

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
10,030
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
@CaseySJ ,

Thanks. I will try that. But tell me one thing, without the "AppleIntelFramebuffer" section on ioreg, will those patches work?
Nope, they won't work without AppleIntelFramebuffer. But this config.plist also unchecks "UseIntelHDMI", which was enabled in your original file. Not sure if that makes a difference, but it's worth trying the new file.

If this has no effect either, please compress and upload the EFI folder from your Mojave internal disk. I think a lot of changes have been made in recent days so I can audit the entire folder.
 
Joined
Oct 6, 2018
Messages
4
Motherboard
Asrock Z370 Pro4
CPU
Intel i5-8600k
Graphics
Radeon RX-560
Hi @poles, hi @CaseySJ,
I've just faced the same problem as @poles (please excuse me to hijack into your thread) is having for my 2nd Hackintosh build with Asus ROG Strix B360-I and i3-8100. I tried to follow all the guide relating to framebuffer I could have found but no luck. I also followed this thread since the beginning, I tried all the advices given in this thread and received exactly the same messages as poles had.
Thanks to @CaseySJ with the config.plist that he posted here, my system surprisingly worked :)
Based on another forum member who has a very similar Asus Prime H370M-Plus, please try the attached config.plist.

Row 1: Index 2, BusID 0x02, Type HDMI
Row 2: Index 3, BusID 0x04, Type HDMI <-- assumes HDMI here
Row 3: Index 1, BusID 0x01, Type DP

Some of this does not seem to make sense, but worth a try due to success on the H370M-Plus Prime board. These changes are included in the attached file.
Thank you all for everything. I'm still having small problem with the airdrop but it's definitely not belong to this topic. I put my compressed EFI below, I think it's worth to give it a try :thumbup:
 

Attachments

Joined
Dec 26, 2015
Messages
273
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H
CPU
i5-4690
Graphics
GTX 1050 Ti
Mobile Phone
Android
Based on another forum member who has a very similar Asus Prime H370M-Plus, please try the attached config.plist.

Row 1: Index 2, BusID 0x02, Type HDMI
Row 2: Index 3, BusID 0x04, Type HDMI <-- assumes HDMI here
Row 3: Index 1, BusID 0x01, Type DP

Some of this does not seem to make sense, but worth a try due to success on the H370M-Plus Prime board. These changes are included in the attached file.
@CaseySJ
And it worked...finally:headbang: both HDMI & DVI-D. I'm speechless...

After struggling for one month now I can sleep in peace.

Thank you very much. You are a rockstar.

But how does it even work, I mean the Bus Id?

Some of the people faced same problem like ??? in cpu generation & 0 MB Graphics.Where they can't even follow the connector patch properly. What will they do? I think they have go like "Bird Box" movie :crazy:

Thanks again.
 
Last edited:

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
10,030
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
@ryutokeni @poles

Really glad to hear it works! The framebuffer settings for your Asus motherboard were created by @vonrussel so the credit belongs to him!

This is why I would like to ask both of you to do something in return (because I do not have an Asus motherboard). The use of BusIDs 0x01 and 0x02 seem somewhat controversial, therefore:
  • After logging into Mojave with a working video connector (HDMI, DVI-D, or DisplayPort) please run Intel FB-Patcher. Then select MacOS 10.14 from the menu bar as shown:
    Framebuffer.png
  • Next, select the Connectors tab and choose "0x3E9B0007" from the pop-up menu, as shown:
    Screen Shot 2019-01-13 at 1.12.01 PM.png
  • One of the rows will light up in red. Which row lights up for which type of video connector? For example, if you're using HDMI, which Row lights up?
  • Then connect another video connector (no need to disconnect the previous video cable) such as DVI-D. Which Row lights up in red for this one?

This verification is needed to verify BusIDs and further fine-tune the settings.


@CaseySJ ,
Thanks. I will try that. But tell me one thing, without the "AppleIntelFramebuffer" section on ioreg, will those patches work?
I realized I misinterpreted this question earlier in the thread. What I meant was that the video port discovery procedure described in the framebuffer patching guide will not work without AppleIntelFramebuffer. By simply changing BusIDs to a known good set we bypass the discovery process, hence AppleIntelFramebuffer no longer becomes a prerequisite -- as you just found out!
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 26, 2015
Messages
273
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H
CPU
i5-4690
Graphics
GTX 1050 Ti
Mobile Phone
Android
Really glad to hear it works! The framebuffer settings for your Asus motherboard were created by @vonrussel so the credit belongs to him!
Thanks @vonrussel. You saved my a**.

This is why I would like to ask both of you to do something in return (because I do not have an Asus motherboard). The use of BusIDs 0x01 and 0x02 seem somewhat controversia
Actually I already took those screenshots after it worked but I forgot to share. Here it is:

Asus Prime H370-Plus->

DVI-D:



HDMI:




AppleIntelFramebuffer no longer becomes a prerequisite

Right and its really harder for a starter. Maximum of them either give up or have to spend some money on buying a graphics card.

Thanks.
 
Joined
Dec 26, 2015
Messages
273
Motherboard
GA-Z97X-UD3H
CPU
i5-4690
Graphics
GTX 1050 Ti
Mobile Phone
Android

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
10,030
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
Big thanks to @vonrussel, you definitely saved us :clap::clap::clap: Framebuffer is such a pita :problem:
DVI-D
View attachment 379196
HDMI
View attachment 379198

My motherboard B360I doesn't have DVI-D so maybe I should set the 2nd port with bus 0x04 as a Dummy, shouldn't I?
Thank you for the row-highlight information!

This confirms:

Row 1 = HDMI
Row 2 = DVI-D
Row 3 = DisplayPort


Because your board lacks DVI-D you could set the Row 2 index to -1 (i.e. framebuffer-con1-index =
/////w==), but it's entirely optional.
 

CaseySJ

Moderator
Joined
Nov 11, 2018
Messages
10,030
Motherboard
Gigabyte Z490 Vision D
CPU
i5-10400
Graphics
RX 580
Mac
MacBook Air, MacBook Pro, Mac Pro
Classic Mac
Quadra
Mobile Phone
iOS
@ryutokeni Because you have DisplayPort, can you please try the modified settings in the spoiler below and check again whether you get normal HDMI and DP behavior?

Code:
      <key>Properties</key>
        <dict>
            <key>PciRoot(0x0)/Pci(0x2,0x0)</key>
            <dict>
                <key>AAPL,ig-platform-id</key>
                <data>
                BwCbPg==
                </data>
                <key>device-id</key>
                <data>
                mz4AAA==
                </data>
                <key>enable-hdmi20</key>
                <data>
                AQAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con0-busid</key>
                <data>
                AQAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con0-enable</key>
                <data>
                AQAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con0-flags</key>
                <data>
                xwMAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con0-index</key>
                <data>
                AQAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con0-pipe</key>
                <data>
                EgAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con0-type</key>
                <data>
                AAgAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con1-busid</key>
                <data>
                AgAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con1-enable</key>
                <data>
                AQAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con1-flags</key>
                <data>
                xwMAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con1-index</key>
                <data>
                AgAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con1-pipe</key>
                <data>
                EgAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con1-type</key>
                <data>
                AAgAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con2-busid</key>
                <data>
                BAAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con2-enable</key>
                <data>
                AQAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con2-flags</key>
                <data>
                xwMAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con2-index</key>
                <data>
                AwAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con2-pipe</key>
                <data>
                EgAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con2-type</key>
                <data>
                AAQAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con3-busid</key>
                <data>
                AAAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con3-enable</key>
                <data>
                AQAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con3-flags</key>
                <data>
                IAAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con3-index</key>
                <data>
                /////w==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con3-pipe</key>
                <data>
                AAAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-con3-type</key>
                <data>
                AQAAAA==
                </data>
                <key>framebuffer-patch-enable</key>
                <data>
                AQAAAA==
                </data>
            </dict>
        </dict>
 
Top